SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1660 OOP '60s Dress (Galitzine of Italy Dress)

Viewed 246 times 
Reviewed by:hilaryr
photo

 
 
About hilaryrstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/09 1:43 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dove P. said...
I made this dress for my mother back when it first came out. I used a silk shantung in the color shown on the pattern. It did have the sheen that you'd like to have. Now I'm thinking of making it for myself but extending the sleeves to elbow length. I have a size 14 and will have to expand it to a size 16, I think. I'll make a muslin first to see if it's going to work. It's hard to find a good-looking dress these days. This will be a "little black dress" but I hope to do it in a midnight blue.
10/27/09 0:11 AM
fryman said...
Nice job! I encourage you to make another especially since you revamped the pattern for your measurements. Great lines!
9/17/09 10:35 PM
calminatrix said...
i absolutely LOVE your dress and must tell you that i tried a reproduction retro pattern from vogue that had underarm gussets. what a struggle i had with them and then i DID go ahead and try to line the darned thing! What a mess. you did a much abetter job than i, i must admit. LOVE THE STYLE, COLOR, FABRIC, BUTTONS, everything... really great dress! BRAVA!
9/17/09 9:31 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Love it, love it, love it! It's interesting how some of these 60s styles look so simple (in a tres chic way, of course), yet are actually complex in construction.
9/17/09 7:07 AM
Sew tell me said...
This is a lovely dress. Great job!
9/17/09 6:11 AM
meli88a said...
This is seriously cute. Those dresses from the 50s and 60s are classic!
9/16/09 9:31 AM
SpinningJenny said...
This design is stunning! Love that it is so simple and so elegant. Thanks for the great review and the Buttonmania tip.
9/16/09 6:51 AM
feldmanTcat said...
This is lovely. I only sew with vintage patterns but I have not tried any of the Vogue designers yet. Thanks for posting this. I usually have to draft my patterns down as well, and even after adding tucks to the bodice pieces I still need to do more alterations. Gorgeous Dress! I love the under arm gussets and the lines of the seams.
9/16/09 5:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 4607

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review