SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Shapes> Crazy Eight Top (Crazy Eight Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 874 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 6:04 PM
Last Updated:9/5/09 6:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A distinctive look. I agree - it's more interesting back to front.
9/5/09 6:18 PM
mollyshark said...
I absolutely agree...your ay of wearing it is the best. A little scary on the sizing, though, if that is an XS! Still I love Louise's designs and may give this one a try. What pants pattern are you wearing with this? Looks a little like a Tilton..another of my favs.
9/5/09 6:49 PM
papago said...
Great looking top, Ann. I just ordered it after reading both your review and Dorothk's. Laura
9/5/09 6:53 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Ann, this top is so interesting and attractive on you! Definitely love the back in the front!
9/5/09 7:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Mollyshark, you are right on. The pants are Marcy's pattern Vogue 8397.
9/5/09 7:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
What an interesting top! How clever to think about trying it on backwards. Great look!
9/5/09 9:24 PM
Jane S said...
How creative of you to notice the flattering possibilities in this pattern. Another winner.
9/5/09 10:45 PM
sew2little said...
So great! So Ann!
9/6/09 1:44 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Beautiful! I always look forward to what you'll sew next.
9/6/09 5:47 AM
LollyVee said...
You definately pulled out the right fabric for this top! Love the drape in the front. They are perfect with the Tilton pants. Very nice.
9/6/09 7:20 AM
Fran G said...
You wear this look beautifully! Wearing the top backwards works so much better!
9/6/09 8:28 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: love the top..worn backwards: really smashing look. The sleeves remind me of the large shirt (V1112) that I reviewed: even the material is similar. Thanks for review...I'm now going to make this up with some material I already have, and once again, emulate your creation; i.e., wear it backwards. Where would we all be without your ideas???
9/6/09 8:42 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
what fun! I agree Front is better in the back. Did you send your pic to LC? I am certain she would get a kick from your reversal...
9/6/09 9:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Terrific top! Your ingenuity in reversing it and pairing it with the Marcy Tilton pants make this outfit very attractive. Wonderful creativity!
9/6/09 10:06 AM
PegL said...
Turning this top around was such a good idea! Brilliant and it looks so nice on you!
9/6/09 11:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I have to say I was dubious when you showed me the fabric, but it came out great. And guess what! Today I'm wearing my top backwards and I like it much more. What would we all do without your creative ideas to emulate?
9/6/09 12:48 PM
moushka said...
The way you are wearing this top is much more interesting and flattering than the way it was designed. You look fantastic, as usual. Thanks for a great review.
9/6/09 1:41 PM
marthamyers said...
Another of your lovely creations. Actually I like it both ways - the drape is fabulous in either the front or the back. Thanks for the review.
9/6/09 9:51 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your top is gorgeous and complements the Marcy Tilton pants wonderfully. Fabulous outfit!
9/6/09 10:21 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Lovely fabric and another great garment! P.S. The garden sculpture is a wonderfully creative backdrop.
9/7/09 5:57 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
After seeing your version, I can't imagine wearing the top any other way! I love the look, and your fabric choice is just perfect!
9/7/09 8:23 AM
SEH1950 said...
Where can I get this pattern? I have never heard of 'Shapes' patterns before but I love this top - especially the way you wear it! I just looked it up and found it to be a Sewing Workshop pattern. I used to take classes there when I lived in CA and loved it! Susan
9/28/09 5:32 PM
Lookingpast said...
Thanks! I have this pattern and have been thinking of making it in a rayon (floral or solid) but I wasn't sure I really liked the way the front looked. With your inspiration, I'll just wear it backwards!
4/7/10 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Suitability 4188

photo
by: Jupiter, F...

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now