SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-116 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:Markie1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Markie1starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/4/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 5:35 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Markie, I think you are totally able to pull this dress off. You look very cute in it!
8/26/09 5:53 PM
lucylal said...
I love your dress, and i think you look fantastic in it!!! You should definately wear it again!! Gorgeous!!
8/26/09 6:01 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Cute! Cute! Cute!
8/26/09 6:14 PM
pterion said...
Cute AND elegant at the same time! You should find another excuse to wear it - and wear it with pride, you DO have the figure for it!
8/26/09 6:23 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I think it looks very cute. I am thinking of making it for my dd.
8/26/09 6:40 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think the dress looks lovely on you. You did a great job, and the dress hangs beautifully. I just received a DVD of my nephew's wedding that took place in sunny Ventura. I shudder when I see myself in my boring, matronly dress. Next time I attend a wedding, I'm wearing a smart, chic dress—similar to that one!
8/26/09 7:11 PM
donna mel said...
you look fantastic! thanks for an informative review. next wedding i'm invited to, i'm going in a sexy gold dress!!
8/26/09 7:25 PM
mm said...
Do wear it again. It looks great.
8/26/09 7:39 PM
PegL said...
If I looked like you do in that dress, I'd wear it every day!! Even to the grocery store! You should wear it again and enjoy it!
8/26/09 7:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Dang it, Dang it Dang it! I so want somone to give this dress a good report so I can make it!! I wonder why you don't like it. Can you send it to me:):) I really want to try it on and decide whether to make it. It is just the cutest flapper dress. It totally doesn't look too young on you at all. Your fit looks perfect. you look fabulous, probably was the best dress at the wedding. your fabrics are perfect. Do tell more.
8/26/09 7:55 PM
mars418 said...
This dress is so cute on you. I love the fabric and the pattern. Great job!
8/26/09 8:33 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking dress and you look absolutely fab in it - totally flapper style and oh so cute!! Am hoping you will wear it often - way too nice to hang in the back of the closet
8/26/09 9:38 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks very cute on you! I love it.
8/26/09 10:35 PM
Leora said...
I don't think it is cute at all, it is beyond gorgeous!! I wish I had the fabric/pattern gene like you do, and your figure too!!
8/26/09 10:47 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think you look fabulous in this dress! What a knockout!
8/26/09 11:09 PM
sandramary said...
Gorgeous! I love it!
8/27/09 0:13 AM
Markie1 said...
Wow-thank you all for your comments, I am rethinking this dress. Also, I really want everyone to know that it is a great pattern--completely do-able for all levels.
8/27/09 0:26 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look super cute in this dress and should definitely wear it again!
8/27/09 1:09 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I don't know what you are complaining about. I liked the dress on the dress form, but it looks much better on you! You should most definitely wear it again. Thank you for an inspiring review.
8/27/09 1:14 AM
LynnRowe said...
It looks fab on you! But if you're not comfy with it & won't wear it again, can you take the skirt part off and wear the top as a top?
8/27/09 2:03 AM
Erica B. said...
Love the dress Markie! You look fabulous in it!
8/27/09 8:36 AM
Sic said...
Markie, thanks for the review - I think you look lovely in your dress! You have the figure to pull it off - nice work!
8/27/09 9:12 AM
cindyann said...
You really are rockin the dress. Great review!
8/27/09 9:23 AM
Karen6790 said...
I agree - it looks better on you than on the dress form, and that's always the mark of a good pattern! I've had many things that look great on the form and so-so on me. The fabric is great and the color is wonderful on you. I think maybe you need to let it sit for a while and come back to it, you'll feel differently about it soon because it looks cute and also looks very comfortable.
8/27/09 10:00 AM
ConnieBJ said...
I love that "dressing up when dressing down look" - jersey used in an upscale way. So cute Markie
8/27/09 10:02 AM
SG1 said...
I think this dress looks amazing on you! Not "too young" at all!!
8/27/09 10:34 AM
Anniinbc said...
OK - you've had enough people tell this dress is cute! cute! cute! You must wear it. And I like your idea of adding the belt and love the metallic jersey.
8/27/09 11:34 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress is FABULOUS on you !!
8/27/09 11:36 AM
sewbehind said...
I think it looks really nice on you, Markie. ( had to look up the reference to Pouter Pigeon)
8/27/09 12:42 PM
RLL said...
This is very fun and attractive. Great party dress. Not at all too young for you. The elastic to blouse it and then the tie belt was brilliant.
8/27/09 2:01 PM
LollyVee said...
That's my kinda dress and if you don't want it, it will more than welcome here in Africa! STUNNING! Thank you for a great review.
8/27/09 2:35 PM
CypGrl said...
I'm with everyone else on this one. Looks great on you!
8/27/09 5:24 PM
Christas said...
I had to check back on your review and see what everyone else had to say. See...... I wasn't the only one that thought you looked cute in this dress! Hope you will wear it again. I love it!
8/27/09 9:06 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great dress and it looks terrific on your young figure!!!
8/27/09 11:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Oooh la la Markie! You wear this stunning dress with class and pizazz!
8/29/09 12:49 PM
SueV said...
wow-za! nice dress! I think it looks great on you. thanks for the great review and sharing!
8/31/09 2:06 PM
LindsayT said...
I drooled over this dress in the magazine and your finished product looks just like it. It's very fun and flirty!
8/31/09 8:38 PM
Mufffet said...
Great dress and you look very very nice in it. :) Great work as well. What nice fabric.
9/2/09 9:56 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You definitely have the figure to pull this one off! Me? Too hippy! You? Perfect!
9/3/09 9:00 PM
rozzybabe said...
You innovated really well to achieve the blouson look. Despite your reservations, I think the dress looks stylish on you! Thanks for the great tips!
12/12/09 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 1273

photo
by: ak165

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5832

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review