Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1129 (Donna Karan) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 880 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Sweetiebop
photo
Friend of PR
About Sweetiebopstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 1/31/07
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 72
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 3:34 PM
Last Updated:9/13/09 3:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
It's interesting that you mention this being a tailored coat, because that was my impression, too, when I first noticed the pattern. Of course, that's also what appeals to me. :o) I had NOT thought of the space it would take to cut the thing out, but I was having a few good giggles here imagining you in the process. :o)) I just bought McCall's 5987, which is NOT tailored like this one, but it DOES have a two-piece sleeve, which I like. I can well imagine I won't be giggling when I'm cutting THAT one out, now that you've given me the heads up. So is this one finished up? If not, I hope you'll go back to it and do so, becuase you've put too much time and effort in to stop now. (It's been a long time since I bought any fabric from trimfabrics. Maybe I need to check it out.) Great review!
9/13/09 2:43 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Annette it is 3:30am and we have special services at church today and I am up sewing, adding the finishing touches to this coat. I hope the minister doesn't think I'm winking at him while I'm trying to stay awake. LOL Detail pictures will be up tonight after services. BTW I closed every curtain in my house while I was cutting this thing out because I was seriously on the floor and would have died if anyone had seen me. That goes double for my Mom who would have been ROTFL.
9/13/09 3:25 AM
DebJ said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this pattern. I just bought and have been thinking about what fabric I would use. Can I ask what weight of wool did you use? The heads up about the space required to cut it out is great too. Thanks and I am looking forward to your pictures!
9/13/09 8:41 AM
becca a said...
Thanks for the heads up about the drape directions. This is a great review and I look forward to seeing your pictures.
9/13/09 8:45 AM
Annette1 said...
What are ya', some kind of sadist? I can't open your thumbnail! :o)) (Hey, at least you WENT to church today. I played hookie, as I'm wont to do when there's no choir. Choir starts next Sunday, though, so I'll be TRUDGING in there bleary-eyed and croaky-voiced anyway.)
9/13/09 3:41 PM
Annette1 said...
Okay, NOOOOOOOOOW I can see it, and it's SO worth the wait! This is a beautiful coat, and so stylish. WELL worth the extra effort of closing the curtains and rolling around on the floor to cut it out. :o) Bravo!
9/13/09 3:49 PM
EveS said...
Wow, what perseverance! It really paid off, tho, as it's a lovely coat! Incredibly helpful review...thank you!
9/13/09 4:04 PM
layla said...
Wow ...those instructions do look complicated but your perserverance did pay off ... I love the draping and it looks fantastic on you. I just bought this pattern thinking it would be easy ... need to get going ...maybe a recording of the Rocky theme song would help :) Thank for the great review and picture!
9/13/09 4:43 PM
ITAdmin said...
Oh Lordy, I've got this coming this week. I never have a lot of success with those draped things, but I never learn and keep trying. I bought this because I saw some expensive fabric I thought would be perfect for it. Guess I'd better make a trial one from a bedsheet or something. Thanks for such a helpful review. Yours looks good, so maybe all your trials were worth it. By the way, I think Vogue always give the DK patterns a rating below what they actually are. One they rated "Average" was the most difficult thing I've ever sewed. Ever.
9/13/09 5:44 PM
ladylola said...
Great coat! Well worth all your efforts.
9/13/09 9:15 PM
AnitaJ said...
Very nice coat! Thanks for the heads up on the confusing parts. :)
9/13/09 10:53 PM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful, beautiful coat. Thanks for the excellent review.
9/14/09 0:35 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you so much much for your comments and I hope that all who make this jacket have plenty of success.
9/14/09 7:22 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Thanks for "taking one for the team" and standing out in the heat for your photo! Really appreciate your review . . . I've got this one coming up soon on my "to do" list, and your comments will be invaluable! Your coat looks great, congratulations on hanging in there and finishing it!
9/14/09 8:42 AM
Peacock Chic said...
You did a great job!! Thank for the details as this has been on my list since it came out. I am a little intimidated but after seeing your lovely work, I will be gracing myself with the pattern at the next Vogue sale at Joann's! Thanks again it looks fantastic!
9/14/09 10:00 AM
MizLiz said...
Great review and you look like a million bucks in your coat. Enjoy it and thanks.
9/14/09 11:17 AM
WJean said...
Thank you so much for your posting about this coat, which I asked for. Wow. You have not frightened me off with your review, but it will make me think about it more before attempting to make it. I too thought maybe this was an Easy and quick pattern to make up. None-the-less, your garment is beautiful. The fabric is very, very nice. And, the coat looks really fabulous on you. Thanks again
9/14/09 3:18 PM
petro said...
Great garment you've made, I like your fabric choice. Thanks for such a detailed review, especially including a pic of some of the instructions to illustrate the point.
9/15/09 3:54 AM
SewingShadow said...
Thank you so much for your review. I ALWAYS pick patterns that say...EASY, (especially Vogue ones) only to find my hair pulled out and left in shreds around the house. :-) I could tell from the instructions, which I have read and re-read many times that this one was going to be something else...and that the BLURRRR over the cape was CLEAR. :-) I am only sewing the pockets at this point and taking my time, but I think I should check back regularly for any further tips the readers or you include. You did a great job of the review and the jacket!
9/16/09 1:47 AM
SewingShadow said...
Thank you so much for your review. I ALWAYS pick patterns that say...EASY, (especially Vogue ones) only to find my hair pulled out and left in shreds around the house. :-) I could tell from the instructions, which I have read and re-read many times that this one was going to be something else...and that the BLURRRR over the cape was CLEAR. :-) I am only sewing the pockets at this point and taking my time, but I think I should check back regularly for any further tips the readers or you include. You did a great job of the review and the jacket!
9/16/09 10:49 AM
Andreahg said...
What a beautiful coat!
9/17/09 7:16 AM
idesign said...
Great review, since you point out the good, and the difficulties. The jacket looks fabulous on you!
9/17/09 9:08 AM
Berniev said...
You look fantastic in this jacket. Beautiful. thanks for the great review.
9/17/09 10:12 AM
TessKwiltz said...
Thank you so much for the detailed review! I have had this on my wishlist and now I know what I'm getting into if I decide to try it anyway ;) I love your choice of fabric and it looks stunning on you!
9/17/09 10:40 AM
Sherril Miller said...
That's a very stylish coat and the fabric you picked is very fashionable. The combination in stunning.
9/17/09 10:54 AM
sewinggeek said...
Beautiful coat! Congratulations on a job well done!
9/17/09 11:36 AM
meesa said...
I like this look and it looks fab on you!
9/17/09 6:58 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Thank you all for your comments. Love the PR family.
9/17/09 8:29 PM
stsimon said...
I have this pattern, too, and have been thinking about what fabric to use. I'm inclined toward something pretty soft so it drapes well and feels like a sweater. But I do think that the sleeves need to be lined to make it easier to put on and take off.
9/18/09 6:39 PM
Sheila457 said...
WoW! that is a fabulous coat and you look great. Love the hair... did you have it layered.
9/20/09 0:23 AM
michellep74 said...
This is gorgeous! I was out of town when you posted this, but I'm so glad that I caught it now. I have this pattern, too, and was a bit wary of the "easy" rating. Your hard work really paid off here!
10/2/09 11:47 AM
Margaret said...
That's a beautiful jacket! Thanks so much for your photo and very helpful review of this pattern -- it inspired me to make one of these too!
11/3/09 1:28 PM
hikeswiss said...
I LOVE the way your jacket looks. It never crossed my mind to select a check or houndstooth. The colors are just great on you. Great job!!
10/22/10 10:56 PM
loishendry said...
thank you for such a detailed reveie. I have just cut mine out and the fabric frays!!!! I will be overlocking it all and maybe looking for some lining as well. I know now to take it slowly and not to rush as I am prone to do. I will do the drape very slowly. For warned is forearmed or so they say!
4/27/13 7:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Abacadabra Fashionetta Quilt
photo
Review by AnneMarie6... on 4/15/12
Read Review

Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8766 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6643 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 9549
photo
Review by mymehigan on 7/24/08
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern
SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us