Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5329 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 669 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:DreinPA
photo
Friend of PR
About DreinPAstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/09 8:09 AM
Last Updated:9/9/09 6:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Wow, I think this is just adorable. Would love to see it on you. I like the longer sleeve version. Your fabric is terrific and that lining adds a nice couture pop. Too bad you don't like the pattern because it really turned out quite beautifully.
9/9/09 8:25 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Sorry you don't like it so much because I absolutely love it. I may have to add this pattern to my stash. I especially love the sleeve ruffle and the collarl detail.
9/9/09 10:21 AM
sewbehind said...
Your jacket is lovely. I know what you mean about the 'not being a ruffles' and fuss gal. It IS a gorgeous jacket.
9/9/09 10:22 AM
Rhoda K said...
I agree on the ruffles and fuss, too, but your jacket is gorgeous. I love your fabric as well.
9/9/09 10:44 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
The fabric IS gorgeous. I saw this pattern and thought the same thing.. it is just outside my comfort zone. Your execution is beautiful, and I am sure you look great in it, too. I can't wait to see the pic of you in it.
9/9/09 12:41 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
I enjoyed reading about your jacket. I think it's quite cute; your fabric choices were great. I'm pretty sure you're going to love wearing it as soon as you've had a few days away from messing with it.
9/9/09 12:47 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I think it looks adorable~! I'd love to see a picture with you wearing it, and a couple other views (side, back). I know, jackets always seem to take so long. I have one I started in April, and got stopped on it when the hips were too narrow...argh. Guess I'm getting motivated to tackle it again, by your post
9/9/09 5:09 PM
Lori V said...
I think it is adorable too, and hope to see pictures of you wearing this jacket. I am with you on long projects.
9/9/09 5:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great jacket. It looks really expensive. I love the fabric and the funky lining.
9/9/09 7:54 PM
michalklimer said...
it os gorgeous!
9/10/09 0:02 AM
ryan's mom said...
I completely understand about not being a ruffle and fuss kind of gal, but this jacket sure looks great on you!
9/10/09 6:16 AM
becca a said...
This is a really cute jacket and I love your lining.
9/10/09 7:13 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Very nicely done! A good color and fit.
9/10/09 7:39 AM
Woolygal said...
This jacket is fantastic. The sleeve ruffle is perfect and the fit is wonderful. It looks like it would sell for hundreds. I love it.
9/10/09 7:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Mesmerizingly lovely jacket! Very nicely done!
9/10/09 9:16 AM
mending maven said...
All I can say is WOW!
9/10/09 10:29 AM
cmarie12 said...
Cute jacket but the fabric you used is AWESOME! It really makes the jacket special!
9/10/09 11:47 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
The fabric you chose for this jacket is lovely! You look fantastic in your jacket - it doesn't have too much ruffle or fuss! I hope that you'll wear your jacket often and get lots of compliments.
9/10/09 3:08 PM
calminatrix said...
LOVE YOUR JACKET!!! and patterns are SO like men in so many ways, so fun and full of promise when new, such a pain in the butt when just a few days old!!!(just kidding) you did a beautiful job and your lining is gorgeous! it looks fab on you!
9/10/09 3:21 PM
Jolet said...
I love the style, the color and the way you sewed it. Great result, you're to critical towards yourself!
9/10/09 4:13 PM
Sew Shy said...
Very cute jacket. I loooove the fun lining you chose.
9/11/09 0:48 AM
Nata said...
It's very pretty. You should enter it into the jacket contest.
9/11/09 11:05 PM
DreinPA said...
Woe is me I cannot as I started it in April...
9/12/09 8:02 AM
richsews said...
Hi from sunny South Africa - i have looked at this pattern often. you sew beautifully and i just love the lining/fabric combo. we really battle to buy such lovely stuff here. you have a good eye for what works together.
10/5/09 2:03 AM
Coastal Connie said...
I love that jacket on you! Gorgeous color, great lining. Thanks for talking about how long it took you, as I decided to NOT make it right now. Looks very sweet on you.
5/15/10 6:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us