SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8470 (MISSES' DRESS)

13 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews: 31 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 10:54 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pammieh said... (9/6/09 1:40 PM) Reply
I know how you feel - I'm stuck in the same way with a "simple" vogue shift dress that just doesn't look great on my body shape - it's made me reassess my projects! I'm probably going to make the dress but with old fabric i have in the stash. Your picture looks great but I know how you feel! Thanks for the heads up!
ClaireF in CA said... (9/6/09 1:44 AM) Reply
Despite your difficulties with this pattern, the dress really does look lovely, and the fabric is very pretty!
lamstu said... (9/5/09 11:15 PM) Reply
I'm with ALY, in the thumbnail the dress looks pretty nice. Since you like the skirt, maybe you can convert the dress into a skirt with a ribbon waistband? Thanks for your honest assessment of the pattern.
sewmaris said... (9/5/09 9:25 PM) Reply
Before you pitch this dress into the garbage, consider trying it on with a "real" bra. Sports bras flatten your bustline - which is NOT the effect you usually want - especially on this kind of pretty dress. You are right about the cotton lawn fabric - it is not right for the dress - maybe silk dupioni? or taffeta? Anyway - just try it on with a good fitting bra and see if the pattern is worth a second try. Darn!
Markie1 said... (9/5/09 4:03 PM) Reply
I admire you for taking so much time both with the garment and with your review. I am still not quite convinced that this dress can't work for you but I understand the need to "keep it in motion" and move on. On quick visual analysis, I think that the bodice needed to move down from the shoulders about an inch or so. I find that if the waist is short, it hits my ribs--the widest part of my middle. You think? Anyway--thank you for the time you took--you did some beautiful sewing.
kiddo said... (9/5/09 11:50 AM) Reply
Thank you for the review. I agree with you that when one place is the intersection repeatedly it can become difficult. I love the swirl the skirt makes.
EleanorSews said... (9/5/09 11:05 AM) Reply
So sorry this did not work for you. Beautiful fabric though.
ALY said... (9/5/09 11:01 AM) Reply
Actually, before I read your review and discovered you were not happy with dress, I though it looked quite nice. Lawn fabric might have been a little light to get a snug fit in the waist without additional stiffening/interfacing. On the other hand it makes a lovely twirly skirt.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Butterick 5997

photo
by: ButtonFait...

Review
McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details