SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> PTN-018 (Star Trek Starfleet Officer)

8 more reviews
Viewed 225 times 
Reviewed by:KiwiWendy
photo

 
 
About KiwiWendystarstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/09 10:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
David Faith said...
Pretty good review KiwiWendy.
5/29/14 6:50 AM
Trephas2003 said...
Sorry you wouldn't recommend it. :-( Uhura looks great, though.
9/23/09 3:56 PM
droxy said...
Bummer. I would try vintage 60s ore dancer/skater uniforms and modify to the trek motif. =)
9/15/09 11:01 AM
dbsewer said...
Great review. Sounds like they cheaped out when they made this pattern. Sandi S, you're funny. :-)
9/13/09 8:41 AM
Primatoidefutile said...
Thank you so much for this review ! It is funny (sorry, after all you went through) and very informative I admit I have also considered the idea, but I think I would have gone with some similar looking pattern and tweaked it...
9/13/09 6:02 AM
KiwiWendy said...
Sandi, you're absolutely right. I suspect they cloned a garment, & bodgy graded it up to multisizes. And not knowing how to fix the arm issue, just left them too narrow for any but a stick armed woman. It might work if you're a size 4/5, and toile it and fix the seam differences & mismatched sleeve lengths.
9/13/09 5:14 AM
Jacqui315 said...
I loved that uniform as a kid watching reruns. I'm glad to know to stay far away from the pattern. You're too funny Sandi - "some" drafting skill! LOL
9/13/09 2:57 AM
MasoumaRose said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I was on the verge of tracking it down so I could make a costume in time to Halloween, but it sounds like I'll pass. I appreciate your sharing your experience.
9/13/09 2:55 AM
Sandi S said...
excellent review of a disasterous-sounding pattern - I think the true tip-off that it might be bad is the "some sewing skill required" line at the bottom of the pattern front. Looks like the designer only had "some" drafting skill.
9/12/09 10:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-108

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: heking81

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now