Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2962 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 863 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:LovelyMM
photo
About LovelyMM
NORWAY
Member since: 4/20/09
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/09 5:43 PM
Last Updated:8/31/09 5:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leeannz said...
Pretty dress...I am uncomfortable in halter dresses too..
8/31/09 7:32 PM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress you've constructed! I love the full skirt, as well as the halter styling (although I bet it would be pretty heavy with all that fabric)! I'm going to send you a personal message, all right? If you go to the "Message Center" link at the upper right of your screen, it will take you to another link where you can read my message. Thanks!
8/31/09 8:27 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow! Your first dress ever??? That is remarkable-you look so pretty in this. And by the way NOBODY'S waist looks as small as those drawings! Nice job!
8/31/09 9:16 PM
HeyJane said...
That is really beautiful, and congratulations on this very successful first dress. I don't like halters either…too uncomfortable. Waists looked that small years ago because they wore girdles. I look at photos of my aunts from back then, and I can't believe how tiny their waists are. Your back buttons are so pretty, and the hat is great, and I REALLY love the SHOES !!!
8/31/09 9:56 PM
sfshaza said...
Beautiful! And, don't forget, women of that era were highly girdled. :)
8/31/09 10:15 PM
FuzzyNavelPeach said...
You did a great job and it looks great on you.
8/31/09 11:50 PM
Aunt Gail said...
What a nice, EVEN job you did of gathering all that mounds and mounds of fabric for the waistline! Very impressive
9/1/09 6:23 AM
cindyann said...
Great dress! Nice work for the first time. I'm with you on the halters.
9/1/09 9:24 AM
nancy2001 said...
You did a great job on this dress.
9/1/09 10:05 AM
DivaQ said...
You look great in this dress!!
9/1/09 10:40 AM
SheriF said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great job for your first dress. Can't wait to see what comes next.
9/1/09 2:30 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is so pretty!
9/1/09 8:15 PM
LovelyMM said...
Please vote for this dress in the beginners contest...
9/2/09 7:24 AM
AdaF said...
I think the dress its beautiful and gives you a nice silhouette. You are very brave to try this dress as your first dress and it definitely payed off. Too bad is not as comfortable as you wished, but don't we women tend to wear a lot of uncomfortable things just to look good? Keep at it, you have talent!!!
9/4/09 1:51 PM
AdaF said...
I think the dress its beautiful and gives you a nice silhouette. You are very brave to try this dress as your first dress and it definitely payed off. Too bad is not as comfortable as you wished, but don't we women tend to wear a lot of uncomfortable things just to look good? Keep at it, you have talent!!!
9/4/09 1:51 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
Gorgeous girl, gorgeous dress! Well done.
9/4/09 6:55 PM
FullertonRegan said...
I agree, halters always *look* so cute, but they never fit me well either. I always feel like they're digging in to my neck. This dress looks great, and the detail shot of the buttons is lovely. They add a real delicacy to the dress, but you're right -- zipper for function & buttons for decoration is always a little easier to get on and off. ;) Unbelieveable first dress. If this is how lovely you're able to sew satin (the hardest fabric known to man in my opinion), you will have even better results with a simple cotton. Congrats!!!
9/5/09 3:23 PM
sherri2sew said...
impressive
9/5/09 10:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress. You are very brave to choose such a challenging fabric and style for your first dress. Well done!
9/6/09 8:04 AM
sewrelaxed said...
This does not look like a beginner project; this looks like something I would tackle and I've been sewing for 35 years. Great job!
9/7/09 0:38 AM
ggexpansive said...
wow that is a very good job esp. for a first dress!!!
9/7/09 1:28 PM
BillieJean said...
Yes indeed it did "turn out pretty ok for a first dress". Looks lovely on you.
9/7/09 3:28 PM
AnneM said...
Turned out great, very pretty. Very attractive look on you, also. (Cute hat.)
9/7/09 8:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Wow! You did a fantastic job of making your first dress. This has truly been a learning experience for you. Good luck in the contest.
9/8/09 5:10 PM
mizdeedee said...
that is pretty amazing for a first dress - look forward to seeing more projects!
9/9/09 6:04 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Great job on your dress! I find halters are more comfortable when I wear a halter-bra with a strap in either the color of the dress, or clear.
9/15/09 8:09 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Darn the voting is over I wouldv'e voted for your beautiful dress! What an excellent job for a "beginner and a Vogue too!
9/16/09 2:34 PM
wiccaone said...
This is definitely not a pattern for a beginner so you have done brilliantly here! And satin is one of those "challenging" fabrics. They did have tiny waists in the Fifties - the average waist was 27 inches ( I believe it is now 37 to 38 inches.) This was especially true in the UK where a whole generation went though food rationing due to the Second World War.
9/20/09 5:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Violette Field Threads Emmaline Maxi Dress
photo
Review by newmama on 6/23/12
Read Review

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-132
photo
Review by SewingandS... on 1/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us