SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2009-114 (silk)

Viewed 653 times 
Reviewed by:Mahler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mahlerstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 7/28/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/09 1:29 PM
Last Updated:8/29/09 2:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EveS said...
LOVE!!!! I would've never thought to make this top, but with the TO DIE FOR fabric you found I don't think another pattern would have been as lovely! What a marriage!!!
1/24/10 9:06 PM
Markie1 said...
What a wonderful review...It had everything-passion, comedy, wisdom and...literature! AND an absolutely gorgeous silk top, that I really really want now. Thank you!
9/4/09 4:37 PM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Loved your review.
8/31/09 6:38 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you are so photogenic. wonderful review. like reading a little poem about your sewing adventure. You look like you should be luxuriating on the French Riviera.
8/31/09 2:45 PM
Kellie R. said...
Wow - This is gorgeous and you wear it so well, better than the model! Thanks for a great review!
8/31/09 9:28 AM
Twinset said...
Salut beauté! Tu es très belle dans ton top Burda! Love the look with your cropped pants, and love to read you as well!
8/30/09 10:00 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Ahh you got it done! It looks great!
8/30/09 5:40 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Delightful review, gorgeous top!!!
8/30/09 4:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Everyone else said everything so beautifully......I'll just say you are amazing! I love your little tales...your reviews are so enjoying.
8/30/09 10:52 AM
Diane E said...
Je l'aime. C'est magnifique! (I think I have just used up my French.) Anne-Marie, this is an exquisite top and I loved reading your review. Merci! Il faut que je fais la meme chose pour moi.
8/29/09 11:40 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful -- and a bonus book review! :) Thanks! (Ooh, I just checked -- there's a film, too. :) :) )
8/29/09 7:33 PM
no7262 said...
I LOVE the vision you have given me for the whole day! Top is beautiful on you! Nora :)
8/29/09 7:18 PM
Kay Y said...
Anne-Marie, as you know I love this poncho, or whatever it should be called. How like you to quote the book - it is perfect! Hoping to see it in person , and to visit the source of the fabric with you someday soon.
8/29/09 7:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous top! I love it. You've given me ideas as I have a piece of silk that would work well as a similar top.
8/29/09 5:53 PM
Catbird said...
If you're not going to write a book (and you should) I'm just going to have to take all your reviews and make a little book for myself so I can enjoy them over and over. Maybe sitting on the terrace listening to birds. They are treasures. And this silk poncho is unbelievably beautiful. I love the V-neck you created and would have hated those little flappy wings at the neck also! Your necklace and your wry, wise smile set the whole thing off perfectly. I love the quote from the book Silk to go along with your silk confection.
8/29/09 4:51 PM
Maureen P said...
Gorgeous! Your neckline re-design is so much nicer than the original.
8/29/09 4:00 PM
carolynw said...
Well Anne-Marie I am definitely coming to the PR week end in Montreal and I dare you - double dare you - to wear this top - I'll have it off you and be yelling "start the car" to DH and be back home before you can blink. It is stunning - beautiful - georgeous and you bought the last piece - la huge sigh!! Great review as always
8/29/09 2:54 PM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous!
8/29/09 2:35 PM
marec said...
"This top is a pure product of bat engineering." So funny! Anne-Marie, this suits you so well. The design, especially with your alterations, is perfect for your elegant figure, and the silk fabric is just heavenly. You look marvelous.
8/29/09 2:15 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastically beautiful. I want to sit under a tree in such a garment.
8/29/09 2:14 PM
Christas said...
Ahhh..... Anne-Marie! This is so elegant! It looks so pretty on you.
8/29/09 2:11 PM
Annette1 said...
I actually enjoy hand sewing, as it IS relaxing (if you're not in a hurry), especially if you have little birdies to keep you company. Hmmmm, so I should revise my comment by saying it was worth each and every of the 150 minutes it took to stitch that delicious hem!
8/29/09 2:09 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you Annette ! For the hem, we can say that it was worth every hours ;-) I think over all it took me 2h30 to sew it by hands. I was sitting on my terrace in the shade listening to the little birds.
8/29/09 2:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely BEAUTIFUL, Anne-Marie. This fabric is priceless, no matter what you paid. As you say, it's irrelevant. :o) You wear this top wish such casual ease. In my opinion, the hand-sewn hem was the ONLY way to go and worth every minute. :o)
8/29/09 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 5135

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
McCall's 5668

photo
by: lilyloulad...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info