SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1127 times 
Reviewed by:PamJr
photo

 
 
About PamJrstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/8/02
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/04 6:54 PM
Last Updated:1/27/04 6:54 PM


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PamJr said...
Let us know how it works.
1/29/04 10:56 AM
retiredpagirl said...
Thanks, Pam. I think I will give it a try. Look forward to trying a new pattern company. :)
1/28/04 9:37 PM
Skymom said...
I agree with Pam. This jacket is quick and easy to sew up (but then why have I had one cut out and waiting to be sewn for nearly 9 mos? good question!). I had forgotten the issues she mentions about the somewhat vague marking, but I do recall spending more time than I had expected sorting that business out. However, now that you're forewarned, you shouldn't have any problems. I didn't do any ease stitching to set the sleeves--my fabric had a lot of give and eased nicely on its own. Once objection I have is that the jacket isn't meant to have interfacing at all, but then you might run into trouble when you do the buttons and buttonholes...and it's hard to mark their location to spot-interface until the jacket's assembled and ready to try on. So mine current version has no closures, and I wear it with a belt, which is a really good look, actually. BTW, I have narrow shoulders and even in a size smaller than I'd thought was right, I still needed to add small shoulder pads to support the shoulders. Nothing quarter-backish, just a little extra.
1/28/04 12:50 PM
PamJr said...
txgirl, I don't think it's too difficult. The jacket really goes together easily. It's just in a few spots where the pattern writer seems to think we can read her mind. It's such a nice jacket that I'd give it a try, if I were you. By reading the various reviews, you'll know what to watch out for. Go for it!
1/27/04 10:53 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Since I'm planning on tackling this jacket in the next couple of weeks, this review was very timely - thanks for the heads up advice.
1/27/04 9:51 PM
retiredpagirl said...
Love the jacket. :) Is this too difficult for an intermediate sewer like myself? I've just started sewing again after many years of "life", but find I still have a "knack" for it. Have never used this brand of pattern, but have read several favorable reviews. Would like to give it a try.
1/27/04 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5624

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review

Pattern

Maja's Heirlooms 230: Emily

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

More Info