SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1660 OOP '60s Dress (Galitzine of Italy Dress)

Viewed 243 times 
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo

 
 
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/09 1:43 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
feldmanTcat said...
This is lovely. I only sew with vintage patterns but I have not tried any of the Vogue designers yet. Thanks for posting this. I usually have to draft my patterns down as well, and even after adding tucks to the bodice pieces I still need to do more alterations. Gorgeous Dress! I love the under arm gussets and the lines of the seams.
9/16/09 5:52 AM
SpinningJenny said...
This design is stunning! Love that it is so simple and so elegant. Thanks for the great review and the Buttonmania tip.
9/16/09 6:51 AM
meli88a said...
This is seriously cute. Those dresses from the 50s and 60s are classic!
9/16/09 9:31 AM
Sew tell me said...
This is a lovely dress. Great job!
9/17/09 6:11 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Love it, love it, love it! It's interesting how some of these 60s styles look so simple (in a tres chic way, of course), yet are actually complex in construction.
9/17/09 7:07 AM
calminatrix said...
i absolutely LOVE your dress and must tell you that i tried a reproduction retro pattern from vogue that had underarm gussets. what a struggle i had with them and then i DID go ahead and try to line the darned thing! What a mess. you did a much abetter job than i, i must admit. LOVE THE STYLE, COLOR, FABRIC, BUTTONS, everything... really great dress! BRAVA!
9/17/09 9:31 AM
fryman said...
Nice job! I encourage you to make another especially since you revamped the pattern for your measurements. Great lines!
9/17/09 10:35 PM
Dove P. said...
I made this dress for my mother back when it first came out. I used a silk shantung in the color shown on the pattern. It did have the sheen that you'd like to have. Now I'm thinking of making it for myself but extending the sleeves to elbow length. I have a size 14 and will have to expand it to a size 16, I think. I'll make a muslin first to see if it's going to work. It's hard to find a good-looking dress these days. This will be a "little black dress" but I hope to do it in a midnight blue.
10/27/09 0:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-144

photo
by: chebre

Review
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Contest 509-1020

photo
by: twotoast

Review