SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-124 (Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 635 times 
Reviewed by:Vivienne
photo

 
 
About Viviennestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 6/29/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/09 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/20/09 8:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vivienne said...
Digs57 - I had originally intended to make this up in doubleknit before the wool stole my heart. I think a nice "Ponte" or Sophia type knit would be very suitable.
9/20/09 11:14 PM
digs57 said...
Great review, thanks! I love this dress' tech drawing in principle but I also fret about the slightly weird across-the-bust dart placement.... and the high funnel neck... and now you mention the overly wide shoulder "wings". And it clearly needs a CB vent. All in all, a bit of tweaking, eh? Do you think it would work in a very stable knit, like a doubleknit?
9/20/09 9:34 PM
aimeejessica said...
thanks for doing this review, i think i'll follow your lead on the interfacing. the dress looks gorgeous on the blog!
9/18/09 11:37 AM
wzrdreams said...
Thanks for the review! I've got this traced... I need to make a muslin to check the fit. I haven't picked fabric yet though.
9/14/09 2:41 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Thanks for the review, I was just thinking about making this one - and in gray! Love the pink lining!!
9/13/09 1:07 PM
JennyAnne said...
If you click the photo (or go to her blog), you can see the dress on a dressform. It looks great! This is the first patter I traced from the August issue, but I still haven't made it up. Your version is beautiful.
9/13/09 9:04 AM
Kim12469 said...
Very nice! I've had a muslin in process for awhile but put it on the back burner for the wardrobe contest. I really love your version and thanks for the great review.
9/13/09 8:58 AM
cabinbaby said...
Do we get to see a photo? I really liked this dress. All I can see right now is the line drawing.
9/13/09 1:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1300

photo
by: Westy85

Review
Simplicity 2512

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info