SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1129 (Donna Karan)

11 more reviews
Viewed 883 times 
Reviewed by:Sweetiebop
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sweetiebopstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 1/31/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 3:34 PM
Last Updated:9/13/09 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
It's interesting that you mention this being a tailored coat, because that was my impression, too, when I first noticed the pattern. Of course, that's also what appeals to me. :o) I had NOT thought of the space it would take to cut the thing out, but I was having a few good giggles here imagining you in the process. :o)) I just bought McCall's 5987, which is NOT tailored like this one, but it DOES have a two-piece sleeve, which I like. I can well imagine I won't be giggling when I'm cutting THAT one out, now that you've given me the heads up. So is this one finished up? If not, I hope you'll go back to it and do so, becuase you've put too much time and effort in to stop now. (It's been a long time since I bought any fabric from trimfabrics. Maybe I need to check it out.) Great review!
9/13/09 2:43 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette it is 3:30am and we have special services at church today and I am up sewing, adding the finishing touches to this coat. I hope the minister doesn't think I'm winking at him while I'm trying to stay awake. LOL Detail pictures will be up tonight after services. BTW I closed every curtain in my house while I was cutting this thing out because I was seriously on the floor and would have died if anyone had seen me. That goes double for my Mom who would have been ROTFL.
9/13/09 3:25 AM
DebJ said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. I just bought and have been thinking about what fabric I would use. Can I ask what weight of wool did you use? The heads up about the space required to cut it out is great too. Thanks and I am looking forward to your pictures!
9/13/09 8:41 AM
becca a said...
Thanks for the heads up about the drape directions. This is a great review and I look forward to seeing your pictures.
9/13/09 8:45 AM
Annette1 said...
What are ya', some kind of sadist? I can't open your thumbnail! :o)) (Hey, at least you WENT to church today. I played hookie, as I'm wont to do when there's no choir. Choir starts next Sunday, though, so I'll be TRUDGING in there bleary-eyed and croaky-voiced anyway.)
9/13/09 3:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Okay, NOOOOOOOOOW I can see it, and it's SO worth the wait! This is a beautiful coat, and so stylish. WELL worth the extra effort of closing the curtains and rolling around on the floor to cut it out. :o) Bravo!
9/13/09 3:49 PM
EveS said...
Wow, what perseverance! It really paid off, tho, as it's a lovely coat! Incredibly helpful review...thank you!
9/13/09 4:04 PM
layla said...
Wow ...those instructions do look complicated but your perserverance did pay off ... I love the draping and it looks fantastic on you. I just bought this pattern thinking it would be easy ... need to get going ...maybe a recording of the Rocky theme song would help :) Thank for the great review and picture!
9/13/09 4:43 PM
ITAdmin said...
Oh Lordy, I've got this coming this week. I never have a lot of success with those draped things, but I never learn and keep trying. I bought this because I saw some expensive fabric I thought would be perfect for it. Guess I'd better make a trial one from a bedsheet or something. Thanks for such a helpful review. Yours looks good, so maybe all your trials were worth it. By the way, I think Vogue always give the DK patterns a rating below what they actually are. One they rated "Average" was the most difficult thing I've ever sewed. Ever.
9/13/09 5:44 PM
ladylola said...
Great coat! Well worth all your efforts.
9/13/09 9:15 PM
AnitaJ said...
Very nice coat! Thanks for the heads up on the confusing parts. :)
9/13/09 10:53 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful, beautiful coat. Thanks for the excellent review.
9/14/09 0:35 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you so much much for your comments and I hope that all who make this jacket have plenty of success.
9/14/09 7:22 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Thanks for "taking one for the team" and standing out in the heat for your photo! Really appreciate your review . . . I've got this one coming up soon on my "to do" list, and your comments will be invaluable! Your coat looks great, congratulations on hanging in there and finishing it!
9/14/09 8:42 AM
Peacock Chic said...
You did a great job!! Thank for the details as this has been on my list since it came out. I am a little intimidated but after seeing your lovely work, I will be gracing myself with the pattern at the next Vogue sale at Joann's! Thanks again it looks fantastic!
9/14/09 10:00 AM
MizLiz said...
Great review and you look like a million bucks in your coat. Enjoy it and thanks.
9/14/09 11:17 AM
WJean said...
Thank you so much for your posting about this coat, which I asked for. Wow. You have not frightened me off with your review, but it will make me think about it more before attempting to make it. I too thought maybe this was an Easy and quick pattern to make up. None-the-less, your garment is beautiful. The fabric is very, very nice. And, the coat looks really fabulous on you. Thanks again
9/14/09 3:18 PM
petro said...
Great garment you've made, I like your fabric choice. Thanks for such a detailed review, especially including a pic of some of the instructions to illustrate the point.
9/15/09 3:54 AM
SewingShadow said...
Thank you so much for your review. I ALWAYS pick patterns that say...EASY, (especially Vogue ones) only to find my hair pulled out and left in shreds around the house. :-) I could tell from the instructions, which I have read and re-read many times that this one was going to be something else...and that the BLURRRR over the cape was CLEAR. :-) I am only sewing the pockets at this point and taking my time, but I think I should check back regularly for any further tips the readers or you include. You did a great job of the review and the jacket!
9/16/09 1:47 AM
SewingShadow said...
Thank you so much for your review. I ALWAYS pick patterns that say...EASY, (especially Vogue ones) only to find my hair pulled out and left in shreds around the house. :-) I could tell from the instructions, which I have read and re-read many times that this one was going to be something else...and that the BLURRRR over the cape was CLEAR. :-) I am only sewing the pockets at this point and taking my time, but I think I should check back regularly for any further tips the readers or you include. You did a great job of the review and the jacket!
9/16/09 10:49 AM
Andreahg said...
What a beautiful coat!
9/17/09 7:16 AM
idesign said...
Great review, since you point out the good, and the difficulties. The jacket looks fabulous on you!
9/17/09 9:08 AM
Berniev said...
You look fantastic in this jacket. Beautiful. thanks for the great review.
9/17/09 10:12 AM
TessKwiltz said...
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I have had this on my wishlist and now I know what I'm getting into if I decide to try it anyway ;) I love your choice of fabric and it looks stunning on you!
9/17/09 10:40 AM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a very stylish coat and the fabric you picked is very fashionable. The combination in stunning.
9/17/09 10:54 AM
sewinggeek said...
Beautiful coat! Congratulations on a job well done!
9/17/09 11:36 AM
meesa said...
I like this look and it looks fab on you!
9/17/09 6:58 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you all for your comments. Love the PR family.
9/17/09 8:29 PM
stsimon said...
I have this pattern, too, and have been thinking about what fabric to use. I'm inclined toward something pretty soft so it drapes well and feels like a sweater. But I do think that the sleeves need to be lined to make it easier to put on and take off.
9/18/09 6:39 PM
Sheila457 said...
WoW! that is a fabulous coat and you look great. Love the hair... did you have it layered.
9/20/09 0:23 AM
michellep74 said...
This is gorgeous! I was out of town when you posted this, but I'm so glad that I caught it now. I have this pattern, too, and was a bit wary of the "easy" rating. Your hard work really paid off here!
10/2/09 11:47 AM
Margaret said...
That's a beautiful jacket! Thanks so much for your photo and very helpful review of this pattern -- it inspired me to make one of these too!
11/3/09 1:28 PM
hikeswiss said...
I LOVE the way your jacket looks. It never crossed my mind to select a check or houndstooth. The colors are just great on you. Great job!!
10/22/10 10:56 PM
loishendry said...
thank you for such a detailed reveie. I have just cut mine out and the fabric frays!!!! I will be overlocking it all and maybe looking for some lining as well. I know now to take it slowly and not to rush as I am prone to do. I will do the drape very slowly. For warned is forearmed or so they say!
4/27/13 7:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Other DL01

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review