Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 1204 (Travel Trio One) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 968 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/09 3:37 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
drsue, it will be interesting to see other reviews of this pattern. On CJ's website, the mannequin who models the sample garments appears to be a lissome six-footer, and most things look good on her. We need real bodies of all sizes!
9/16/09 5:41 PM
diane s said...
It looks good on your dressform!
9/16/09 5:50 PM
Barbara3 said...
How fortunate to have 2 reviews of this new pattern yesterday and today! I was encouraged to see the review by GlobalMom because she had made a size small and was happy with the fit. The photo of your jacket is very attractive, but you might be right about the ease in CJ tops - particularly in small sizes. I really like her pattern styles and own most of them, but my less than generous endowment has also made getting her patterns to fit a challenge.
9/16/09 5:50 PM
Ingiepops said...
Thanks for reviewing this, I have been eyeing this pattern for a while now. I also have the same issues with CJ patterns, I thought it was just me as everyone else says they fit perfectly with no adjustments. I always have to fiddle with them to fit my small bust.
9/16/09 6:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
That does look like a lot of fabric to fill up in front. It is a lovely style though, and might look great on a tall person.
9/16/09 7:54 PM
Lady_Mame said...
It looks nice on the dummy, but I can see how it could be frump-i-fying. You did a beautiful job, regardless.
9/17/09 0:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
This is a very helpful review, and your jacket does look fabulous on your form. I wouldn't want to try to alter it, since I don't have your talents in that area. But it makes me want to check out CJ's other patterns, since I am a D cup. Hope the top works better for you.
9/17/09 6:19 AM
carolynw said...
That's too bad that you aren't keen on it - looks nice on your "doll" but it is a lot of fabric at the front - think I will steer clear of this as I have no great bust line to speak of. Thanks for a helpful review
9/17/09 8:47 AM
cindyann said...
Thanks for the review, Sue. I'm pretty sure this wouldn't work on me either.
9/17/09 9:04 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Wow, great review, drsue. I'm about your height and build and am not sure this long jacket would work for me either. Would you clarify about the asymmetry of the jacket--the right side of the jacket front being much lower than the left--is this because of your alterations or because of the pattern design? Thanks for this great review!
9/17/09 8:01 PM
Nata said...
I like it on your dressform. Sorry you don't like it on yourself. Maybe it'll grow on you. Thank you for reviewing it.
9/17/09 8:43 PM
valerie sews said...
I think this jacket looks beautiful and am sorry it doesn't work for you. Nevertheless thank you for a helpful review.
9/18/09 7:41 AM
mcphicks said...
I also tried this top. I am an F cup and it didn't work for me either. I was swamped with fabric. The length wasn't great on me either. Also the tie sewn into the side seam feels very high.
9/23/09 9:37 AM
lmg said...
Just saw this review. The pattern is lovely and it looks great on the dressform but I have the same figure issues as you. Sigh. It is so cute. How about the pants? I think the centre seam would be very useful.
9/23/09 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 5433 shirts
photo
Review by OP Gal on 1/3/10
Read Review

Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8905 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7330 Pattern
Burda 7330 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6009 JJ Blouse
photo
Review by squirrelly... on 3/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us