SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8463 (MISSES' JACKET, SKIRT AND PANT)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/09 1:57 PM
Last Updated:9/7/09 12:18 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this comparison. You did a great job with your muslin and it almost seems a shame to cut it up. This looks like a good option for us shorties, in case S 2603 doesn't work out.
9/6/09 2:38 PM
Elona said...
How nice to see the first review of this intriguing pattern! It looks very nice on your dressform, and seems to have come out extremely well. Thanks for posting about the crossgrain layout. That's rare.
9/6/09 3:25 PM
Tiner W said...
Pretty! I bought both patterns for myself, just in case--I'm about 5' 3" and somewhat pear shaped, and I worried that the Simplicity one would overwhelm me. However, I'm wondering if the thinner drapes on the front of this one will be less versatile. I really want to try a lot of the styles shown on the DKNY video. I'm wondering if I could combine the two patterns--the back seam and waist shaping of this one with the drape front of the Simplicity?
9/6/09 3:26 PM
babbling brook said...
Nice job! I'm glad somebody finally reviewed this. WARNING to others: you may find the ties too short like I did. Redraft for proper length and shape. (Ends of ties look bulky unless knit is VERY thin!)
9/6/09 3:49 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Tiner W: I did drape this one in most of the ways shown in the video (I just didn't take pics.) It does pretty much everything the Simplicity one does, but some of the more draped styles look a bit different since there's less fabric in the front pieces.
9/6/09 7:58 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
babbling brook: I found that the ties were long enough, but I used a very stretchy fabric. A good thing to check on before cutting!
9/6/09 8:00 PM
Athene said...
Very pretty.
9/6/09 9:08 PM
no7262 said...
It came out great! Nora :)
9/6/09 9:44 PM
babbling brook said...
Super cute turquoise version!!! For those only wanting to wear the wrap as shown in view A: Debbie Cook has a great easy fix for those bulky tie ends in her review of BWOF 01-2008-116 wrap-over top. (Make lengthwise "tube" at bottom end of each tie.)
9/6/09 10:34 PM
JDpenelope said...
I think you are getting some converts! Thanks for this update -- I love your final version.
9/7/09 11:38 AM
Izzie said...
Wow! I wish I had paid more attentions to this pattern! Great save on the 2nd version, it looks fab!
9/7/09 12:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! I liked the first one, but this one is even prettier!
9/7/09 2:51 PM
AnitaJ said...
Your cardi-wraps look great! I love the neckline and waistline silhouette on this Vogue version.
9/7/09 9:21 PM
pammieh said...
Way to stay with the design!!
9/7/09 11:34 PM
hpsauce said...
I was trying to decide which version to make.....you've got me sold on this one!
9/14/09 7:27 PM
ingysoup said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've been admiring everyone's knit cardis and been thinking that I probably wouldn't like the Simplicity pattern. I'm very large busted and didn't want that much fabric. I happened on this pattern today and bought it. I just have to figure out how to do a FBA on it...grrrrrr.
9/15/09 12:51 PM
babbling brook said...
There is absolutely NO NEED to do an FBA with this pattern! It is VERY roomy in the front. It is modest and stays put on my C-cup chest without being tacked down. The wrap has a beautiful, full drape when worn as view A.
9/17/09 8:19 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the review... I can see doing this up in a thin knit.
10/7/09 7:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Kwik Sew 3300

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now