SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6890 

1 more reviews
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 5:12 PM
Last Updated:9/5/09 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
A man's shirt is a pretty challenging project for a beginner. You did a great job. If you're planning on using your pattern many times, you might want to transfer it to interfacing or tag board to reinforce it for future use. Isn't it great when you find a pattern you love?! Looking forward to more iterations of your stylish vintage pattern.
9/5/09 5:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
An excellent job. Looks like you've found an endlessly useful pattern. Cutting accidents with scissors can happen. I try to avoid them by having a long-bladed pair for cutting out (they're from IKEA and no doubt designed for cutting out curtains with long strokes, but are pretty good for dressmaking as well) and a small, dainty pair for snipping threads and other little jobs.
9/5/09 6:02 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Very good job. You write a very interesting and helpful review.
9/5/09 6:07 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Great shirt! It looks terrific, in spite of all of your challenges! Your review is very interesting, and I especially enjoyed all of your pictures!
9/5/09 6:56 PM
nancy2001 said...
Peter, another great looking shirt. To set a crease in fabrics that are poly blends, you can use a Rajah press cloth, which is available at the Cleaner's Supply website and at many fabric/notions stores.
9/5/09 7:29 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Another great shirt with stylish details! Love your topstitching on collars, and is it a kind of pale pink thread you used? On mint colour background? That's terrific!
9/5/09 8:10 PM
Michelle L said...
Great job on your shirt. I just completed a shirt that I cut a giant hole in the back of, so I feel your pain! It is so frustrating to get so far, finishing all the seams, and then have something like that happen. I think I may have invented some new curse words! You did a lovely job, though, and I am sure you will get plenty of use from this pattern.
9/5/09 8:14 PM
kathyw said...
Great looking shirt, but in my experience, working with poly/cotton would be unneeded frustration for a dress shirt like this. Go for pure cotton next time! You put a lot of time into this project.
9/5/09 8:27 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the feedback, everybody, and the great tips! I started out with white polyester thread and ran out, so I continued with a sort of beige-colored thread which was all they had at the Rite Aid drugstore. (Maybe it's time to up my notions a level, ha ha.)
9/5/09 9:48 PM
SandraB said...
I like how your shirt turned out Peter. And I admire your perseverance with this project, seeing that it gave you endless problems.
9/5/09 10:03 PM
pterion said...
This does look like a challenging project and you did a great job on it. I like how you persevered and thoughtfully documented all the steps. I agree with kathyw - reward yourself with some cotton fabric (and plenty of good thread!)
9/5/09 10:25 PM
jilly cooper said...
Wonderful pics. I really learn a lot from your methodical approach. I still struggle to even contemplate a shirt so kudos to you for not only delivering a wonderfully made item but also understanding the construction process (pros and cons):)
9/6/09 7:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great pictorial charting of your shirtmaking process. I think you would have a lot less trouble though if you could find a 100% cotton sheet for your next one. Good luck with your next one!
9/6/09 7:33 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you did a wonderful job on this shirt. It's so terririfc seeing an old pattern get a new life in the 21st century. bravo. I agree with you about the Islader video versus the other as well.
9/6/09 7:36 AM
LollyVee said...
Pete, you need to send those shears to me out here in Africa! (to be used on the animals coats) because they are causing to much trouble in the BIG city!! Love your brilliant reviews and photo stream. PS: Mint's a good colour on you!
9/6/09 8:10 AM
Woolygal said...
c'mon, you're doing beautiful work. Get a good cotton and you'll realize the difference in the finished project.
9/6/09 8:18 AM
crisford said...
Your shirt looks awesome! Great job! If you're criticizing David Coffin--wow, you must be on your way to writing your own book on shirt techniques! Keep us posted so we can be first in line! The cover-ups from my accidental snips have always given my sewn garments a unique, original touch.
9/6/09 8:44 AM
Nancy Anne said...
You once again did an awesome job, turning a humble sheet into something spectacular. EVERY SINGLE mistake you made I have made in the past, so I was chuckling in sympathy as I went through your album.
9/6/09 8:59 AM
beth5646 said...
Peter--Great shirt, and as always I love reading your review. Much thanks for all the photos too.
9/6/09 9:46 AM
carolynw said...
Peter another great shirt - and for $2!!! Great and interesting review
9/6/09 9:48 AM
Gloria W said...
I think its just sewing karma. Your previous efforts were so beautiful, the sewing gods decided you needed a dose of humility. ;-)
9/6/09 11:25 AM
fourkid said...
Very nice job and so well documented! I learn a lot form my mistakes - so I don't get too upset about them any more. I agree - 100% cotton would work better for you. www.momspatterns has quite a few men's vintage patterns and most are low priced.
9/6/09 5:27 PM
RLL said...
Nice looking shirt. Great color for you. Like everyone else said, get some cotton fabric now and do this again. It will be perfect since you already learned from the challenges from this one.
9/6/09 5:34 PM
feldmanTcat said...
Hey Peter, Nice job. Please keep up with the vintage pattern reviews. I only sew for myself using vintage patterns and I started making shirts for my fiance because he has a hard time finding fitted shirts (he has a very similar build to you). Your reviews (along with Briansews) help me decide which patterns to use.
9/6/09 8:15 PM
pammieh said...
You inspire me Peter! You do have the eye for design:)
9/7/09 11:51 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Folks, I have decided -- with your encouragement -- to promote myself to 100% cotton and see how it goes; I may even (drum roll...) buy fabric! I do like my old sheets but I think it would be nice to wear a shirt someone hasn't slept on -- or worse. I MAY send those shears to Africa; I think I need those safety scissors I used in elementary school. Not to mention that that center screw keeps unscrewing -- does anyone know how to prevent that? It only happens to my Mexican-made Ginghers. Thanks again for all the kind words and good humor!
9/7/09 2:35 PM
Karendee said...
Peter, your sewing is amazing for the obvious reasons: The shirt looks wonderful and you might possibly be using the WORST supplies known to man. A used poly-cotton sheet and Rite-Aid thread will not produce a good garment--which youDID! Just proves you can't keep a good sewist down. Please graduate to a name brand thread, a small pr. of trimming scissors and at least a new cotton sheet. Your final product will be absolutely perfect.
9/8/09 2:24 PM
Sheila457 said...
Peter... Your shirts are awesome and the construction is superb and to think you are a beginner.
9/9/09 2:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8831

photo
by: jlg

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now