SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-101 (BWOF)

3 more reviews
Viewed 446 times 
Reviewed by:Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbirdstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 4:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
GREAT review (as we all EXPECT, of course, so it's a good thing for you that it is). :o) I have to admit I was laughing at the picture of you with those dual pliers, trying to work with that zipper. It sounds like it would be easier to jut MAKE YOUR OWN ZIPPER than to try to shorten one I LOVE the way yours turned out though, and I think I like it even BETTER with the metal stop up there. I can't even SEE your little stop that you made, and I peered long and hard. The inside of this jacket is every bit as pretty as the outside. And as far as "bad things happening to good people," I see NOTHING bad whatsoever -- ha! It's a PERFECT fit, PERFECT construction. :o) Bravisimo!!
8/28/09 5:10 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty jacket, thanks for the informative review.
8/28/09 5:25 PM
Christas said...
Well, all I have to say is this: "If you lived anywhere near me, I would be WEARING this jacket!" I LOVE it! As sweet as you are, I just know you would share it (there is a house for sale down the street from me!) ...... of course your jacket would be far too small, but alas, it is the perfect color, the perfect style, AND it is expertly sewn!!!
8/28/09 6:39 PM
Christas said...
Also, I just have to add that the inside of your jacket is a joy to look at !
8/28/09 6:43 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Your jacket is stunning and your expertise is inspiring! Stylish colour too.
8/28/09 8:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Very chic casual jacket. It looks terrific on you.
8/28/09 10:14 PM
carolynw said...
You should wear it alot - it is lovely. All your hard work sure paid off - looks very haute couture!!
8/28/09 11:20 PM
LollyVee said...
Straight out of a boutique... all your hard work paid off. Brilliant review!
8/29/09 2:45 AM
morzel said...
What a great jacket! Great style, great craftmenship The "blousiness" just shows off a slim waist...
8/29/09 6:08 AM
trishapatk said...
MAGNIFICENT!!!! (excessive use of exclamation points is warranted in this case) AbSoBloom'in Lutely Lovely in every way.
8/29/09 9:17 AM
Catbird said...
Thank you, everyone, for the nice comments! And Christa, this would NOT be too small for you, you little PIPSQUEAK, to quote someone we know and love :-))
8/29/09 11:13 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a fierce and fine jacket! Thanks for your detailed review! Zippers still terrify me..
8/29/09 12:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Well, it would be too small for me:) It is absolutely stunning. You did a beautiful job and everything is finished beautifully. Wear it with pride!
8/29/09 1:42 PM
Annette1 said...
"PIPSQUEAK" is just ONE SLIGHT STEP above "GOOFBALL." The GOOFBALL title rotates, depending on the circumstances, of course, but "PIPSQUEAK" remains constant. Signed, THE BOSS (which shall also remain constant). :o)
8/29/09 2:19 PM
Karendee said...
What a magnificent jacket and review to boot.Your workmanship is perfect and the inside is something to strive for. I found your review SO informative and feel the double peplum adds so much to the finished garment. You look so wonderful in your jacket, also, and the trim, trim figure enhances your work. Congratulations on a job well done; someday I'd like a tutorial on those beautiful bias strips for the Hong Kong seam finish.
8/29/09 2:27 PM
Karendee said...
Annette, you are so hilarious!!!!!
8/29/09 2:28 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Perfect looking jacket & a wonderful review! You look terrific in it!!
8/29/09 3:50 PM
zazzie said...
I acutally love the "blousiness" ! Maybe it will grow on you - it is a rather new line that is coming back in fashion. It always take time to get used to a new shape. It's flattering on your figure anyway.
8/29/09 4:54 PM
becca a said...
This is a beautiful jacket. Your finishing details are exquisite and your detailed explanations very helpful. For future reference some hardware stores sell zipper repair kits with extra stops as well as zipper pulls. If you get one of these kits perhaps you could finish off your zipper with a manufactured stop.
8/29/09 6:12 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Another lovely detailed jacket from you, this really made me feel like making a jacket soon even though that means to go thorough lengthy detailed works....which I suppose we actually love :-) , thank for the review!
8/30/09 8:55 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful jacket and your sewing is impeccable. I took a look at your other sewing projects too. You are one talented lady.
8/30/09 6:42 PM
Vellela said...
Gorgeous jacket
8/30/09 11:27 PM
Mahler said...
Again, I am late in commenting your review :-( Here is another fantastic jacket coming out of your sewing room. I love the relax look of it, and your modification are very judicious. I like your version better then the BWOF one. The colour is so nice. You can dress it up as well if you want. Wonderful !
8/31/09 1:24 PM
Terri A said...
I am late commenting too, but wanted to mention this is a gorgeous jacket. I think I have this one and should try it. Thanks for the great review!
10/19/10 0:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-112

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now