SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-116 (Sporty yoked jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 933 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/09 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ShelaghL said...
Very cool.
12/30/09 1:58 AM
PhyllisC said...
Kay how did I miss this?? Can I borrow it? Really beautiful jacket and I think it would look good with jeans even into cooler weather.
10/12/09 7:25 AM
Catbird said...
Sorry to be so late in leaving a comment on this wonderful jacket. Your style sense and fabric/notions choices, not to mention your exquisite workmanship, are such an inspiration to me. I love those buttons! And thank you for the great tutorial. This is a crisp, classic, urban jacket. Looking forward to the skirt!
8/29/09 11:02 AM
MAD14kt said...
I love your jacket. Brown is a hard color for me to find where I live. It's one of my colors in the fall/winter ;D
8/26/09 2:08 PM
MBPaz said...
Looks fabulous - buttoned up to the top would be too severe. So, as is often the case, your solution to a 'mistake' improved the garment.
8/26/09 8:18 AM
Lili123 said...
your jacket is amazing!!!thanks for sharing your techniques.
8/25/09 9:44 AM
Karendee said...
Gorgeous Jacket!! Your garments always look so well pressed, as well as well constructed. Do you have a special iron or just use a regular household iron? Thanks.
8/24/09 7:26 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Perfect fit and great style.
8/24/09 2:23 PM
Mahler said...
I want one like that with the silk lining. I love your buttons so much. The guy we visit on St-Hubert had so nut buttons I think. Geniously done as usual. Thank you for the tutorial. Super young looking and fashionable jacket. Very new lawyer type of look. Where is the bracelet ? ;-)
8/24/09 1:44 PM
amy in mpls said...
Hello beautiful jacket! This looks absolutely flawless...even the buttonholes!
8/23/09 10:52 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket
8/23/09 9:12 PM
LindsayT said...
Hah. I've cleared out my house too over things that gave me fits. This jacket is lovely.
8/23/09 8:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the comments above. Very nice jacket and your pocket tutorial was great!
8/23/09 7:51 PM
marjenann said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS!!!!!
8/23/09 4:34 PM
Beek said...
Great review as always! I love this littly boxy style. So flattering.
8/23/09 3:43 PM
moushka said...
Can't add anything to the well-deserved praise. Your projects are always an inspiration. Thanks for another great one!
8/23/09 1:59 PM
Aixoise said...
Splendid jacket. Thanks for the pocket flap tutorial. I'm with all who are constantly dismayed in Pfaff's buttonholes. Janome's my go-to buttonhole machine, with the Singer/Greist type as backup. Ripping out buttonholes isn't exactly a hobby, but I've had plenty of practice. I always enjoy your reviews.
8/23/09 1:08 PM
LollyVee said...
What a beautifully tailored jacket. I love those vintage buttons. Excellent.
8/23/09 12:38 PM
ITAdmin said...
Beautiful as always, but I especially love the buttons. They're the perfect finishing touch.
8/23/09 10:57 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Gorgeous! This is a stunner and looks fabulous on you. I love the fabric choice and color; perfect for the design. Thanks for reviewing it. I have it on my list so I'll be referencing your review once I start.
8/23/09 10:36 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very stylish! Love it!
8/23/09 9:31 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"would I dare some long shorts?" SURE!! You're nice and trim, Kay!! ;)
8/23/09 8:27 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Gorgeous shade of brown, and wonderful buttons. A beautifully finished jacket that looks terrific on you! Thanks for the helpful tutorial.
8/23/09 8:22 AM
Fran G said...
Lovely as always!
8/23/09 8:16 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your jacket looks great.
8/23/09 7:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
Perfection.
8/23/09 7:44 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket looks impeccable.
8/23/09 7:12 AM
Athene said...
Very stylish jacket - love the buttons. Always love your reviews. Thank you for the tips on top stitching and doing buttons on a featherweight and lining pocket flaps. Your top stitching looks impeccable.
8/23/09 6:13 AM
mochimo said...
Wonderful jacket!
8/23/09 5:41 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful jacket! Thank you for the very thorough and helpful tutorial.
8/23/09 1:46 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a very sharp and sleek jacket. As always , very nicely constructed!
8/23/09 1:04 AM
Liana said...
Gorgeous! It's as beautifully made as all of your things. Lovely work, and I like your fabric choices very much.
8/23/09 0:30 AM
marec said...
That is a beautiful jacket! I love the color, the fabric, the details, and the workmanship. Thanks so much for the info on vegetable ivory---interesting info.
8/23/09 0:11 AM
khunter said...
Love the jacket! This on is on my to-do list. Great job!
8/23/09 0:08 AM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - that is one seriously stylish jacket.... sigh, and perfectly constructed too. My Bernina is too smart to do proper buttonholes - I hear your pain - it's got this electronic eye that gets stuck on bulky fabrics and can't move. My cheap bottom of the range Janome does a better job ...
8/22/09 11:54 PM
Gold said...
Great looking jacket!
8/22/09 11:15 PM
Karen6790 said...
1. Love the jacket. 2. Wonder why I haven't made it yet? 3. Yes, I've ripped out that many buttonholes. 4. You can't have too many machines. 5. My vintage Singer buttonholer is coming in the mail on Tuesday.
8/22/09 11:15 PM
monkeylala said...
Very nicely done!
8/22/09 11:13 PM
Terri A said...
Fantastic! You always do such meticulous work. I love your tutorials.
8/22/09 10:42 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful Jacket!!! I LOVE it!!!
8/22/09 10:34 PM
bananaoil said...
Looks great.
8/22/09 10:12 PM
Peacock Chic said...
super cute!
8/22/09 10:03 PM
Karla Kizer said...
It's wonderful. Perfect fit, perfect combination of pattern and fabric. And the buttonholes look perfect from here....
8/22/09 9:57 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Impressive!
8/22/09 9:50 PM
Lyudmila said...
Simply Stunning!
8/22/09 9:50 PM
Christas said...
Hhhhmmmmmm..... so, how many machines DO you have? LOL!
8/22/09 9:48 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket! Your buttons are so perfect with the fabric. The button holes may have given you fits, but the end result looks quite worth the trouble. I love it!
8/22/09 9:46 PM
Dee2 said...
Really beautiful jacket, tailored in your usual impecable style. Love the top stitching & the buttons. Thanks for the info on the vegetable ivory (this is new to me) & the tutorial.
8/22/09 9:45 PM
Alse said...
What a lovely version of this jacket! Nice job!
8/22/09 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1119

photo
by: sewnaughty

Review
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info