Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5353 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 591 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FullertonRegan
photo
About FullertonReganstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/08
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 9:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewRusty said...
I think this dress (mistakes and all) looks fabulous on you, thanks for the review! And congrats on losing weight--that's hard work! LOL @ "staycation" w/the sewing machine... :-P
9/3/09 11:30 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Despite all of the problems you had with this dress, it came out great and looks beautiful on you! And the best part - it looks expensive! :)
9/4/09 0:49 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Really sharp-looking dress, and entertaining review! But I have to agree wtih you- it seems the top part could have been sewn a size smaller. Still not a bad fit, though, and very wear-able. Hey! I know! You could send it to me! I think I may just fit in this. ;-) Oh, and great save on the zipper!
9/4/09 8:49 AM
marec said...
ohhh, nice dress! It looks great, and I don't see a real problem with fit. wear with pride:-)
9/4/09 12:03 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress ! It has a real vintage feel to it. Great job.
9/4/09 2:08 PM
RLL said...
Really nice. I don't think it looks big on the top at all. In fact, I think it looks just right......and not skin tight. Just my opinion tho.
9/4/09 2:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Thanks for posting your sewing "whoopsies". I have those with every single thing I make and I never post them!! I love this basic shift dress with round collar. i've actually been looking for one. I you are having any trouble fitting the "big 4" patterns, remember to pull the tape snug around your upper bust and use THAT measurement to pick the pattern size on the envelope. Then do the full bust adjustment if you need it. Cute cute dress!!
9/4/09 3:19 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I really like this.
9/4/09 3:39 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I really like this.
9/4/09 3:40 PM
FullertonRegan said...
Thanks all!!! You're right CynthiaSue. I feel like the saying "When the student is ready, the teacher will appear" is where I am with sewing right now. I've hit the next level, and I'm starting to see all the things I can do better and properly with fit and construction. This site gives me so much help, support, and info, too!! I love you all for your willingness to help and for taking the time to comment. XOXO
9/4/09 3:46 PM
valerie sews said...
Nice dress. The neckline is very nice on you. I can't help thinking this pattern would make up well as a little black dress :)
9/5/09 7:33 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks (my first chuckle of the day) The dress looks very nice.
9/14/09 9:42 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress looks great.
9/14/09 9:47 AM
angela langan said...
you did a lovely job, it looks off the rack!
3/28/10 4:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us