SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB025FB (Frenchy Bags)

47 more reviews
Viewed 244 times 
Reviewed by:obsessed with sewing
photo

 
 
About obsessed with sewing
IL USA
Member since: 4/25/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:8/28/09 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
obsessed with sewing said...
sew4dasoul, I think that if you added darts to the bottom corners of the bag, you would have to alter the actual pattern first so that you wouldn't change its lines or size. I thought about adding a narrow gusset (a couple of inches at the most) that tapers to nothing as it goes up the sides of the bag (but didn't have the energy or motivation to go ahead and do it), this would give the bag some depth without changing its lines.
8/29/09 11:04 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a great review and your bags are beauttiful. You have mastered the pattern with all of your astute tweaking. I'm still looking for my own tried and true patternmaker for bags--I wish my changes were as successful as yours. (Next, I'm going to try Nicole Mallalieu--her lined bags and zipper instructions are supposed to be very good.)
8/29/09 8:50 AM
sew4dasoul said...
Thank you for the review! I've been wondering about the lack of depth in this bag. Do you think by adding darts (or is it a gusset?) to the bottom it will change the appearance in a negative way? I've been wondering if there's a good way to add depth to the bottom of the bag.
8/29/09 0:55 AM
MaryDB said...
Definitely the nicest I've seen! It's beginning to call to me - I may have to make one. Thanks for the helpful review.
8/28/09 11:43 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a great bag! I love the fabric combo. Your review was very insightful. Thanks.
8/28/09 11:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is an extremely helpful review. I have recently bought this pattern and will be sure to refer to your construction techniques when I make it.
8/28/09 6:18 PM
Steffie said...
Thanks for the tips on construction techniques. Great bag. I love the fabric!
8/28/09 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

New Look 6816

photo
by: halleyscom...

Review

Pattern

My Image Magazine IW1003

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now