Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6886 (Misses Dresses and Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 398 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:gameCoder
photo
About gameCoder
CA USA
Member since: 3/22/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/09 2:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsewboy said...
Your dress looks decent, perhaps its just a proportion, styling thing??? I'm sure its still wearable. Could you shorten the skirt a few inches??? That may make it look fresher. Less of the fabric to overwhelm you. Than add either a 2 to 3-inch wide belt or sash to deifne the waist. This would define your wiast and interrupt the pattern of the fabric. Than top it with a shawl or colored cardigan or jean jacket. That will cover up the undesired sleeves and this way you won't have to rework the dress too much. Try it out and give a response. Sometimes, garments just need a styling "fix" or a gentle "tweak" to give it a fresh "perspective". Hope this helps.
8/30/09 4:17 PM
sewsewboy said...
your dress looks decent, perhaps its just a proprotion, styling thing??? I'm sure its still wearable. Could you shorten the skirt a few inches??? That may make it look fresher. Less of the fabric to overwhelm you. Than add either a 2 to 3 inch wide belt or sash to deifne the waist. This woul delineate your wiast and interrupt the pattern of the fabric. Than top it with a shawl or colored cardigan, jean jacket. That will cover up the undesired sleeves and this way you won't have to rework the dress too much. Try it out and give a response. Sometimes, garments just need a styling "fix" or a gentle "tweak" to give it a fresh "perspective". Hope this helps.
8/30/09 4:19 PM
Larkin said...
gameCoder, I'm sorry this turned out to be such a disappointment, though I do think you might be right - it probably isn't as bad as it seems to you. I love the fabric, too. I also agree that the combination of the print and the style of the dress made me take a second look when I read you had a husband! I agree that pairing it up with a denim jacket might tone down the "pink" a bit. Good luck and thanks for the technical points about the drafting.
8/30/09 11:46 PM
Mazzygirl said...
well I really like your dress! but obviously if it gave you such a hard timewhen sewing it you're bound to feel a bit negative about it. put it in the back ofthe cupboard for a few weeks & you might feel better about it then. I personally, think it looks great.
4/30/10 4:49 PM
wheatleyaz said...
If only my disasters looked so beautiful... I think its adorable.
8/14/10 4:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 3887
photo
Review by angie.a on 6/14/08
Read Review

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1073 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 10/8/11
Read Review

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs The Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6191 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6843 Pattern
New Look 6843 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us