SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5393 

1 more reviews
Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/09 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
Your jacket looks great. I never noticed this pattern before. What a fun style. Thanks for the review.
9/7/09 3:04 PM
BillieJean said...
I really like this on you. Super cute!!!
9/7/09 3:44 PM
MaryBeth said...
Hi Nikki, I hadn't noticed this jacket until your review. Your plaid would have driven me totally nuts!!! but I see you survived. Love the front closure on you tho
9/7/09 3:45 PM
feldmanTcat said...
This is great - I saw a vintage Spadea pattern in a lot on eBay that was a very similar design. Unfortunately I could not find the pattern number, and this Butterick is nearly the same style! It looks great and the review was helpful in the area of fabric selection.
9/7/09 4:16 PM
Tiner W said...
Cute jacket--loving the plaid!
9/7/09 4:38 PM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - great work Nikki - I love it - great review
9/7/09 10:22 PM
AnitaJ said...
Great jacket! I really like the asymmetrical front closure and the bias panels!
9/7/09 11:10 PM
Vivienne said...
Nice to see you again! The bias panels are stunning - and I'm in awe of the matching job you did on the back.
9/8/09 0:30 AM
Tahoe Sandy said...
Thanks for the review and excellent pics. Good tip regarding matching the plaid at the back center seam, I'll be sure to look for a suitable plaid fabric. i was worried that the pleats on the side may look a bit stiff as you describe, when purchasing the patter. I may just leave the pleats out when making the jacket or find a soft drapy fabric.
3/10/10 9:55 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks for the good review.I won't be doing it in Plaid and appreciated your effort on the back detail. The lines actually do line up and that is more noticed than the center back seam so I think it looks smashing! I'll be doing it in an animal print with one of those clever fashion zippers if I can find it. I also think I'll just do a bit of the pleats to reduce the flair.
8/26/10 3:34 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, a great style. At work it would say 'I mean business, and I don't have to stop being a woman to do so." (hehe) Very impressive! Your thoughts on the fabric drape were a good reminder, thanks. I took a good look at the model in houndstooth on the Vogue site, you can see by the way it wrinkles that it's a much lighter fabric. I'd have missed that if not for your excellent review! Thanks.
3/27/12 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 1945

photo
by: Zoomitron

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now