SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Shapes> Crazy Eight Top (Crazy Eight Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 870 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/09 6:04 PM
Last Updated:9/5/09 6:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A distinctive look. I agree - it's more interesting back to front.
9/5/09 6:18 PM
mollyshark said...
I absolutely agree...your ay of wearing it is the best. A little scary on the sizing, though, if that is an XS! Still I love Louise's designs and may give this one a try. What pants pattern are you wearing with this? Looks a little like a Tilton..another of my favs.
9/5/09 6:49 PM
papago said...
Great looking top, Ann. I just ordered it after reading both your review and Dorothk's. Laura
9/5/09 6:53 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Ann, this top is so interesting and attractive on you! Definitely love the back in the front!
9/5/09 7:03 PM
Ann Smith said...
Mollyshark, you are right on. The pants are Marcy's pattern Vogue 8397.
9/5/09 7:14 PM
EleanorSews said...
What an interesting top! How clever to think about trying it on backwards. Great look!
9/5/09 9:24 PM
Jane S said...
How creative of you to notice the flattering possibilities in this pattern. Another winner.
9/5/09 10:45 PM
sew2little said...
So great! So Ann!
9/6/09 1:44 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Beautiful! I always look forward to what you'll sew next.
9/6/09 5:47 AM
LollyVee said...
You definately pulled out the right fabric for this top! Love the drape in the front. They are perfect with the Tilton pants. Very nice.
9/6/09 7:20 AM
Fran G said...
You wear this look beautifully! Wearing the top backwards works so much better!
9/6/09 8:28 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: love the top..worn backwards: really smashing look. The sleeves remind me of the large shirt (V1112) that I reviewed: even the material is similar. Thanks for review...I'm now going to make this up with some material I already have, and once again, emulate your creation; i.e., wear it backwards. Where would we all be without your ideas???
9/6/09 8:42 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
what fun! I agree Front is better in the back. Did you send your pic to LC? I am certain she would get a kick from your reversal...
9/6/09 9:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Terrific top! Your ingenuity in reversing it and pairing it with the Marcy Tilton pants make this outfit very attractive. Wonderful creativity!
9/6/09 10:06 AM
PegL said...
Turning this top around was such a good idea! Brilliant and it looks so nice on you!
9/6/09 11:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I have to say I was dubious when you showed me the fabric, but it came out great. And guess what! Today I'm wearing my top backwards and I like it much more. What would we all do without your creative ideas to emulate?
9/6/09 12:48 PM
moushka said...
The way you are wearing this top is much more interesting and flattering than the way it was designed. You look fantastic, as usual. Thanks for a great review.
9/6/09 1:41 PM
marthamyers said...
Another of your lovely creations. Actually I like it both ways - the drape is fabulous in either the front or the back. Thanks for the review.
9/6/09 9:51 PM
Schnauzer said...
Ann, your top is gorgeous and complements the Marcy Tilton pants wonderfully. Fabulous outfit!
9/6/09 10:21 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Lovely fabric and another great garment! P.S. The garden sculpture is a wonderfully creative backdrop.
9/7/09 5:57 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
After seeing your version, I can't imagine wearing the top any other way! I love the look, and your fabric choice is just perfect!
9/7/09 8:23 AM
SEH1950 said...
Where can I get this pattern? I have never heard of 'Shapes' patterns before but I love this top - especially the way you wear it! I just looked it up and found it to be a Sewing Workshop pattern. I used to take classes there when I lived in CA and loved it! Susan
9/28/09 5:32 PM
Lookingpast said...
Thanks! I have this pattern and have been thinking of making it in a rayon (floral or solid) but I wasn't sure I really liked the way the front looked. With your inspiration, I'll just wear it backwards!
4/7/10 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5396

photo
by: Renren

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
LJ Designs 0000

photo
by: Gilberta

Review