Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5007 (Gore Skirt Group) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1633 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/04 11:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Harriet - Loes recommends an elastic that stretches twice its size (I get it at the Sewing Place). Doesn't stretch that much on me! Most of us put it around our waist until it is comfortable and use that measurement. Nice skirt!
1/27/04 1:13 PM
jlg said...
I agree. You have a nice looking skirt.
1/27/04 1:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fun use of this fabric. I have it too!
1/27/04 2:09 PM
MaryBeth said...
Cute skirt! Love the way you've used the wavy stripes. Rayon feels so good, doesn't it?
1/27/04 2:48 PM
Rebecca D said...
Harriet, I agree with you about the instructions for inserting the gores. The first few times I made this skirt, the gores were tilted, off kilter and I found it almost impossible to make the point at the top look good. The articles in Sew News and Threads are much clearer. Finally, on my last version, to date, I figured out how to make the gores work. For me, it was better marking and I did not use the serger on the gores until after the points were perfect. As for the five-thread serger part of the instructions, I had plowed through all the reviews here and did a three-thread and another line of stitching with the sewing machine. Sad thing is, I have a 5-thread serger, but was not going to use it on those gores! I have used the elastic that Peggy mentions and had to experiment with the length and the application. I prefer serging the elastic to the top of the waistband, folding it over and tacking it down at each seam. This gives a smooth line, less of an "elastic waist" look. Also, with a lightweight stretch velvet, I used lingerie elastic (Gigi Louis describes the exact method somewhere in the message board in her Expet Forum) and it is the most comfortable elastic application ever!
1/28/04 6:52 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for comments. Ann: what a riot that we have the same fabric: have you made it up yet? Rebecca: when you say experiment with the elastic, does that mean that you cut it shorter than your waist? I think you and I are basically using the same method, but I clearly had too much elastic: should I next time around cut a few inches less than my waist (or even half the waist size) if I use the elastic recommended that stretches twice its size? That's my question for the month. Thanks for any additional help anyone can give me with this elastic problem.
1/28/04 9:34 AM
Rebecca D said...
My waist is 36 inches and I cut my elastic around 28 inches, before overlap. I go down a size in the pattern when using a stretch fabric for a good close fit (for a woven, I cut based on my hip and narrow the waist slightly) and that leaves me with a skirt that I can *just* get over my hips. This all creates a smooth line, not elastic waist looking at all, there are really no gathers. All this is from Gigi's review of the skirt and her details in the Message Board. I hope that helps.
1/31/04 11:33 AM
Rebecca D said...
One more thing, it's my understanding that the elastic that Loes recommends is for it's recovery after it's stitched through, and that you don't need to cut the elastic for half your waist size.
1/31/04 11:36 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Rebecca: thank you so much. I am going to re-do the elastic on my skirt, thanks to your advice. I'll post another picture with me in it after I fix. Thanks again
2/2/04 9:06 AM
LBJ said...
I tried to make this skirt with the gores and it ended up being a wadder. Couldn't get them in right. I made it without the gores and it went together fast and made a nice skirt. Too bad all LH designs end mid calf. It's a very unflattering length on me. Your skirt looks lovely, I love the fabric!
4/2/04 8:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us