SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Birch Street Clothing> CAFTAN (Caftan)

Viewed 500 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
United States
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 3:18 PM
Last Updated:9/8/09 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HatBuddy said...
Thanks for your praise and encouragement everyone! AnneM Yes it is the most comfortable item of clothing I own. It is more comfy then my pajama tops! :) It was chilly yesterday so I put a flip up collar 3/4 sleeve dress shirt under it that is almost the exact shade of the blue flowers. Not only did it keep me warm but it looked absolutely fabulous. When I made it I didn't think about layering it with other shirts; but it works!
9/8/09 12:41 PM
AnneM said...
Tailoring tape is a more 'couture' finish than a serger, so don't hesitate to continue using it! Great job, congratulations. Wonderful pictures of your garment progress also; very information. Is the top as comfortable as it looks? (I like the shorter length; nice idea.)
9/7/09 7:26 PM
CarolynGM said...
It made a lovely top. Great job on your construction details.
9/6/09 7:47 AM
sherri2sew said...
good job
9/5/09 10:54 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, great job. You should be proud of all your work ensuring that the one way design of your fabric falls the right way. I think this project will inspire many more projects from you.
9/5/09 10:35 AM
rebija said...
Great job!
8/31/09 12:25 PM
Annette1 said...
You did a great job on this, Hatbuddy! I LOVE your fabric, and I especially like the button/loop closure. Nice job on including lots of pictures, too. I noticed you entered this and another item in the Beginner's Contest. I'm going to send you a personal message about that, okay? :o) I'll do it "RAT NOW."
8/29/09 1:47 PM
said...
Hi Crystal Woods... I am working on getting up a photo of the finished garment. Just a liitle bit more work to do. I found the tapes at: http://www.uniquetechniques.com/shopnotions/shopnotions.html
8/27/09 5:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
HatBuddy said...

8/27/09 5:25 PM
crystalwoods said...
Thanks for a helpful review, I love the look of your fabric, and would enjoy seeing a photo of the finished project. I have looked at this pattern before and it would be great to see one made up. I am intrigued about the Japanese fusbile tape - where to you buy it? It sounds like it would be very useful!
8/27/09 2:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Other Desmond Jacket

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Simplicity 3786

photo
by: Bendy

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

More Info