SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5525 (Lined Jacket Contest 2009)

62 more reviews
Viewed 1864 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:9/29/09 5:09 PM
Last Updated:9/30/09 7:23 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
quixoticpixels said...
Wow! Your daughter is lucky! I wish someone would sew such a fantastic coat for me :)
9/17/09 12:51 PM
waltzqueen said...
I can't wait to see the final coat! Thank you for all the hints and recommendations.
9/17/09 2:54 PM
nancy2001 said...
This is a great looking pattern, and you've made a wonderful start. I can't wait to see it when it's done.
9/18/09 9:55 AM
sew obsessed said...
Looks beautiful! I can't wait to see the finished coat.
9/23/09 6:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is coming along nicely.
9/24/09 7:13 PM
sew obsessed said...
Cool new picture:-) Coat is coming along well.
9/26/09 10:02 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks haha - I really need to get it DONE! What 4 days left now or something? Goodness!
9/26/09 11:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
So far, wow, Terri! Keep us posted!
9/27/09 10:14 AM
nancy2001 said...
This looks great.
9/29/09 6:10 AM
laranoelle said...
Wow! Great job. I love this coat!!!
9/29/09 6:05 PM
Athene said...
This is such a great coat and I love the backdrop for all the outdoor pictures. Your daughter is very lucky.
9/29/09 6:06 PM
Lili123 said...
very nice coat, it looks great on your daughter.
9/29/09 9:07 PM
ladylola said...
Love the coat! And the pictures!
9/29/09 9:59 PM
Nancy K said...
Great coat! Love your photos too.
9/29/09 10:22 PM
loti said...
Great coat, there's a lot of work in that topstitching and lining. And DD wears it well!
9/29/09 11:27 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic coat and what fun pictures.
9/29/09 11:31 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks I appreciate the supportive comments and - yeah- I just had to do the photo shoot:-) heehee it was fun:-) I think she will always remember it. Maybe someday she will sew and remember these times and about me making her stuff. I sure hope so.
9/30/09 2:16 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Beautiful coat and wonderful workmanship. Your daughter is so lucky to have this fantastic coat. Love the photo shoot, I bet it was loads of fun to do.
9/30/09 3:41 AM
Clareew said...
Absolutely wonderful. What a lucky girl.
9/30/09 3:42 AM
Heatherrique said...
Amazingly beautiful coat! I adore the action pics and thank you so much for your construction details. You are truly an inspiration!
9/30/09 3:51 AM
Sic said...
Wow! Gorgeous coat! All of your detail work really shows through in the final product. Also, your photos kind of look like they are from a BWOF magazine - nice work!
9/30/09 8:34 AM
Kellie R. said...
Fabulous coat! I have this pattern and appreciate your informative review and heads up about the yoke piece error.
9/30/09 10:09 AM
Terri A said...
Thank you. I am so surprised about all the comments! Thanks so much. Just as a side note, the error on the yoke was first mentioned by Erica B in her review of this pattern (I think) I added a link to her review above. That is what's so great about PR is I can find out what other people have noticed about the pattern before I even begin. Love it!
9/30/09 10:35 AM
MaryDB said...
Really wonderful job on the coat - looks great! Nice setting for photos at the Museum of Glass, too.
9/30/09 10:48 AM
Terri A said...
Yes, it is the museum of glass. In one of the pictures the fountain sprayed water on my daughter suddenly:-) She really did jump! Haha!
9/30/09 11:13 AM
senaSews said...
Awesome coat and what a fun pictures!
9/30/09 11:15 AM
TanyaMT said...
What a gorgeous coat, and wonderful review! She looks fabulous in it, and very happy with it.
9/30/09 11:30 AM
stretch queen said...
Wow not only is this a fantastically detailed review, the photos rock!!!! The coat is beautiful and you should be really proud. Time to give yourself the advance designation :)
9/30/09 2:33 PM
bitofagypsy said...
The coat look fantastic. I would love to see it on a dress form close up, it looks like there are a lot of details that don't show up in the photo's
9/30/09 6:59 PM
Terri A said...
I thought I had a close-up posted.. I will add one thanks:-)
9/30/09 7:05 PM
quathy said...
Great coat! I adore this photo - it reminds me of the burda models!
9/30/09 7:05 PM
Byrdie said...
OMG- she looks fabulous! You did a great job at the construction!
9/30/09 7:41 PM
Raye Ann said...
how fantastic! i love this coat! and trust me- your daughter will remember everything that you have sewn for her. i remember all of the times when my mom and i designed stuff together and she sewed for me.... many formal dresses and lots of other stuff, too. now i sew, too, and we share the passion even though she no longer sews clothing. trust me... she will remember and appreciate. they are sweet mommy/daughter memories.
9/30/09 11:26 PM
sew obsessed said...
Just great! Love the end results you did a wonderful job. Thanks for all the constuction details.
9/30/09 11:58 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely lovely - lucky daughter!! Beautiful photos and a very helpful review
10/1/09 10:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! Great coat and I know your daughter will enjoy it for many years to come.
10/1/09 1:36 PM
Sheila457 said...
Annnnd the award goes to you... you did a phenomenal job... loooove the coat and the pictures a great.
10/1/09 7:40 PM
AnneM said...
Your review is worth reading just for your pictures!!! Very cute. Congrats on the coat; looks great. (Hate to break it to you, but some buttons are even more expensive than those.)
10/3/09 10:44 AM
Deepika said...
wow, how did I miss this before? Gorgeous coat and I love your photo shoot!!!!!
10/13/09 12:21 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks Deepika!!! It was fun.
10/13/09 10:01 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Outstanding detailed review. And the main pix was a show stopper. Hugs from a new transplant to the Pacific NW
10/20/09 5:53 PM
BMH said...
I'm just getting around to making this, and your review is worthy it's weight in gold. The coat turned out beautifully, and the photos are such fun. I hope your daughter is still enjoying her beautiful coat.
4/8/11 9:20 PM
MrsCharisma said...
WOW! Amazing. Absolutely amazing coat!
1/20/14 11:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Butterick 5504

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
Other Patterns by Gertie

photo
by: Bex81

Review