SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8470 (MISSES' DRESS)

13 more reviews
Viewed 818 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 10:54 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pammieh said...
I know how you feel - I'm stuck in the same way with a "simple" vogue shift dress that just doesn't look great on my body shape - it's made me reassess my projects! I'm probably going to make the dress but with old fabric i have in the stash. Your picture looks great but I know how you feel! Thanks for the heads up!
9/6/09 1:40 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Despite your difficulties with this pattern, the dress really does look lovely, and the fabric is very pretty!
9/6/09 1:44 AM
lamstu said...
I'm with ALY, in the thumbnail the dress looks pretty nice. Since you like the skirt, maybe you can convert the dress into a skirt with a ribbon waistband? Thanks for your honest assessment of the pattern.
9/5/09 11:15 PM
sewmaris said...
Before you pitch this dress into the garbage, consider trying it on with a "real" bra. Sports bras flatten your bustline - which is NOT the effect you usually want - especially on this kind of pretty dress. You are right about the cotton lawn fabric - it is not right for the dress - maybe silk dupioni? or taffeta? Anyway - just try it on with a good fitting bra and see if the pattern is worth a second try. Darn!
9/5/09 9:25 PM
Markie1 said...
I admire you for taking so much time both with the garment and with your review. I am still not quite convinced that this dress can't work for you but I understand the need to "keep it in motion" and move on. On quick visual analysis, I think that the bodice needed to move down from the shoulders about an inch or so. I find that if the waist is short, it hits my ribs--the widest part of my middle. You think? Anyway--thank you for the time you took--you did some beautiful sewing.
9/5/09 4:03 PM
kiddo said...
Thank you for the review. I agree with you that when one place is the intersection repeatedly it can become difficult. I love the swirl the skirt makes.
9/5/09 11:50 AM
EleanorSews said...
So sorry this did not work for you. Beautiful fabric though.
9/5/09 11:05 AM
ALY said...
Actually, before I read your review and discovered you were not happy with dress, I though it looked quite nice. Lawn fabric might have been a little light to get a snug fit in the waist without additional stiffening/interfacing. On the other hand it makes a lovely twirly skirt.
9/5/09 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 16599-1005

photo
by: TalyQ

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

More Info