Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5893 (1 Hour Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 624 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Nujoi1908
photo
Friend of PR
About Nujoi1908star
IL USA
Member since: 5/29/09
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/31/09 11:15 PM
Last Updated:8/31/09 11:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.76 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.76  List Price: $15.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Your dress sounds like it's lovely. Please be sure to add a picture of your finished project to your review, so that the judges are able to see it when they do their contest judging. You can "Edit" your review by clicking on the "Edit" button at the upper right of the review. Then when you get in there, add your project photo url in the appropriate box. If you can't get it added there, then add it to the body of the review by clicking on the link right above the text of your review that says to add an "insertable link," or something along those lines. When you click on that, a screen will then pop up into which you can paste the url for your finished project photo. Good luck in the contest!
8/31/09 11:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Whoops! While I was writing my message, you were inserting your project photo. Sorry about that! :o)
8/31/09 11:57 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dress, well done!
9/1/09 0:39 AM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice dress and a good fit, by the looks of it.
9/1/09 5:42 AM
mollyshark said...
Great work. Does seem to have a perfect fit. Many of these '1 hour" dresses are somewhat sack-like, but this one has style. For knits..have very VERY sharp scissors.
9/1/09 7:00 AM
Nujoi1908 said...
Thanks all! @mollyshark, I think I may buy scissors just for knits and invest in some pattern weights.
9/1/09 7:32 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely dress and beautifully made.
9/1/09 8:14 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very flattering dress!
9/1/09 8:45 AM
DivaQ said...
Cute dress.
9/1/09 11:23 AM
mary in FL said...
Your dress turned out great! As for your co-workers, just say no, unless you plan to charge them gazigabucks.
9/1/09 6:55 PM
Nancy Anne said...
You did a great job on this dress! I've found it helpful with knits to go by my high-bust, not full bust, measurement.
9/3/09 9:11 PM
Marilyn270 said...
This looks great ! I have this pattern and I plan on making it soon.
9/4/09 4:43 PM
morzel said...
This dress sure fits great! You can be very proud about this first knit project.
9/5/09 2:19 PM
sherri2sew said...
nice fit, pretty dress
9/5/09 11:00 PM
Nujoi1908 said...
Thanks @ Nancy Ann! My high bust puts me between a 12 and a 14. No wonder I've been having such problems with bodices.
9/6/09 4:03 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Congrats on using a knit. Nice style, looks great on you. (Hope you said no to your co-workers, or you won't have time to sew for yourself!) I could use a gathers project myself; never a favorite activity for me. I'll advocate rotary cutters for knits (& wovens, for that matter). I love using that cutting method.
9/7/09 7:29 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Your dress looks so nice because the armholes fit! Great Job.
9/9/09 1:54 PM
MHW said...
What a beautifully flattering dress! Well done, great fit, looks gorgeous.
9/10/09 2:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 1/28/05
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Misses Top
photo
Review by susandf on 9/9/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us