SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4609 (Misses Shirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 506 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 7:54 PM
Last Updated:8/28/09 0:25 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Butterick: 4609 by FreyaStark  Butterick: 4609 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JustTrina said...
i love shirts! and yours is very nice! i love the fabric and the fit of the shirt and you really gave a lot of details thanks.
8/27/09 8:33 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty blouse. Love the feminine fabric!
8/27/09 8:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Beautiful fabric as always! And I totally agree that your version is MUCH nicer than the pattern photo!
8/27/09 11:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, as usual, an EXCELLENT (AND funny) review. :o) Half the time I'm reading a review, I forget to look at the pattern itself, but once I read your description of the grimacing model sporting a furry spider, of course, I had to look! Lo and behold, I have this pattern SOMEWHERE in the magnificent Bailey stash. :o) Your blouse has turned out beautifully, and the fit is spot on. (P.S. I watch Are You Being Served every chance I get.) :o)
8/27/09 11:30 PM
michalklimer said...
it looks just great!
8/28/09 1:27 AM
CarolynGM said...
This looks like a great pattern! I've been hoping to find one with a waist dart but no bust dart. Yours is lovely and appears to fit you very well.
8/28/09 5:53 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking blouse - sometimes I sear you and I are on the same page with making blouses - your reviews are always helpful to me as I am busy making the same type of blouses - certainly going to get this pattern
8/28/09 8:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Great shirt - yes, omitting tie and flower were the right move! Looks great and the fabric is very fresh and gives a nice cool breezy look to this shirt.
8/28/09 9:33 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for this very helpful (and entertaining review). I also thought the pattern cover was unattractive - indeed rather scary. I'd be scared too, if a giant pink spider was crawling up my shirt! But now I am going to buy the pattern. I've been wanting to make a classic shirt in Liberty fabric, but needed to find a worthy pattern. Your photo convinced me that this is it.
8/28/09 9:34 AM
marec said...
Thanks for the smile this morning...furry spider indeed! I love this shirt-great review.
8/28/09 11:30 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a great review. I have been looking for a nice blouse to make, and this pattern seems perfect. Thank you for reviewing it.
8/28/09 1:36 PM
sewbehind said...
You achieved a very fine finish on your blouse/shirt.
8/28/09 6:30 PM
rosewrangler said...
Great blouse! I've made this pattern a couple of times (sans stupid flower and tie) and like it very much, despite the fact that the neck is huge. Huge enough to look big even when unbuttoned, with the collar spread. Maybe I am just a pencil-necked geek!
8/29/09 12:22 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those lovely warm and generous compliments. Thanks also for reminding me about the wide neck, which I'd forgotten. The neck does sit low, which doesn't bother me but is worth mentioning.
8/29/09 6:08 PM
fourkid said...
Beautiful. I love the fabric - and your review. I do not have this pattern, but like all the details you point out - it will help me when I do look at shirt patterns (hopefully soon.)
9/14/09 9:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2008-116

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now