SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 1204 (Travel Trio One)

11 more reviews
Viewed 971 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/09 3:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
drsue, it will be interesting to see other reviews of this pattern. On CJ's website, the mannequin who models the sample garments appears to be a lissome six-footer, and most things look good on her. We need real bodies of all sizes!
9/16/09 5:41 PM
diane s said...
It looks good on your dressform!
9/16/09 5:50 PM
Barbara3 said...
How fortunate to have 2 reviews of this new pattern yesterday and today! I was encouraged to see the review by GlobalMom because she had made a size small and was happy with the fit. The photo of your jacket is very attractive, but you might be right about the ease in CJ tops - particularly in small sizes. I really like her pattern styles and own most of them, but my less than generous endowment has also made getting her patterns to fit a challenge.
9/16/09 5:50 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I have been eyeing this pattern for a while now. I also have the same issues with CJ patterns, I thought it was just me as everyone else says they fit perfectly with no adjustments. I always have to fiddle with them to fit my small bust.
9/16/09 6:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
That does look like a lot of fabric to fill up in front. It is a lovely style though, and might look great on a tall person.
9/16/09 7:54 PM
Lady_Mame said...
It looks nice on the dummy, but I can see how it could be frump-i-fying. You did a beautiful job, regardless.
9/17/09 0:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a very helpful review, and your jacket does look fabulous on your form. I wouldn't want to try to alter it, since I don't have your talents in that area. But it makes me want to check out CJ's other patterns, since I am a D cup. Hope the top works better for you.
9/17/09 6:19 AM
carolynw said...
That's too bad that you aren't keen on it - looks nice on your "doll" but it is a lot of fabric at the front - think I will steer clear of this as I have no great bust line to speak of. Thanks for a helpful review
9/17/09 8:47 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review, Sue. I'm pretty sure this wouldn't work on me either.
9/17/09 9:04 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Wow, great review, drsue. I'm about your height and build and am not sure this long jacket would work for me either. Would you clarify about the asymmetry of the jacket--the right side of the jacket front being much lower than the left--is this because of your alterations or because of the pattern design? Thanks for this great review!
9/17/09 8:01 PM
Nata said...
I like it on your dressform. Sorry you don't like it on yourself. Maybe it'll grow on you. Thank you for reviewing it.
9/17/09 8:43 PM
valerie sews said...
I think this jacket looks beautiful and am sorry it doesn't work for you. Nevertheless thank you for a helpful review.
9/18/09 7:41 AM
mcphicks said...
I also tried this top. I am an F cup and it didn't work for me either. I was swamped with fabric. The length wasn't great on me either. Also the tie sewn into the side seam feels very high.
9/23/09 9:37 AM
lmg said...
Just saw this review. The pattern is lovely and it looks great on the dressform but I have the same figure issues as you. Sigh. It is so cute. How about the pants? I think the centre seam would be very useful.
9/23/09 2:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

New Look 6125

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-110

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now