SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Lampshade (Lampshade)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1713 times 
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo

 
 
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/04 10:42 PM
Last Updated:1/25/04 10:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Great story--a cautionary tale. I too have lamp base without a shade and have searched everywhere. Eventually I found a shade that was too short, and made a lamp shade 'throw' to put over it: a sort of semicircular shape with one seam. My gold lace trim finishes off the edge, similar to your beads. Where did you find the wire form? Do tell!
1/25/04 11:07 PM
MaryBeth said...
Fascinating and wonderful undertaking. I'm glad to be warned about the lampshade forms. Thanks
1/25/04 11:37 PM
Deepika said...
Great review and a beautiful lampshade. My sewing machine is at the doctors :( I am inspired to make your new sew lampshade. Thanks for the warning on the sticky wire forms.
1/26/04 6:55 AM
LindaB said...
Your lampshade looks fabulous ! What a wonderful trip to Thailand that must have been.
1/26/04 10:17 AM
CatherineN said...
Your shade is so pretty. The price of ready made lampshades is not so pretty!
1/26/04 12:20 PM
JeanetteE said...
Debtro,your lampshade is lovely,warts and all. Georgene, you can purchase lampshade making supplies from: www.lampshade.com and also www.mainelyshades.com. I've bought from both companies.They're both good.
1/26/04 6:56 PM
JeanetteE said...
Georgene, sorry,a correction is needed. The site is: www.lampshop.com.
1/26/04 7:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a tale of the light. What a great looking shade. The beads on the base make it so perfect! Where did you find the bead trim?
1/26/04 7:15 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thank so much everyone for your nice comments! Georgene, the wire form that I'd like to get is at the online source Jeanette recommends, www.lampshop.com. And Jennifer, the bead trim is from Hancock Fabrics! My Hancock store has a huge home dec area, and has a ton of bead trim in stock right now.
1/26/04 9:22 PM
Maude said...
I don't know if it's okay to do this, but if you'd like to learn how to make lampshades check out http://www.gold-kiser.com/lampshades.html where you'll find the only instructions written in English for how to make professional-quality, sewn, fabric-covered shades, which is actually really easy to do, especially if you already know how to sew, and even if you don't.
2/5/04 4:34 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks so much, Maude! For my next lampshade, I really would like to sew it. I will check out that website.
2/7/04 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5989

photo
by: Bendy

Review
Center for Pattern Design CB Spiral Blouse

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now