Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-101 (BWOF) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 443 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 4:40 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
GREAT review (as we all EXPECT, of course, so it's a good thing for you that it is). :o) I have to admit I was laughing at the picture of you with those dual pliers, trying to work with that zipper. It sounds like it would be easier to jut MAKE YOUR OWN ZIPPER than to try to shorten one I LOVE the way yours turned out though, and I think I like it even BETTER with the metal stop up there. I can't even SEE your little stop that you made, and I peered long and hard. The inside of this jacket is every bit as pretty as the outside. And as far as "bad things happening to good people," I see NOTHING bad whatsoever -- ha! It's a PERFECT fit, PERFECT construction. :o) Bravisimo!!
8/28/09 5:10 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket, thanks for the informative review.
8/28/09 5:25 PM
Christas said...
Well, all I have to say is this: "If you lived anywhere near me, I would be WEARING this jacket!" I LOVE it! As sweet as you are, I just know you would share it (there is a house for sale down the street from me!) ...... of course your jacket would be far too small, but alas, it is the perfect color, the perfect style, AND it is expertly sewn!!!
8/28/09 6:39 PM
Christas said...
Also, I just have to add that the inside of your jacket is a joy to look at !
8/28/09 6:43 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Your jacket is stunning and your expertise is inspiring! Stylish colour too.
8/28/09 8:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very chic casual jacket. It looks terrific on you.
8/28/09 10:14 PM
carolynw said...
You should wear it alot - it is lovely. All your hard work sure paid off - looks very haute couture!!
8/28/09 11:20 PM
LollyVee said...
Straight out of a boutique... all your hard work paid off. Brilliant review!
8/29/09 2:45 AM
morzel said...
What a great jacket! Great style, great craftmenship The "blousiness" just shows off a slim waist...
8/29/09 6:08 AM
trishapatk said...
MAGNIFICENT!!!! (excessive use of exclamation points is warranted in this case) AbSoBloom'in Lutely Lovely in every way.
8/29/09 9:17 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you, everyone, for the nice comments! And Christa, this would NOT be too small for you, you little PIPSQUEAK, to quote someone we know and love :-))
8/29/09 11:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a fierce and fine jacket! Thanks for your detailed review! Zippers still terrify me..
8/29/09 12:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Well, it would be too small for me:) It is absolutely stunning. You did a beautiful job and everything is finished beautifully. Wear it with pride!
8/29/09 1:42 PM
Annette1 said...
"PIPSQUEAK" is just ONE SLIGHT STEP above "GOOFBALL." The GOOFBALL title rotates, depending on the circumstances, of course, but "PIPSQUEAK" remains constant. Signed, THE BOSS (which shall also remain constant). :o)
8/29/09 2:19 PM
Karendee said...
What a magnificent jacket and review to boot.Your workmanship is perfect and the inside is something to strive for. I found your review SO informative and feel the double peplum adds so much to the finished garment. You look so wonderful in your jacket, also, and the trim, trim figure enhances your work. Congratulations on a job well done; someday I'd like a tutorial on those beautiful bias strips for the Hong Kong seam finish.
8/29/09 2:27 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you are so hilarious!!!!!
8/29/09 2:28 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Perfect looking jacket & a wonderful review! You look terrific in it!!
8/29/09 3:50 PM
zazzie said...
I acutally love the "blousiness" ! Maybe it will grow on you - it is a rather new line that is coming back in fashion. It always take time to get used to a new shape. It's flattering on your figure anyway.
8/29/09 4:54 PM
becca a said...
This is a beautiful jacket. Your finishing details are exquisite and your detailed explanations very helpful. For future reference some hardware stores sell zipper repair kits with extra stops as well as zipper pulls. If you get one of these kits perhaps you could finish off your zipper with a manufactured stop.
8/29/09 6:12 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Another lovely detailed jacket from you, this really made me feel like making a jacket soon even though that means to go thorough lengthy detailed works....which I suppose we actually love :-) , thank for the review!
8/30/09 8:55 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket and your sewing is impeccable. I took a look at your other sewing projects too. You are one talented lady.
8/30/09 6:42 PM
Vellela said...
Gorgeous jacket
8/30/09 11:27 PM
Mahler said...
Again, I am late in commenting your review :-( Here is another fantastic jacket coming out of your sewing room. I love the relax look of it, and your modification are very judicious. I like your version better then the BWOF one. The colour is so nice. You can dress it up as well if you want. Wonderful !
8/31/09 1:24 PM
Terri A said...
I am late commenting too, but wanted to mention this is a gorgeous jacket. I think I have this one and should try it. Thanks for the great review!
10/19/10 0:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us