SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Lampshade (Lampshade)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1713 times 
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo

 
 
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/04 10:42 PM
Last Updated:1/25/04 10:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thanks so much, Maude! For my next lampshade, I really would like to sew it. I will check out that website.
2/7/04 0:19 AM
Maude said...
I don't know if it's okay to do this, but if you'd like to learn how to make lampshades check out http://www.gold-kiser.com/lampshades.html where you'll find the only instructions written in English for how to make professional-quality, sewn, fabric-covered shades, which is actually really easy to do, especially if you already know how to sew, and even if you don't.
2/5/04 4:34 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thank so much everyone for your nice comments! Georgene, the wire form that I'd like to get is at the online source Jeanette recommends, www.lampshop.com. And Jennifer, the bead trim is from Hancock Fabrics! My Hancock store has a huge home dec area, and has a ton of bead trim in stock right now.
1/26/04 9:22 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a tale of the light. What a great looking shade. The beads on the base make it so perfect! Where did you find the bead trim?
1/26/04 7:15 PM
JeanetteE said...
Georgene, sorry,a correction is needed. The site is: www.lampshop.com.
1/26/04 7:01 PM
JeanetteE said...
Debtro,your lampshade is lovely,warts and all. Georgene, you can purchase lampshade making supplies from: www.lampshade.com and also www.mainelyshades.com. I've bought from both companies.They're both good.
1/26/04 6:56 PM
CatherineN said...
Your shade is so pretty. The price of ready made lampshades is not so pretty!
1/26/04 12:20 PM
LindaB said...
Your lampshade looks fabulous ! What a wonderful trip to Thailand that must have been.
1/26/04 10:17 AM
Deepika said...
Great review and a beautiful lampshade. My sewing machine is at the doctors :( I am inspired to make your new sew lampshade. Thanks for the warning on the sticky wire forms.
1/26/04 6:55 AM
MaryBeth said...
Fascinating and wonderful undertaking. I'm glad to be warned about the lampshade forms. Thanks
1/25/04 11:37 PM
Georgene said...
Great story--a cautionary tale. I too have lamp base without a shade and have searched everywhere. Eventually I found a shade that was too short, and made a lamp shade 'throw' to put over it: a sort of semicircular shape with one seam. My gold lace trim finishes off the edge, similar to your beads. Where did you find the wire form? Do tell!
1/25/04 11:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns V8615

photo
by: Milenushka

Review
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

More Info