SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8582 (MISSES' TOP)

21 more reviews
Viewed 909 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 160
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 3:37 PM
Last Updated:8/30/09 8:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
This top looks great on you! I have been thinking about this one but was unsure how it would look on a full bust. I'll have to get it now....... Thanks for the review. Michelle
8/28/09 5:47 PM
sew obsessed said...
This top looks great on you! I have been thinking about this one but was unsure how it would look on a full bust. I'll have to get it now....... Thanks for the review. Michelle
8/28/09 5:55 PM
pterion said...
Very fashion-forward and comfy looking top. I think I might need this pattern.
8/28/09 10:09 PM
sfshaza said...
I find this style to be extremely flattering on a full bust, pterion, and, boy, do I have a full bust. :) You want to use a stretch fabric and cut the size that yields a smaller bust measurement than your actual. (The front pattern piece shows the finished bust measurements.) This causes it to gently hug the breast and hang from there. If the fabric is sufficiently drapey, it's a very nice, very flattering line. I can't wit to see yours. :) I used this same pattern today as the basis of a completely different top. It's a keeper.
8/29/09 3:32 AM
Rebecca D said...
I looked at this top when it came out and said, 'Eh.' Your version has me rethinking my casual tossing aside of this pattern. Looks great on you.
8/29/09 8:37 AM
marec said...
Very stylish and boutique-like. I wish I could wear this type of garment but just too short. it looks great on you. Thanks for the additional blog link. I enjoyed reading it.
8/29/09 11:41 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. Looks great on you.
8/29/09 12:08 PM
katie lynne said...
Haven't visited your blog yet, so you probably have larger images there, but it looks like a lovely top for you from what I can tell. I have much the same physique as you and have wondered about this pattern (I love Marcy's pattern ideas) so your review really helps me. I really like your design alteration of balancing the side drape feature; it looks very nice.
8/30/09 7:56 PM
Elona said...
I think--think--the top might be very pretty, but it's hard to tell with the tiny project photo. From personal experience, I know that it can be hard to size the image properly even using the template instructions at pr, but I don't have much time, and if the project photo isn't big enough for me to see details well, I often simply have to forego traveling to a blog. That project photo is in some ways The Big Advertisement that draws people in.
8/30/09 10:32 PM
sfshaza said...
Yes, I can't figure out how to make it work. I download the image from my browser and it ends up teeny tiny. Not sure how to make it work right.
8/30/09 11:13 PM
Elona said...
sfshaza, for me, sizing my images is always a difficult process, but if you're more computer-apt than I am, try this link: http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/42483 If you don't get sufficient info there, you might want to contact Deepika personally with a pm. I really feel this is an important matter for those who truly want their reviews to be read.
8/31/09 0:02 AM
sfshaza said...
Yay! I think I have been able to fix my photo problem. Thanks everyone!
8/31/09 0:20 AM
sfshaza said...

8/31/09 0:21 AM
sfshaza said...
ACK, I'm so sorry for these multiple posts. Not sure what I did wrong but I've emptied them of the repeated text, at least. I can't see how to delete them.
8/31/09 1:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now