SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5353 

14 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:FullertonRegan
photo

 
 
About FullertonReganstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/8/08
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/3/09 9:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angela langan said...
you did a lovely job, it looks off the rack!
3/28/10 4:09 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress looks great.
9/14/09 9:47 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks (my first chuckle of the day) The dress looks very nice.
9/14/09 9:42 AM
valerie sews said...
Nice dress. The neckline is very nice on you. I can't help thinking this pattern would make up well as a little black dress :)
9/5/09 7:33 AM
FullertonRegan said...
Thanks all!!! You're right CynthiaSue. I feel like the saying "When the student is ready, the teacher will appear" is where I am with sewing right now. I've hit the next level, and I'm starting to see all the things I can do better and properly with fit and construction. This site gives me so much help, support, and info, too!! I love you all for your willingness to help and for taking the time to comment. XOXO
9/4/09 3:46 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I really like this.
9/4/09 3:40 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I really like this.
9/4/09 3:39 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Thanks for posting your sewing "whoopsies". I have those with every single thing I make and I never post them!! I love this basic shift dress with round collar. i've actually been looking for one. I you are having any trouble fitting the "big 4" patterns, remember to pull the tape snug around your upper bust and use THAT measurement to pick the pattern size on the envelope. Then do the full bust adjustment if you need it. Cute cute dress!!
9/4/09 3:19 PM
RLL said...
Really nice. I don't think it looks big on the top at all. In fact, I think it looks just right......and not skin tight. Just my opinion tho.
9/4/09 2:28 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love this dress ! It has a real vintage feel to it. Great job.
9/4/09 2:08 PM
marec said...
ohhh, nice dress! It looks great, and I don't see a real problem with fit. wear with pride:-)
9/4/09 12:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Really sharp-looking dress, and entertaining review! But I have to agree wtih you- it seems the top part could have been sewn a size smaller. Still not a bad fit, though, and very wear-able. Hey! I know! You could send it to me! I think I may just fit in this. ;-) Oh, and great save on the zipper!
9/4/09 8:49 AM
ClaireF in CA said...
Despite all of the problems you had with this dress, it came out great and looks beautiful on you! And the best part - it looks expensive! :)
9/4/09 0:49 AM
SewRusty said...
I think this dress (mistakes and all) looks fabulous on you, thanks for the review! And congrats on losing weight--that's hard work! LOL @ "staycation" w/the sewing machine... :-P
9/3/09 11:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-119

photo
by: rabitgrl

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5881

photo
by: JillyBe

Review