SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5007 (Misses /Petite Lined Jacket)

25 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 2:35 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewphie said...
Thanks so much for this review -- I've been waffling on what to do on this pattern, but now you've given me the inspiration to go ahead!
1/4/10 4:50 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful fabric! You did a wonderful job and it looks great on you. I love all the little extras you did--especially the green under collar. I'll have to remember that the next time I make a jacket or coat.
9/21/09 7:32 PM
cindyann said...
You are "a BRILLIANT seamstress!". Great pairing of pattern, fabric and personal interpretation. It's really fabulous. Looking forward to your upcoming reviews. You always inspire!
8/25/09 8:09 AM
Lili123 said...
i love all about that coat, the fabric is sublime...
8/24/09 10:28 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
Markie, thanks for the great review. Your coat is a masterpiece.
8/24/09 1:47 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous coat! I love it!
8/24/09 0:03 AM
cmarie12 said...
OMG, I've made that face too when a daughter was rushing me to hurry up! *LOL* I love the print that you used for the coat and I love the way you altered the pattern! You should definitely do it again!
8/23/09 6:10 PM
RLL said...
I love this. Beautiful workmanship. Certainly a long way from a housecoat!
8/23/09 3:36 PM
PegL said...
Great job on the piping, buttonholes and pocket! I like what you did with the sleeves too. Your coat is very chic!
8/23/09 2:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it. Not too bright for you as you seem to be able to wear anything. The piping and pockets really set it apart.
8/23/09 2:40 PM
Birgitte said...
Markie, your coat is absolutely fabulous! I have been eagerly awaiting your review ever since you posted the question on the boards. The way you fixed the sleeves is masterful, every detail of this coat is delicious and you look fantastic in it. Congratulations, and thanks for a fun and very helpful review.
8/23/09 1:47 PM
LollyVee said...
I love your review..thank you for the tips and entertainment. Your coat is better than the inspiration one! Perfect for a Spring day, when it comes around again!
8/23/09 1:15 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. I saw your name next to a jacket pattern and I had to look and see what you did this time. It's gorgeous. And it's definitely something to wear on a rainy day - the kind of garment that makes you smile and feel better just seeing it.
8/23/09 12:02 PM
marec said...
I love it! It's chic, and edgy too...perfect combination of art and style.
8/23/09 11:00 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I so enjoyed reading your account of this coat's transformation from an idea you gleaned from a runway photo to your battle with style changes to suit the vision of your finished garment. Your coat looks fabulous on you! I adore the luscious fabric you chose. I prefer your fresh, contemporary choice to the fabric shown in the runway photo. From conception to finish details, your work is artistic and flawless!
8/23/09 10:01 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous! even if Ohio doesn't appreciate it. The piping, pockets and those adorable sleeves definitely set you apart from Maxine.
8/23/09 9:31 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Fantastic coat! Love the details, and the choice of piping colour is spot on.
8/23/09 8:33 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! You have a real talent for combining design and construction! The coat is spectacular in every way! I am sure you dazzled the graduation attendees!
8/23/09 8:21 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely creation! It must have been perfect for a gloomy day in Ohio, never mind what others were wearing. I love how the sleeve turned out.
8/23/09 5:40 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Absolutely a delight! Loved the detail and pix of the bound and piped part and a rave over your pix @ the end. The bright colored pattern was def a GAMBLE but paid off well. Very upscale look!
8/23/09 5:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: margy.64

Review
McCall's 6173

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info