Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-117 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1367 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About froggiegirlstar
PA USA
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:8/23/09 10:58 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
What a great blend of fabric and pattern. I had to look closely to be sure you hadn't added individual feather/leaf petals onto the dress. It looks amazing!
8/23/09 11:06 PM
Raye Ann said...
beautiful!
8/23/09 11:51 PM
merlette said...
I love how this turned out. And the fabric is great!
8/23/09 11:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
Perfect match of fabric to pattern. I didn't really notice this dress in the magazine, but I'll have to check and see if any of my stash is calling out for it. Beautiful.
8/24/09 0:19 AM
Vivienne said...
I love your fabric choice for this great dress - it makes the dress so modern looking.
8/24/09 0:31 AM
peaudane said...
Beautiful! the fabric is amazing!
8/24/09 1:42 AM
kerrynw said...
I love your dress and fabric/pattern choice!
8/24/09 3:37 AM
Kim12469 said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/24/09 5:49 AM
meli88a said...
I love your fabric. Your dress reminds me of the fish dress that Marion Cotillard wore to the Oscars a few years ago. Gorgeous! http://www.uiah.fi/virtu/measure/wp-content/uploads/2008/02/marion-cotillard-robe-gaultier.jpg
8/24/09 7:12 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Fantastic fabric and stunning dress! The neckline is perfect on you...and the shoes are perfect with the dress.
8/24/09 7:22 AM
Rebecca D said...
Fantastic looking dress - wowza!
8/24/09 7:29 AM
Beek said...
Wow, Froggiegirl you have been sewing up a storm! I have enjoyed reading all of your recent reviews and admiring your new wardrobe! This dress is beautiful and I like the fact that it does not call for a stretch jersey fabric.
8/24/09 8:30 AM
Beek said...
Wow, Froggiegirl you have been sewing up a storm! I have enjoyed reading all of your recent reviews and admiring your new wardrobe! This dress is beautiful and I like the fact that it does not call for a stretch jersey fabric.
8/24/09 8:38 AM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous - absolutely gorgeous.
8/24/09 9:00 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful! The fabric is amazing and perfect for the dress. It looks textured - very interesting. Good job.
8/24/09 9:12 AM
Peacock Chic said...
and I can see why you love that fabric because it is fantastic!! Great Job on the fit. LOVELY!
8/24/09 10:02 AM
JanJanB said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the shoes too.
8/24/09 10:39 AM
Lili123 said...
i love your dress, it fits you perfectly.
8/24/09 10:43 AM
sewbehind said...
Fabulous fabric, gorgeous dress. That fabric looks like it has texture.
8/24/09 12:53 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Gorgeous!
8/24/09 2:00 PM
LollyVee said...
Wow, that fabric print is awesome and a perfect pattern to showcase it. Nice job
8/24/09 2:59 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful dress, it has a lovely femenine sillhouette and your fabric is gorgeous.
8/24/09 3:37 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/24/09 4:37 PM
Sewingmolly said...
Wow!
8/24/09 5:06 PM
Kay Y said...
Your dress is lovely; confirms my intention to make this one someday.
8/24/09 8:42 PM
Mahler said...
This is such a fascinating fabric. I love it. It really turned out with this choice of pattern as a gorgeous dress. I love the choice of red shoes as well.
8/24/09 10:14 PM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous dress! You look fabulous in it. I would like to make this one sometime too.
8/24/09 10:44 PM
becca a said...
I love the fabric and the style. Great dress!
8/24/09 11:59 PM
froggiegirl said...
Thanks everyone! Really appreciate all your lovely comments.
8/25/09 7:39 AM
cindyann said...
So glad to see this one made up. I love your version of this dress.
8/25/09 7:52 AM
ElizabethDee said...
love it! you have such great style -- and the skills to match.
8/25/09 9:20 AM
Robin Denning said...
What a beautiful dress- you look lovely in it.
8/25/09 9:56 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow! I may have to find a copy of this magazine. Thanks for the review. Lovely result and great hints for successful sewing.
8/25/09 12:02 PM
sewproud said...
This is a great review and I love the dress! Although I feel a little afraid of the "sleeves", I'm going to try it anyway. The fabric you used is awesome!
8/26/09 12:26 PM
dickson said...
Review is fine. I just want to know the Burda pattern no. I can't seem to find it anywhere.
8/27/09 7:26 AM
froggiegirl said...
Hi Dickson, The pattern number is at the very top. Mag is Burda World of Fashion , Date of mag is 5/2009, pattern number is 117.
8/27/09 11:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sorry I had not seen and commented on your dress before now. It is gorgeous. Great fit and very flattering.
1/10/10 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 7738
photo
Review by HawkeMorni... on 2/16/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1204 Alma
photo
Review by starryfish on 3/20/13
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7308 Pattern
Burda 7308 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us