SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3713 (Pajamas)

1 more reviews
Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:desertana
photo

 
 
About desertana
GERMANY
Member since: 4/9/08
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/09 10:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JEF said...
I love it! Personally, I think footie pajamas are the tops but DH is less enthusiastic. Maybe this will make him a convert!
9/8/09 9:13 AM
hazelnut said...
Thank you for your review - it was one I requested and your jammies turned out great, really cute! My DH has been wanting "jammies w/feet", as he calls them, for years now, but I have never seen them in RTW. I have a couple questions/concerns. I'm not exactly a "raw" beginner, but I am still pretty "rare" LOL. What difficulties did working with all the material present and were there any other difficulties, like the feet part? Could this be made into a two-piece? And for my biggest concern, you made an XL, but your DH looks way smaller than mine. What height and weight and circumference do you think would be the largest size that pattern would cover? Do you think it could be made with a stretchier fabric? Thanks again for doing the review - you should be proud of them! ps Is that a little baby's head in the backview pic? Sweet!
9/9/09 7:30 AM
desertana said...
Hazelnut, my hub is 6'1" and 38" at the waist (god I hope he never sees this lol) he typically wears a L in RTW but he complained that the last sleeper I made did not have enough sitting room in it for his comfort level. I figured I would rather err on the larger side this time. There is some flexibility with the back elastic band for larger tummies. The pattern says XXL up to 46", if you alter wider I think you will be forced to use 60" wide fabric due to the way the pattern is cut. Lengthening should be fairly easy especially if its mostly leg. There was also about 3" extra foot room. DO find grip-tite or something like that for the feet... or your husband will be sliding all over the kitchen floor. It's easy enough to sew, just use a heavy needle like a 14 or 16. You could make this two piece, by adding an elastic waist to the pants with a simple button up top... You're going to need to alter the pattern a bit though, as the facings extend to the crotch area, and the top is cut with ease meant for an elastic waist. Basically its possible, but a bit more than a cut though the middle of the pattern and go. I've made LOTS of infant and toddler's sleepers and I avoid knits with them now because they grow with wear and start to trip up the feet even with a bit of elastic at the ankles. If you have a sizable cutting area and sewing table you're probably golden. I wish I did, it just took a lot of extra time and a fair amount of reserve patience to cut it all (2 little ones underfoot "helped" a lot too...) Hope this helps, and thank you!
9/9/09 11:37 PM
hazelnut said...
Thank you for the extra info (and if it makes your hubby feel better if he sees this) mine is 6"3"+ and fluctuates between a 42-45" waist. Usually XLTall or sometimes XXLT in RTW. It might be hard to find flannel in 60" (or cost-prohibitive in the amount I would need if they did make it). I'll have to give this more thought, as my sewing skills are rusty and few, but I would love to surprise him for xmas. Sounds like it would be easier to sew feet on a 2-piece than do a conversion. I've never made jammies or sleepers. Grip-tite for the feet huh, there goes all the entertainment (just kidding)! Thanks again, your PJ's really turned out well!
9/11/09 7:59 PM
hazelnut said...
Sorry, double post...
9/11/09 8:17 PM
Eileennp said...
My 18 yo wants one of these, but he wants to have the back flap also, I guess that should be pretty easy to draft He is in college so I guess this may be the fashion on campus LOL my other twin would not be caught dead in one, where did you get the feety fabric? Eileen
10/13/09 9:42 PM
desertana said...
Eileen I used grip-tight that I found at Joann's. It wears very well in the washer and dryer.
11/7/09 3:57 PM
aliciavr6 said...
thanks, they look great! how long do you think they took you?
11/18/10 2:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6968

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now