SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5007 (Misses /Petite Lined Jacket)

25 more reviews
Viewed 549 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 2:35 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely creation! It must have been perfect for a gloomy day in Ohio, never mind what others were wearing. I love how the sleeve turned out.
8/23/09 5:40 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! You have a real talent for combining design and construction! The coat is spectacular in every way! I am sure you dazzled the graduation attendees!
8/23/09 8:21 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Fantastic coat! Love the details, and the choice of piping colour is spot on.
8/23/09 8:33 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! even if Ohio doesn't appreciate it. The piping, pockets and those adorable sleeves definitely set you apart from Maxine.
8/23/09 9:31 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I so enjoyed reading your account of this coat's transformation from an idea you gleaned from a runway photo to your battle with style changes to suit the vision of your finished garment. Your coat looks fabulous on you! I adore the luscious fabric you chose. I prefer your fresh, contemporary choice to the fabric shown in the runway photo. From conception to finish details, your work is artistic and flawless!
8/23/09 10:01 AM
marec said...
I love it! It's chic, and edgy too...perfect combination of art and style.
8/23/09 11:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. I saw your name next to a jacket pattern and I had to look and see what you did this time. It's gorgeous. And it's definitely something to wear on a rainy day - the kind of garment that makes you smile and feel better just seeing it.
8/23/09 12:02 PM
LollyVee said...
I love your review..thank you for the tips and entertainment. Your coat is better than the inspiration one! Perfect for a Spring day, when it comes around again!
8/23/09 1:15 PM
Birgitte said...
Markie, your coat is absolutely fabulous! I have been eagerly awaiting your review ever since you posted the question on the boards. The way you fixed the sleeves is masterful, every detail of this coat is delicious and you look fantastic in it. Congratulations, and thanks for a fun and very helpful review.
8/23/09 1:47 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. Not too bright for you as you seem to be able to wear anything. The piping and pockets really set it apart.
8/23/09 2:40 PM
PegL said...
Great job on the piping, buttonholes and pocket! I like what you did with the sleeves too. Your coat is very chic!
8/23/09 2:46 PM
RLL said...
I love this. Beautiful workmanship. Certainly a long way from a housecoat!
8/23/09 3:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
OMG, I've made that face too when a daughter was rushing me to hurry up! *LOL* I love the print that you used for the coat and I love the way you altered the pattern! You should definitely do it again!
8/23/09 6:10 PM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous coat! I love it!
8/24/09 0:03 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Markie, thanks for the great review. Your coat is a masterpiece.
8/24/09 1:47 AM
Lili123 said...
i love all about that coat, the fabric is sublime...
8/24/09 10:28 AM
cindyann said...
You are "a BRILLIANT seamstress!". Great pairing of pattern, fabric and personal interpretation. It's really fabulous. Looking forward to your upcoming reviews. You always inspire!
8/25/09 8:09 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful fabric! You did a wonderful job and it looks great on you. I love all the little extras you did--especially the green under collar. I'll have to remember that the next time I make a jacket or coat.
9/21/09 7:32 PM
Sewphie said...
Thanks so much for this review -- I've been waffling on what to do on this pattern, but now you've given me the inspiration to go ahead!
1/4/10 4:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 5455

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
McCall's 6571

photo
by: PattiinATL

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now