SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2009-114 (silk)

Viewed 653 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/09 1:29 PM
Last Updated:8/29/09 2:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
LOVE!!!! I would've never thought to make this top, but with the TO DIE FOR fabric you found I don't think another pattern would have been as lovely! What a marriage!!!
1/24/10 9:06 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review...It had everything-passion, comedy, wisdom and...literature! AND an absolutely gorgeous silk top, that I really really want now. Thank you!
9/4/09 4:37 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Loved your review.
8/31/09 6:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you are so photogenic. wonderful review. like reading a little poem about your sewing adventure. You look like you should be luxuriating on the French Riviera.
8/31/09 2:45 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow - This is gorgeous and you wear it so well, better than the model! Thanks for a great review!
8/31/09 9:28 AM
Twinset said...
Salut beauté! Tu es très belle dans ton top Burda! Love the look with your cropped pants, and love to read you as well!
8/30/09 10:00 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Ahh you got it done! It looks great!
8/30/09 5:40 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Delightful review, gorgeous top!!!
8/30/09 4:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Everyone else said everything so beautifully......I'll just say you are amazing! I love your little tales...your reviews are so enjoying.
8/30/09 10:52 AM
Diane E said...
Je l'aime. C'est magnifique! (I think I have just used up my French.) Anne-Marie, this is an exquisite top and I loved reading your review. Merci! Il faut que je fais la meme chose pour moi.
8/29/09 11:40 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful -- and a bonus book review! :) Thanks! (Ooh, I just checked -- there's a film, too. :) :) )
8/29/09 7:33 PM
no7262 said...
I LOVE the vision you have given me for the whole day! Top is beautiful on you! Nora :)
8/29/09 7:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Anne-Marie, as you know I love this poncho, or whatever it should be called. How like you to quote the book - it is perfect! Hoping to see it in person , and to visit the source of the fabric with you someday soon.
8/29/09 7:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous top! I love it. You've given me ideas as I have a piece of silk that would work well as a similar top.
8/29/09 5:53 PM
Catbird said...
If you're not going to write a book (and you should) I'm just going to have to take all your reviews and make a little book for myself so I can enjoy them over and over. Maybe sitting on the terrace listening to birds. They are treasures. And this silk poncho is unbelievably beautiful. I love the V-neck you created and would have hated those little flappy wings at the neck also! Your necklace and your wry, wise smile set the whole thing off perfectly. I love the quote from the book Silk to go along with your silk confection.
8/29/09 4:51 PM
Maureen P said...
Gorgeous! Your neckline re-design is so much nicer than the original.
8/29/09 4:00 PM
carolynw said...
Well Anne-Marie I am definitely coming to the PR week end in Montreal and I dare you - double dare you - to wear this top - I'll have it off you and be yelling "start the car" to DH and be back home before you can blink. It is stunning - beautiful - georgeous and you bought the last piece - la huge sigh!! Great review as always
8/29/09 2:54 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous!
8/29/09 2:35 PM
marec said...
"This top is a pure product of bat engineering." So funny! Anne-Marie, this suits you so well. The design, especially with your alterations, is perfect for your elegant figure, and the silk fabric is just heavenly. You look marvelous.
8/29/09 2:15 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastically beautiful. I want to sit under a tree in such a garment.
8/29/09 2:14 PM
Christas said...
Ahhh..... Anne-Marie! This is so elegant! It looks so pretty on you.
8/29/09 2:11 PM
Annette1 said...
I actually enjoy hand sewing, as it IS relaxing (if you're not in a hurry), especially if you have little birdies to keep you company. Hmmmm, so I should revise my comment by saying it was worth each and every of the 150 minutes it took to stitch that delicious hem!
8/29/09 2:09 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you Annette ! For the hem, we can say that it was worth every hours ;-) I think over all it took me 2h30 to sew it by hands. I was sitting on my terrace in the shade listening to the little birds.
8/29/09 2:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL, Anne-Marie. This fabric is priceless, no matter what you paid. As you say, it's irrelevant. :o) You wear this top wish such casual ease. In my opinion, the hand-sewn hem was the ONLY way to go and worth every minute. :o)
8/29/09 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6873

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review

Pattern

No Pattern Used oooo

photo
by: patlesell

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info