Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8582 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 905 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 3:37 PM
Last Updated:8/30/09 8:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
This top looks great on you! I have been thinking about this one but was unsure how it would look on a full bust. I'll have to get it now....... Thanks for the review. Michelle
8/28/09 5:47 PM
sew obsessed said...
This top looks great on you! I have been thinking about this one but was unsure how it would look on a full bust. I'll have to get it now....... Thanks for the review. Michelle
8/28/09 5:55 PM
pterion said...
Very fashion-forward and comfy looking top. I think I might need this pattern.
8/28/09 10:09 PM
sfshaza said...
I find this style to be extremely flattering on a full bust, pterion, and, boy, do I have a full bust. :) You want to use a stretch fabric and cut the size that yields a smaller bust measurement than your actual. (The front pattern piece shows the finished bust measurements.) This causes it to gently hug the breast and hang from there. If the fabric is sufficiently drapey, it's a very nice, very flattering line. I can't wit to see yours. :) I used this same pattern today as the basis of a completely different top. It's a keeper.
8/29/09 3:32 AM
Rebecca D said...
I looked at this top when it came out and said, 'Eh.' Your version has me rethinking my casual tossing aside of this pattern. Looks great on you.
8/29/09 8:37 AM
marec said...
Very stylish and boutique-like. I wish I could wear this type of garment but just too short. it looks great on you. Thanks for the additional blog link. I enjoyed reading it.
8/29/09 11:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. Looks great on you.
8/29/09 12:08 PM
katie lynne said...
Haven't visited your blog yet, so you probably have larger images there, but it looks like a lovely top for you from what I can tell. I have much the same physique as you and have wondered about this pattern (I love Marcy's pattern ideas) so your review really helps me. I really like your design alteration of balancing the side drape feature; it looks very nice.
8/30/09 7:56 PM
Elona said...
I think--think--the top might be very pretty, but it's hard to tell with the tiny project photo. From personal experience, I know that it can be hard to size the image properly even using the template instructions at pr, but I don't have much time, and if the project photo isn't big enough for me to see details well, I often simply have to forego traveling to a blog. That project photo is in some ways The Big Advertisement that draws people in.
8/30/09 10:32 PM
sfshaza said...
Yes, I can't figure out how to make it work. I download the image from my browser and it ends up teeny tiny. Not sure how to make it work right.
8/30/09 11:13 PM
Elona said...
sfshaza, for me, sizing my images is always a difficult process, but if you're more computer-apt than I am, try this link: http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/42483 If you don't get sufficient info there, you might want to contact Deepika personally with a pm. I really feel this is an important matter for those who truly want their reviews to be read.
8/31/09 0:02 AM
sfshaza said...
Yay! I think I have been able to fix my photo problem. Thanks everyone!
8/31/09 0:20 AM
sfshaza said...

8/31/09 0:21 AM
sfshaza said...
ACK, I'm so sorry for these multiple posts. Not sure what I did wrong but I've emptied them of the repeated text, at least. I can't see how to delete them.
8/31/09 1:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4443 Dress
photo
Review by fourkid on 8/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6894 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 1/16/12
Read Review

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us