SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Other> PTN-018 (Star Trek Starfleet Officer)

8 more reviews
Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:KiwiWendy
photo

 
 
About KiwiWendystarstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/09 10:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
David Faith said... (5/29/14 6:50 AM) Reply
Pretty good review KiwiWendy.
Trephas2003 said... (9/23/09 3:56 PM) Reply
Sorry you wouldn't recommend it. :-( Uhura looks great, though.
droxy said... (9/15/09 11:01 AM) Reply
Bummer. I would try vintage 60s ore dancer/skater uniforms and modify to the trek motif. =)
dbsewer said... (9/13/09 8:41 AM) Reply
Great review. Sounds like they cheaped out when they made this pattern. Sandi S, you're funny. :-)
Primatoidefutile said... (9/13/09 6:02 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for this review ! It is funny (sorry, after all you went through) and very informative I admit I have also considered the idea, but I think I would have gone with some similar looking pattern and tweaked it...
KiwiWendy said... (9/13/09 5:14 AM) Reply
Sandi, you're absolutely right. I suspect they cloned a garment, & bodgy graded it up to multisizes. And not knowing how to fix the arm issue, just left them too narrow for any but a stick armed woman. It might work if you're a size 4/5, and toile it and fix the seam differences & mismatched sleeve lengths.
Jacqui315 said... (9/13/09 2:57 AM) Reply
I loved that uniform as a kid watching reruns. I'm glad to know to stay far away from the pattern. You're too funny Sandi - "some" drafting skill! LOL
MasoumaRose said... (9/13/09 2:55 AM) Reply
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I was on the verge of tracking it down so I could make a costume in time to Halloween, but it sounds like I'll pass. I appreciate your sharing your experience.
Sandi S said... (9/12/09 10:44 PM) Reply
excellent review of a disasterous-sounding pattern - I think the true tip-off that it might be bad is the "some sewing skill required" line at the bottom of the pattern front. Looks like the designer only had "some" drafting skill.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Pattern Details