Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4074 (Knit dress/top and skirt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 603 times 52 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:CrescentaLuna
photo
About CrescentaLunastar
OR USA
Member since: 8/18/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/09 7:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ingiepops said...
Wow, this looks really pretty in the Amy Butler fabric you chose. Great idea to make it in a woven.
8/26/09 8:58 PM
mollyshark said...
Have to admit D is my favorite. I think I'm tired of the wrap styles. Too many of them. The neck on this is incredibly flattering.
8/26/09 9:17 PM
Tiner W said...
So very pretty! I would never have thought of making this in a woven. It looks very nice on you!
8/26/09 9:46 PM
sew2little said...
I love sewing with wovens--so much more than knits AND I have this pattern! Thanks for the inspiration; your dress is great!
8/26/09 9:51 PM
RachelEsq said...
I love the fabric you chose. Great job on the princess seams - still working up the nerve to try them...
8/26/09 11:20 PM
lamstu said...
This looks great in your fabric! Beautifully well fitted.
8/27/09 4:42 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Just lovely on you! That fabric is gorgeous and fresh looking, and it's great to see a different approach to this popular pattern.
8/27/09 5:37 AM
donna mel said...
great job converting to a woven. all 3 versions are lovely. too bad the knit top is a poly...looks great, but makes you feel terrible!
8/27/09 6:47 AM
Renren said...
Very pretty dress in a very pretty fabric, and the lining is just perfect!
8/27/09 8:22 AM
CrescentaLuna said...
Thanks all! Wovens are so much easier to work with, even though they're less forgiving fit-wise. When a knit pattern has really nice structure like this one, with many places to tweak the fit, it seems like a good candidate. Mollyshark, I'm a little tired of the wraps too - and RachelEsq, do not fear the princess seam! They are really not hard, just pin carefully and baste. Iron the seam open and - presto!
8/27/09 1:35 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
love it! love it! WOULD never have considered using a woven until I saw yours..super cute
8/27/09 2:19 PM
Jane S said...
I love this in a knit but wow, now you have me interested in trying it in a woven. They look terrific. Thanks!
9/3/09 2:08 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Thanks for the sizing tips, I'm also 5"1 with the same shoulder type thing. Will be helpful.
10/16/09 12:52 PM
tatterbat said...
A woven, you say? Hmm... I have an easier time finding wovens that quality knits where I live... may have to try this! Nice photos, really adds to your review.
1/18/10 11:15 AM
Roary said...
Love that fabric! So glad you tried it out in a woven as it has inspired me.
3/14/10 10:34 PM
AnneM said...
I am thinking of making view D to go to a wedding this summer. Hadn't thought about using a woven; interesting idea.
5/12/10 6:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5190
photo
Review by Sallygirl1 on 10/7/11
Read Review

Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )
Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us