SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-107 (Boat Neck Pleated Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 423 times 
Reviewed by:Primatoidefutile
photo

 
 
About Primatoidefutilestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/19/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/09 6:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
You on the beach in that dress is just fantastic. Casual, chic, free as a bird. Since I can't have the beach I'll settle for the dress- must make!!! Thank you!
1/5/10 1:58 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
magoe6217, this is the beach of St Nazaire, where the Loire reaches the sea. It looks good, but is almost completely covered with alluvial mud from the river. I am not a big fan of regular sandy beaches, but to sink to the ankle by surprise was a bit much, even for me.
9/13/09 6:18 AM
jkaori said...
Your dress looks great on you! I like it in the linen fabric you chose.
9/12/09 11:21 AM
magoe6217 said...
The rolled up sleeve version of this dress looks adorable on you and to my eye very modern with the great belt you used. Fabulous photo also. That rocky coast is gorgeous. Where is it?
9/10/09 4:39 PM
nellc said...
Great looking dress!
9/9/09 6:02 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks amazing on you!
9/9/09 3:56 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
Thank you very much for you kind comments. Donna Mel, I unfortunately can assure you that in the mirror, it does look eighties... I found the sleeves to be a bit long when they are worn down, but I made a narrow hem without reading the instructions, so maybe this was not what was called for. Cidell, well, I don't understand the medieval either (neither the shape, nor the pleats, nor the color...). But two made the comment independently...
9/9/09 2:25 PM
MissCelie said...
LOL at the medieval. I love this dress and made it just about the same. But, you're right. No belt and it's no good.
9/9/09 9:33 AM
dbsewer said...
This dress looks nice on you. Very chic. Love the fabric.
9/9/09 8:22 AM
Kim12469 said...
I love this dress on you. I made a muslin and it looked horrible on me but I wasn't surprised. Great dress!
9/9/09 8:00 AM
donna mel said...
i thought this dress looked 80's in the magazine, but not on you. i am glad to see what the sleeves looked rolled down. if i make it i would shorten them, as rolling can be a pain. i especially LOVE your fabric. dying the blue was a great idea.
9/9/09 7:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Pin-up Girls PB-3200

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-109

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

More Info