Online Sewing Class: Fun with Fitting - PANTS
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 249 (1930s Day Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:Amy Jeanne
photo

 
 
About Amy Jeannestar
Member since: 4/11/09
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 31)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/09 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lovinlocks said... (4/27/15 10:45 AM) Reply
I am surprised that more sewists have not uploaded reviews on this frock. Sew glad that you did. I have seen this pattern for years at Folkwear and it certainly did NOT catch my eye. But now that I have seen yours coupled with where I am in life it has eye appeal to me. As an intermediate sewist I would not have even considered changing the zipper to the oh so sexy side zip until I read your review. Thank you. Cheers, Lyric. P.S. I am going to write a blog post about this frock. May I please feature your dress on my post? I may be contacted at lovinlocks@cheerful.com. Thank you for your kind consideration.
dukaqwn said... (1/4/11 11:19 AM) Reply
This is a beautiful dress! I am in love with styles from this era, and I have been eyeballing this pattern and the pattern for "glamour girl" dress for some time. Glad to know it came out so well!
Miss Fairchild said... (12/23/10 9:40 AM) Reply
I just now bought this pattern, based on your excellent review. Yes, you're right--what were they thinking of a back zipper? I much prefer the side zipper. Thank you for such an excellent review!
Athene said... (8/28/09 1:40 AM) Reply
Your dress is lovely. I agree that their photo is very shapeless - I have looked at it and not been attracted to the pattern. Now after seeing your results I can see how nice the dress can be.
squirrellypoo said... (8/27/09 5:25 PM) Reply
Great dress! Brings back memories of mine, but I agree on folkwear's photos- I tried to submit mine to help but they really really picky about what they put up, despite what's already there! Glad to hear it worked so well for you, too.
waxpop said... (8/27/09 5:23 PM) Reply
Gorgeous and inspiring!
sewtime said... (8/27/09 10:39 AM) Reply
LOVE your dress!!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Draped Front Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Cool Cardigans - Draped Front Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Pattern Details