SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4609 (Misses Shirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 518 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 7:54 PM
Last Updated:8/28/09 0:25 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Butterick: 4609 by FreyaStark  Butterick: 4609 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fourkid said...
Beautiful. I love the fabric - and your review. I do not have this pattern, but like all the details you point out - it will help me when I do look at shirt patterns (hopefully soon.)
9/14/09 9:40 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those lovely warm and generous compliments. Thanks also for reminding me about the wide neck, which I'd forgotten. The neck does sit low, which doesn't bother me but is worth mentioning.
8/29/09 6:08 PM
rosewrangler said...
Great blouse! I've made this pattern a couple of times (sans stupid flower and tie) and like it very much, despite the fact that the neck is huge. Huge enough to look big even when unbuttoned, with the collar spread. Maybe I am just a pencil-necked geek!
8/29/09 12:22 PM
sewbehind said...
You achieved a very fine finish on your blouse/shirt.
8/28/09 6:30 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a great review. I have been looking for a nice blouse to make, and this pattern seems perfect. Thank you for reviewing it.
8/28/09 1:36 PM
marec said...
Thanks for the smile this morning...furry spider indeed! I love this shirt-great review.
8/28/09 11:30 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for this very helpful (and entertaining review). I also thought the pattern cover was unattractive - indeed rather scary. I'd be scared too, if a giant pink spider was crawling up my shirt! But now I am going to buy the pattern. I've been wanting to make a classic shirt in Liberty fabric, but needed to find a worthy pattern. Your photo convinced me that this is it.
8/28/09 9:34 AM
Mufffet said...
Great shirt - yes, omitting tie and flower were the right move! Looks great and the fabric is very fresh and gives a nice cool breezy look to this shirt.
8/28/09 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Nice looking blouse - sometimes I sear you and I are on the same page with making blouses - your reviews are always helpful to me as I am busy making the same type of blouses - certainly going to get this pattern
8/28/09 8:54 AM
CarolynGM said...
This looks like a great pattern! I've been hoping to find one with a waist dart but no bust dart. Yours is lovely and appears to fit you very well.
8/28/09 5:53 AM
michalklimer said...
it looks just great!
8/28/09 1:27 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, as usual, an EXCELLENT (AND funny) review. :o) Half the time I'm reading a review, I forget to look at the pattern itself, but once I read your description of the grimacing model sporting a furry spider, of course, I had to look! Lo and behold, I have this pattern SOMEWHERE in the magnificent Bailey stash. :o) Your blouse has turned out beautifully, and the fit is spot on. (P.S. I watch Are You Being Served every chance I get.) :o)
8/27/09 11:30 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Beautiful fabric as always! And I totally agree that your version is MUCH nicer than the pattern photo!
8/27/09 11:04 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty blouse. Love the feminine fabric!
8/27/09 8:57 PM
JustTrina said...
i love shirts! and yours is very nice! i love the fabric and the fit of the shirt and you really gave a lot of details thanks.
8/27/09 8:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Children's Corner 281: Rose

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

More Info
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

More Info