Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5102 (Retro jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1125 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:PamJr
photo
About PamJrstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/8/02
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/04 6:54 PM
Last Updated:1/27/04 6:54 PM
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
retiredpagirl said...
Love the jacket. :) Is this too difficult for an intermediate sewer like myself? I've just started sewing again after many years of "life", but find I still have a "knack" for it. Have never used this brand of pattern, but have read several favorable reviews. Would like to give it a try.
1/27/04 9:18 PM
oldsewandsew said...
Since I'm planning on tackling this jacket in the next couple of weeks, this review was very timely - thanks for the heads up advice.
1/27/04 9:51 PM
PamJr said...
txgirl, I don't think it's too difficult. The jacket really goes together easily. It's just in a few spots where the pattern writer seems to think we can read her mind. It's such a nice jacket that I'd give it a try, if I were you. By reading the various reviews, you'll know what to watch out for. Go for it!
1/27/04 10:53 PM
Skymom said...
I agree with Pam. This jacket is quick and easy to sew up (but then why have I had one cut out and waiting to be sewn for nearly 9 mos? good question!). I had forgotten the issues she mentions about the somewhat vague marking, but I do recall spending more time than I had expected sorting that business out. However, now that you're forewarned, you shouldn't have any problems. I didn't do any ease stitching to set the sleeves--my fabric had a lot of give and eased nicely on its own. Once objection I have is that the jacket isn't meant to have interfacing at all, but then you might run into trouble when you do the buttons and buttonholes...and it's hard to mark their location to spot-interface until the jacket's assembled and ready to try on. So mine current version has no closures, and I wear it with a belt, which is a really good look, actually. BTW, I have narrow shoulders and even in a size smaller than I'd thought was right, I still needed to add small shoulder pads to support the shoulders. Nothing quarter-backish, just a little extra.
1/28/04 12:50 PM
retiredpagirl said...
Thanks, Pam. I think I will give it a try. Look forward to trying a new pattern company. :)
1/28/04 9:37 PM
PamJr said...
Let us know how it works.
1/29/04 10:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-102
photo
Review by Mikgirl on 1/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo 4 in 1 Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6007 Minna
photo
Review by Alisek on 1/12/08
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 2387 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1300 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us