SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6886 (Misses Dresses and Jacket)

8 more reviews
Viewed 406 times 
Reviewed by:gameCoder
photo

 
 
About gameCoder
CA USA
Member since: 3/22/05
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/30/09 2:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wheatleyaz said... (8/14/10 4:25 PM) Reply
If only my disasters looked so beautiful... I think its adorable.
Mazzygirl said... (4/30/10 4:49 PM) Reply
well I really like your dress! but obviously if it gave you such a hard timewhen sewing it you're bound to feel a bit negative about it. put it in the back ofthe cupboard for a few weeks & you might feel better about it then. I personally, think it looks great.
Larkin said... (8/30/09 11:46 PM) Reply
gameCoder, I'm sorry this turned out to be such a disappointment, though I do think you might be right - it probably isn't as bad as it seems to you. I love the fabric, too. I also agree that the combination of the print and the style of the dress made me take a second look when I read you had a husband! I agree that pairing it up with a denim jacket might tone down the "pink" a bit. Good luck and thanks for the technical points about the drafting.
sewsewboy said... (8/30/09 4:19 PM) Reply
your dress looks decent, perhaps its just a proprotion, styling thing??? I'm sure its still wearable. Could you shorten the skirt a few inches??? That may make it look fresher. Less of the fabric to overwhelm you. Than add either a 2 to 3 inch wide belt or sash to deifne the waist. This woul delineate your wiast and interrupt the pattern of the fabric. Than top it with a shawl or colored cardigan, jean jacket. That will cover up the undesired sleeves and this way you won't have to rework the dress too much. Try it out and give a response. Sometimes, garments just need a styling "fix" or a gentle "tweak" to give it a fresh "perspective". Hope this helps.
sewsewboy said... (8/30/09 4:17 PM) Reply
Your dress looks decent, perhaps its just a proportion, styling thing??? I'm sure its still wearable. Could you shorten the skirt a few inches??? That may make it look fresher. Less of the fabric to overwhelm you. Than add either a 2 to 3-inch wide belt or sash to deifne the waist. This would define your wiast and interrupt the pattern of the fabric. Than top it with a shawl or colored cardigan or jean jacket. That will cover up the undesired sleeves and this way you won't have to rework the dress too much. Try it out and give a response. Sometimes, garments just need a styling "fix" or a gentle "tweak" to give it a fresh "perspective". Hope this helps.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Class Details

HotPatterns 1173

photo
by: SemJo

Review
Simplicity 1539

photo
by: monicawood...

Review
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Pattern Details
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details