Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5393 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 639 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/09 2:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Your jacket looks great. I never noticed this pattern before. What a fun style. Thanks for the review.
9/7/09 3:04 PM
BillieJean said...
I really like this on you. Super cute!!!
9/7/09 3:44 PM
MaryBeth said...
Hi Nikki, I hadn't noticed this jacket until your review. Your plaid would have driven me totally nuts!!! but I see you survived. Love the front closure on you tho
9/7/09 3:45 PM
feldmanTcat said...
This is great - I saw a vintage Spadea pattern in a lot on eBay that was a very similar design. Unfortunately I could not find the pattern number, and this Butterick is nearly the same style! It looks great and the review was helpful in the area of fabric selection.
9/7/09 4:16 PM
Tiner W said...
Cute jacket--loving the plaid!
9/7/09 4:38 PM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - great work Nikki - I love it - great review
9/7/09 10:22 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great jacket! I really like the asymmetrical front closure and the bias panels!
9/7/09 11:10 PM
Vivienne said...
Nice to see you again! The bias panels are stunning - and I'm in awe of the matching job you did on the back.
9/8/09 0:30 AM
Tahoe Sandy said...
Thanks for the review and excellent pics. Good tip regarding matching the plaid at the back center seam, I'll be sure to look for a suitable plaid fabric. i was worried that the pleats on the side may look a bit stiff as you describe, when purchasing the patter. I may just leave the pleats out when making the jacket or find a soft drapy fabric.
3/10/10 9:55 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for the good review.I won't be doing it in Plaid and appreciated your effort on the back detail. The lines actually do line up and that is more noticed than the center back seam so I think it looks smashing! I'll be doing it in an animal print with one of those clever fashion zippers if I can find it. I also think I'll just do a bit of the pleats to reduce the flair.
8/26/10 3:34 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, a great style. At work it would say 'I mean business, and I don't have to stop being a woman to do so." (hehe) Very impressive! Your thoughts on the fabric drape were a good reminder, thanks. I took a good look at the model in houndstooth on the Vogue site, you can see by the way it wrinkles that it's a much lighter fabric. I'd have missed that if not for your excellent review! Thanks.
3/27/12 9:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2007-102 Dress
photo
Review by carolineG on 7/30/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1882
photo
Review by CosmicCaro on 9/4/13
Read Review

Burda 8125 Pattern
Burda 8125 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6863 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us