SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Birch Street Clothing> CAFTAN (Caftan)

Viewed 498 times 
Reviewed by:HatBuddy
photo

 
 
About HatBuddystar
Member since: 7/17/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 3:18 PM
Last Updated:9/8/09 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crystalwoods said...
Thanks for a helpful review, I love the look of your fabric, and would enjoy seeing a photo of the finished project. I have looked at this pattern before and it would be great to see one made up. I am intrigued about the Japanese fusbile tape - where to you buy it? It sounds like it would be very useful!
8/27/09 2:44 PM
HatBuddy said...

8/27/09 5:25 PM
said...
Hi Crystal Woods... I am working on getting up a photo of the finished garment. Just a liitle bit more work to do. I found the tapes at: http://www.uniquetechniques.com/shopnotions/shopnotions.html
8/27/09 5:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Annette1 said...
You did a great job on this, Hatbuddy! I LOVE your fabric, and I especially like the button/loop closure. Nice job on including lots of pictures, too. I noticed you entered this and another item in the Beginner's Contest. I'm going to send you a personal message about that, okay? :o) I'll do it "RAT NOW."
8/29/09 1:47 PM
rebija said...
Great job!
8/31/09 12:25 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, great job. You should be proud of all your work ensuring that the one way design of your fabric falls the right way. I think this project will inspire many more projects from you.
9/5/09 10:35 AM
sherri2sew said...
good job
9/5/09 10:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
It made a lovely top. Great job on your construction details.
9/6/09 7:47 AM
AnneM said...
Tailoring tape is a more 'couture' finish than a serger, so don't hesitate to continue using it! Great job, congratulations. Wonderful pictures of your garment progress also; very information. Is the top as comfortable as it looks? (I like the shorter length; nice idea.)
9/7/09 7:26 PM
HatBuddy said...
Thanks for your praise and encouragement everyone! AnneM Yes it is the most comfortable item of clothing I own. It is more comfy then my pajama tops! :) It was chilly yesterday so I put a flip up collar 3/4 sleeve dress shirt under it that is almost the exact shade of the blue flowers. Not only did it keep me warm but it looked absolutely fabulous. When I made it I didn't think about layering it with other shirts; but it works!
9/8/09 12:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

No Pattern Used Mini-Wardrobe

photo
by: LonestarLa...

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8833

photo
by: loti

Review