SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8481 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET)

Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 191
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 171 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 8:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
4u2cme said...
The jacket is lovely. You did a great job. I have this pattern in my stash. I think I will attempt it after I finish the Speed Tailoring Class.
2/2/10 12:28 PM
SewRusty said...
Hopefully it won't sit in the back of your closet for too long, it's too nice to keep hidden.
8/29/09 10:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is beautifully made and looks terrific on you. Congratulations for finishing this great looking jacket.
8/26/09 11:03 AM
Mahler said...
Very nice jacket ! Congratulations for all that work. I know what it takes as concentration, time and effort.
8/24/09 10:21 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Your documented process in making this great jacket is like a tutorial. Thank you!!!
8/24/09 4:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent review and smart, tailored jacket. Looking good!
8/24/09 2:10 PM
Dei said...
I can see the hours put into this because it looks breezily perfect, effortless. That's when you nothing something is done well.
8/24/09 12:53 PM
Lili123 said...
i love your jacket, it fits you very nicely and it looks like it was a lot of work to accomplish, it's the kind of jacket i love to wear during fall.
8/24/09 10:50 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
It really turned out great...a beautiful jacket..great job !
8/24/09 6:04 AM
Sharon1952 said...
As always the perfect fabric and color for you. I applaud you for sticking to the project that long and not having an unfinished pile of fabric. Gorgeous!
8/24/09 6:01 AM
kerrynw said...
Great jacket, great review, great result!!! 10/10 for perserverance.
8/24/09 3:15 AM
Karen6790 said...
I am impressed - as much with the result as with the fact that you've been working on this since May and you can still think about it clearly enough to write a review. Think of it this way, at least now you know all these techniques and you can pick and choose which ones you want to do, like padstitching, vs. the ones you don't, like hand-sewn linings. It's absolutely beautiful on you.
8/24/09 0:31 AM
Athene said...
Lovely jacket and you always look so great in blues. I will be sure to read the whole process on your blog - lucky you, I wish we had some one here that was interested in teaching a Claire S. jacket as a class.
8/23/09 11:39 PM
Markie1 said...
Dawn, this is exquisite. Your chronicling of the process was so incredibly inspiring. Couture tailoring is so work intensive, but it "ups your game" so much. The pad stitching you did was awesome. And the jacket looks perfect. Well done!
8/23/09 11:18 PM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful jacket all around ~ fabric and fit. Spending so much time can eat away at your enthusiasm for a garment, however, my guess is that this jacket will become a favorite oevr time. For the same reason.
8/23/09 11:18 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great job! I know how you feel about working on something too long but I am sure you will love it once you start wearing it. It is a beautiful jacket.
8/23/09 10:44 PM
Re Becca said...
That is awesome! I know that it was a lot of work, but 10 years from now when it still looks just as good, you wwill be glad that you did it the "hard" way.
8/23/09 10:08 PM
RLL said...
Very professional job. RTW looking but much better constructed. This will probably last you forever so I know that you will love it.....soon.
8/23/09 9:32 PM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on finishing your jacket! i am sure the construction was daunting, but you have done a great job. it looks totally RTW and fits really well. hopefully you will be excited to wear it later when you haven't had to look at it in awhile:)
8/23/09 9:12 PM
persevering said...
Awesome! Successfully completed! The lining is fab too. Thanks for your review and a special thanks for giving reference to size the way you have - stating the actual Vogue pattern size you used and your usual Burda size.
8/23/09 8:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review
Other Gertie\'s Sultry Sheath

photo
by: Bex81

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now