SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3039 (Fitted Western-Style Shirt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/09 3:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
B said...
Love your shirt! I have a question or two: Is the overlay one or two layers? Just wondering about the point of the yoke, how does it come out so smoothly? Also where on the cuffs did you put the crystals? I just tried to download a similar pattern for a child (KS 3146) at SewingPatterns.com and keep getting a virus warning so may have to adapt an Ottobre shirt pattern instead.
9/6/09 5:56 AM
goosegreen said...
The yokes are one layer each (ie front & back) and joined at the shoulder & top-stitched down. The points come out really well...but I'm using a 100% cotton so it presses easily. Not sure what would happen with a synthetic. Have a look at my blog for another version. The crystals are just around the bottom of the cuffs. I would have put more on, but didn't have enough.
9/6/09 6:42 AM
LollyVee said...
Lucky friend...she now has a stunning shirt! Love the check and adornments! Definately make one for yourself!
9/6/09 8:19 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow, what a beautiful shirt. I love the piping and the crystal details. Great.
9/6/09 11:57 AM
B said...
Thanks, goosegreen. I checked your blog and learned even more. It really helps to learn from your experience, even for a child's size. You did a great job!
9/6/09 12:02 PM
MaryBeth said...
Cute shirt and lucky friend! Love your crystal details.
9/6/09 12:22 PM
Renren said...
I hope you review the one you made for yourself, too! And your stitching going into those curves is perfect! Everything is so nicely lined up and since the crystals will draw the eye to that area, it is just icing on the cake to have everything absolutely perfect! The piping also is perfectly done!
9/6/09 4:20 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Great looking cowboy shirt! The crystals and piping just put it over the top!
9/7/09 8:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6208

photo
by: Clareew

Review
New Look 6003

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now