SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2009-114 (silk)

Viewed 651 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/09 1:29 PM
Last Updated:8/29/09 2:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL, Anne-Marie. This fabric is priceless, no matter what you paid. As you say, it's irrelevant. :o) You wear this top wish such casual ease. In my opinion, the hand-sewn hem was the ONLY way to go and worth every minute. :o)
8/29/09 2:00 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you Annette ! For the hem, we can say that it was worth every hours ;-) I think over all it took me 2h30 to sew it by hands. I was sitting on my terrace in the shade listening to the little birds.
8/29/09 2:04 PM
Annette1 said...
I actually enjoy hand sewing, as it IS relaxing (if you're not in a hurry), especially if you have little birdies to keep you company. Hmmmm, so I should revise my comment by saying it was worth each and every of the 150 minutes it took to stitch that delicious hem!
8/29/09 2:09 PM
Christas said...
Ahhh..... Anne-Marie! This is so elegant! It looks so pretty on you.
8/29/09 2:11 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastically beautiful. I want to sit under a tree in such a garment.
8/29/09 2:14 PM
marec said...
"This top is a pure product of bat engineering." So funny! Anne-Marie, this suits you so well. The design, especially with your alterations, is perfect for your elegant figure, and the silk fabric is just heavenly. You look marvelous.
8/29/09 2:15 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous!
8/29/09 2:35 PM
carolynw said...
Well Anne-Marie I am definitely coming to the PR week end in Montreal and I dare you - double dare you - to wear this top - I'll have it off you and be yelling "start the car" to DH and be back home before you can blink. It is stunning - beautiful - georgeous and you bought the last piece - la huge sigh!! Great review as always
8/29/09 2:54 PM
Maureen P said...
Gorgeous! Your neckline re-design is so much nicer than the original.
8/29/09 4:00 PM
Catbird said...
If you're not going to write a book (and you should) I'm just going to have to take all your reviews and make a little book for myself so I can enjoy them over and over. Maybe sitting on the terrace listening to birds. They are treasures. And this silk poncho is unbelievably beautiful. I love the V-neck you created and would have hated those little flappy wings at the neck also! Your necklace and your wry, wise smile set the whole thing off perfectly. I love the quote from the book Silk to go along with your silk confection.
8/29/09 4:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous top! I love it. You've given me ideas as I have a piece of silk that would work well as a similar top.
8/29/09 5:53 PM
Kay Y said...
Anne-Marie, as you know I love this poncho, or whatever it should be called. How like you to quote the book - it is perfect! Hoping to see it in person , and to visit the source of the fabric with you someday soon.
8/29/09 7:10 PM
no7262 said...
I LOVE the vision you have given me for the whole day! Top is beautiful on you! Nora :)
8/29/09 7:18 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful -- and a bonus book review! :) Thanks! (Ooh, I just checked -- there's a film, too. :) :) )
8/29/09 7:33 PM
Diane E said...
Je l'aime. C'est magnifique! (I think I have just used up my French.) Anne-Marie, this is an exquisite top and I loved reading your review. Merci! Il faut que je fais la meme chose pour moi.
8/29/09 11:40 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Everyone else said everything so beautifully......I'll just say you are amazing! I love your little tales...your reviews are so enjoying.
8/30/09 10:52 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Delightful review, gorgeous top!!!
8/30/09 4:51 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Ahh you got it done! It looks great!
8/30/09 5:40 PM
Twinset said...
Salut beauté! Tu es très belle dans ton top Burda! Love the look with your cropped pants, and love to read you as well!
8/30/09 10:00 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow - This is gorgeous and you wear it so well, better than the model! Thanks for a great review!
8/31/09 9:28 AM
CynthiaSue said...
you are so photogenic. wonderful review. like reading a little poem about your sewing adventure. You look like you should be luxuriating on the French Riviera.
8/31/09 2:45 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Loved your review.
8/31/09 6:38 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review...It had everything-passion, comedy, wisdom and...literature! AND an absolutely gorgeous silk top, that I really really want now. Thank you!
9/4/09 4:37 PM
EveS said...
LOVE!!!! I would've never thought to make this top, but with the TO DIE FOR fabric you found I don't think another pattern would have been as lovely! What a marriage!!!
1/24/10 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Butterick 5674

photo
by: tiadia

Review