SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5815 

12 more reviews
Viewed 1224 times 
Reviewed by:elainemay
photo

 
 
About elainemaystarstarstar
Member since: 2/4/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/09 6:22 PM
Last Updated:9/8/09 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
This is gorgeous!!! It fits you perfectly. Very chic!
9/7/09 6:28 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Cute! Cute!! Cute!!! Especially in size 4, eh!! VERY nice work!!
9/7/09 6:34 PM
semiscot said...
Fantastic, looks great!
9/7/09 6:34 PM
HLT said...
Very nice jacket! I love the finish of your collar. With the fabric, it looks very couture.
9/7/09 6:42 PM
LynnRowe said...
WOW. Elegant, tailored, fitted, fun...you've batted this one right outta the park!!!
9/7/09 6:55 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautifully made, and gorgeous on you! Thank you so much for pointing out the problems with the collar pattern pieces, as I have this pattern and will watch for that when I sew it up. Great review and pictures!
9/7/09 7:08 PM
yoshimi said...
Gorgeous jacket. It's very nice on you. Thanks for your great review, I have just put this in my wish list!
9/7/09 7:10 PM
Catbird said...
Wow - so pretty! You've done a beautiful job and have made a classic jacket with flair and style. It looks fantastic on you and I hope you enjoy wearing it for years to come!
9/7/09 7:15 PM
Morisot said...
Lovely!
9/7/09 7:31 PM
Beek said...
I love this style. I made a DKNY jacket pattern very similar to this one for my sister. It is a feminine take on a masculine look (jacket with lapel). Nice review, thanks!
9/7/09 7:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very smart and elegant, and suits your trim figure just perfectly. It gives you both stature and shape. And as always, beautifully sewn. Lovely, Lily
9/7/09 7:36 PM
Tiner W said...
Stunning!
9/7/09 7:54 PM
Erica B. said...
I love yours in pinstripe! It looks fabulous!
9/7/09 8:40 PM
Michelle L said...
Great work! I love it in the stripe. I have made this jacket, too, and you are right...the collar pieces do go together just like a puzzle!
9/7/09 8:59 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Fantastic Jacket. It looks wonderful on you. Great job!
9/7/09 9:15 PM
rebija said...
I saw this pattern the other day and wasn't too sure about it. You've definitely changed my mind! Beautiful job!
9/7/09 10:27 PM
erinw83 said...
Great Job! You have such a wonderful sense of style!
9/7/09 10:53 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, perfect fit and fabric choice for your jacket, I love it!
9/8/09 1:55 AM
lara900 said...
very cute jacket, and great review with lots of detailed information. I am building up strength and courage to sew my first jacket, and your jacket is very inspiring. (even if the pattern is too difficult for a beginner)
9/8/09 2:14 AM
BillieJean said...
Really beautiful. I like this without the pockets too.
9/8/09 6:01 AM
Amanda S. said...
Love it! I must admit, I've not been a huge fan of this jacket worn as a separate. It's always looked a bit gramma-ish to me. But as a suit it's completely chic! Especially in the pinstripe. I guess I should have looked at the Nanette website - that is how they have their's styled. Anyway, superb job on both pieces.
9/8/09 8:24 AM
valerie sews said...
Your jacket looks totally couture. It fits you beautifully and suits you perfectly. Wow.
9/8/09 8:52 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous jacket! I have this pattern and hope that when I get around to making it, it looks as good as yours!
9/8/09 8:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! You did a great job and it looks great on you.
9/8/09 10:05 AM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely jacket and great review.
9/8/09 11:21 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Yep, the pinstripes take it from dangerously twee Easter jacket to strikingly chic suit with a fantastic interplay of masculine and feminine. Love it!
9/8/09 11:33 AM
CynthiaSue said...
utterly adorable. work chic to going out fun with jeans!! love it.
9/8/09 1:48 PM
Christas said...
Wonderful jacket and wonderful review! I have this pattern. I sure I will come back to this review and use your helpful information. Thanks!
9/8/09 8:37 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fabulous and the fabric is delicious (I love brown). Well done. Omitting the pockets was a good idea.
9/9/09 6:27 AM
cdi9c said...
Fabulous with a capital F!
9/9/09 10:58 AM
lynnewill said...
Thank you for the well written review. Appreciate the detailed pattern correction, and the update. The pinstripe was an excellent choice.
10/8/09 10:05 AM
Nana2be said...
Beautiful work, Elaine! It fits you like a glove. I could see where the bow would blow up and maybe cause you an injury, lol.
12/4/09 8:17 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I am about to make this same jacket in a non-drapey fabric and was concerned about the pockets. Read your review and thought "Duh, Nancy! Just don't put them on!" :-) I think yours looks better without them, anyhow. I also appreciate the tip about tacking the bow down. We live in a windy city on the northern plains of Texas and I'm sure I'd get beat to death by the bow the first time out without it.
8/21/12 4:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Dawn Anderson Designs 201

photo
by: julieb

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Simplicity 2658

photo
by: katlew03

Review