Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5007 (Misses /Petite Lined Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 545 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 2:35 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:37 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely creation! It must have been perfect for a gloomy day in Ohio, never mind what others were wearing. I love how the sleeve turned out.
8/23/09 5:40 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! You have a real talent for combining design and construction! The coat is spectacular in every way! I am sure you dazzled the graduation attendees!
8/23/09 8:21 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Fantastic coat! Love the details, and the choice of piping colour is spot on.
8/23/09 8:33 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! even if Ohio doesn't appreciate it. The piping, pockets and those adorable sleeves definitely set you apart from Maxine.
8/23/09 9:31 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I so enjoyed reading your account of this coat's transformation from an idea you gleaned from a runway photo to your battle with style changes to suit the vision of your finished garment. Your coat looks fabulous on you! I adore the luscious fabric you chose. I prefer your fresh, contemporary choice to the fabric shown in the runway photo. From conception to finish details, your work is artistic and flawless!
8/23/09 10:01 AM
marec said...
I love it! It's chic, and edgy too...perfect combination of art and style.
8/23/09 11:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. I saw your name next to a jacket pattern and I had to look and see what you did this time. It's gorgeous. And it's definitely something to wear on a rainy day - the kind of garment that makes you smile and feel better just seeing it.
8/23/09 12:02 PM
LollyVee said...
I love your review..thank you for the tips and entertainment. Your coat is better than the inspiration one! Perfect for a Spring day, when it comes around again!
8/23/09 1:15 PM
Birgitte said...
Markie, your coat is absolutely fabulous! I have been eagerly awaiting your review ever since you posted the question on the boards. The way you fixed the sleeves is masterful, every detail of this coat is delicious and you look fantastic in it. Congratulations, and thanks for a fun and very helpful review.
8/23/09 1:47 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. Not too bright for you as you seem to be able to wear anything. The piping and pockets really set it apart.
8/23/09 2:40 PM
PegL said...
Great job on the piping, buttonholes and pocket! I like what you did with the sleeves too. Your coat is very chic!
8/23/09 2:46 PM
RLL said...
I love this. Beautiful workmanship. Certainly a long way from a housecoat!
8/23/09 3:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
OMG, I've made that face too when a daughter was rushing me to hurry up! *LOL* I love the print that you used for the coat and I love the way you altered the pattern! You should definitely do it again!
8/23/09 6:10 PM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous coat! I love it!
8/24/09 0:03 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Markie, thanks for the great review. Your coat is a masterpiece.
8/24/09 1:47 AM
Lili123 said...
i love all about that coat, the fabric is sublime...
8/24/09 10:28 AM
cindyann said...
You are "a BRILLIANT seamstress!". Great pairing of pattern, fabric and personal interpretation. It's really fabulous. Looking forward to your upcoming reviews. You always inspire!
8/25/09 8:09 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful fabric! You did a wonderful job and it looks great on you. I love all the little extras you did--especially the green under collar. I'll have to remember that the next time I make a jacket or coat.
9/21/09 7:32 PM
Sewphie said...
Thanks so much for this review -- I've been waffling on what to do on this pattern, but now you've given me the inspiration to go ahead!
1/4/10 4:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-11
photo
Review by Heatherbel... on 7/11/08
Read Review

Burda 7172 Pattern
Burda 7172 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6398 Pattern
New Look 6398 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5030
photo
Review by Luckylibbe... on 4/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us