Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: PTN-018 (Star Trek Starfleet Officer) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 216 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:KiwiWendy
photo
About KiwiWendystarstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 83
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/09 10:37 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sandi S said...
excellent review of a disasterous-sounding pattern - I think the true tip-off that it might be bad is the "some sewing skill required" line at the bottom of the pattern front. Looks like the designer only had "some" drafting skill.
9/12/09 10:44 PM
MasoumaRose said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I was on the verge of tracking it down so I could make a costume in time to Halloween, but it sounds like I'll pass. I appreciate your sharing your experience.
9/13/09 2:55 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I loved that uniform as a kid watching reruns. I'm glad to know to stay far away from the pattern. You're too funny Sandi - "some" drafting skill! LOL
9/13/09 2:57 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Sandi, you're absolutely right. I suspect they cloned a garment, & bodgy graded it up to multisizes. And not knowing how to fix the arm issue, just left them too narrow for any but a stick armed woman. It might work if you're a size 4/5, and toile it and fix the seam differences & mismatched sleeve lengths.
9/13/09 5:14 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Thank you so much for this review ! It is funny (sorry, after all you went through) and very informative I admit I have also considered the idea, but I think I would have gone with some similar looking pattern and tweaked it...
9/13/09 6:02 AM
dbsewer said...
Great review. Sounds like they cheaped out when they made this pattern. Sandi S, you're funny. :-)
9/13/09 8:41 AM
droxy said...
Bummer. I would try vintage 60s ore dancer/skater uniforms and modify to the trek motif. =)
9/15/09 11:01 AM
Trephas2003 said...
Sorry you wouldn't recommend it. :-( Uhura looks great, though.
9/23/09 3:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4412 Jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by CissieW on 5/24/12
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us