Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Lampshade (Lampshade) - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1712 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/04 10:42 PM
Last Updated:1/25/04 10:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Great story--a cautionary tale. I too have lamp base without a shade and have searched everywhere. Eventually I found a shade that was too short, and made a lamp shade 'throw' to put over it: a sort of semicircular shape with one seam. My gold lace trim finishes off the edge, similar to your beads. Where did you find the wire form? Do tell!
1/25/04 11:07 PM
MaryBeth said...
Fascinating and wonderful undertaking. I'm glad to be warned about the lampshade forms. Thanks
1/25/04 11:37 PM
Deepika said...
Great review and a beautiful lampshade. My sewing machine is at the doctors :( I am inspired to make your new sew lampshade. Thanks for the warning on the sticky wire forms.
1/26/04 6:55 AM
LindaB said...
Your lampshade looks fabulous ! What a wonderful trip to Thailand that must have been.
1/26/04 10:17 AM
CatherineN said...
Your shade is so pretty. The price of ready made lampshades is not so pretty!
1/26/04 12:20 PM
JeanetteE said...
Debtro,your lampshade is lovely,warts and all. Georgene, you can purchase lampshade making supplies from: www.lampshade.com and also www.mainelyshades.com. I've bought from both companies.They're both good.
1/26/04 6:56 PM
JeanetteE said...
Georgene, sorry,a correction is needed. The site is: www.lampshop.com.
1/26/04 7:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a tale of the light. What a great looking shade. The beads on the base make it so perfect! Where did you find the bead trim?
1/26/04 7:15 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thank so much everyone for your nice comments! Georgene, the wire form that I'd like to get is at the online source Jeanette recommends, www.lampshop.com. And Jennifer, the bead trim is from Hancock Fabrics! My Hancock store has a huge home dec area, and has a ton of bead trim in stock right now.
1/26/04 9:22 PM
Maude said...
I don't know if it's okay to do this, but if you'd like to learn how to make lampshades check out http://www.gold-kiser.com/lampshades.html where you'll find the only instructions written in English for how to make professional-quality, sewn, fabric-covered shades, which is actually really easy to do, especially if you already know how to sew, and even if you don't.
2/5/04 4:34 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks so much, Maude! For my next lampshade, I really would like to sew it. I will check out that website.
2/7/04 0:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Textile Studio 1407
photo
Review by Patti B on 4/24/05
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2008-117 Petite Dress
photo
Review by creative1 on 12/2/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8048 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8048 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us