Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8463 (MISSES' JACKET, SKIRT AND PANT) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1028 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/09 1:57 PM
Last Updated:9/7/09 12:18 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this comparison. You did a great job with your muslin and it almost seems a shame to cut it up. This looks like a good option for us shorties, in case S 2603 doesn't work out.
9/6/09 2:38 PM
Elona said...
How nice to see the first review of this intriguing pattern! It looks very nice on your dressform, and seems to have come out extremely well. Thanks for posting about the crossgrain layout. That's rare.
9/6/09 3:25 PM
Tiner W said...
Pretty! I bought both patterns for myself, just in case--I'm about 5' 3" and somewhat pear shaped, and I worried that the Simplicity one would overwhelm me. However, I'm wondering if the thinner drapes on the front of this one will be less versatile. I really want to try a lot of the styles shown on the DKNY video. I'm wondering if I could combine the two patterns--the back seam and waist shaping of this one with the drape front of the Simplicity?
9/6/09 3:26 PM
babbling brook said...
Nice job! I'm glad somebody finally reviewed this. WARNING to others: you may find the ties too short like I did. Redraft for proper length and shape. (Ends of ties look bulky unless knit is VERY thin!)
9/6/09 3:49 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Tiner W: I did drape this one in most of the ways shown in the video (I just didn't take pics.) It does pretty much everything the Simplicity one does, but some of the more draped styles look a bit different since there's less fabric in the front pieces.
9/6/09 7:58 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
babbling brook: I found that the ties were long enough, but I used a very stretchy fabric. A good thing to check on before cutting!
9/6/09 8:00 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty.
9/6/09 9:08 PM
no7262 said...
It came out great! Nora :)
9/6/09 9:44 PM
babbling brook said...
Super cute turquoise version!!! For those only wanting to wear the wrap as shown in view A: Debbie Cook has a great easy fix for those bulky tie ends in her review of BWOF 01-2008-116 wrap-over top. (Make lengthwise "tube" at bottom end of each tie.)
9/6/09 10:34 PM
JDpenelope said...
I think you are getting some converts! Thanks for this update -- I love your final version.
9/7/09 11:38 AM
Izzie said...
Wow! I wish I had paid more attentions to this pattern! Great save on the 2nd version, it looks fab!
9/7/09 12:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! I liked the first one, but this one is even prettier!
9/7/09 2:51 PM
AnitaJ said...
Your cardi-wraps look great! I love the neckline and waistline silhouette on this Vogue version.
9/7/09 9:21 PM
pammieh said...
Way to stay with the design!!
9/7/09 11:34 PM
hpsauce said...
I was trying to decide which version to make.....you've got me sold on this one!
9/14/09 7:27 PM
ingysoup said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've been admiring everyone's knit cardis and been thinking that I probably wouldn't like the Simplicity pattern. I'm very large busted and didn't want that much fabric. I happened on this pattern today and bought it. I just have to figure out how to do a FBA on it...grrrrrr.
9/15/09 12:51 PM
babbling brook said...
There is absolutely NO NEED to do an FBA with this pattern! It is VERY roomy in the front. It is modest and stays put on my C-cup chest without being tacked down. The wrap has a beautiful, full drape when worn as view A.
9/17/09 8:19 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the review... I can see doing this up in a thin knit.
10/7/09 7:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 4535
photo
Review by JMarie1962 on 2/29/08
Read Review

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6432
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/13/11
Read Review

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S  Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6922 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6922 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us