Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5201 (Sweater Set) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 840 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/09 1:31 AM
Last Updated:9/19/09 7:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
Pretty fabric-I look forward to seeing it complete. Do you have buttonholes left to do?
9/17/09 9:26 AM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, the neck band, front facing, button holes and buttons still to go.
9/17/09 10:30 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
Is your fabric black on a white or gray background? (that's what my monitor shows but I'm never sure anymore because I think it's ready to go to cyber heaven!) I bought the same fabric from Sawyer Brook but mine in brown with a caramel or light tan background. I also made a sweater although mine is more of a sweater/jacket. I used Nancy Erickson's 1945C and put small snaps on the front. Your's is absolutely beautiful and I'm looking forward to seeing the sweater completed. Great job!
9/18/09 2:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for your compliments, Tricia. The colours of my fabric are as you describe; my photo does not do them justice. If you bought your fabric as much as 3 years ago it probably is the same.
9/18/09 3:19 AM
Woolygal said...
Looking good, so far.
9/18/09 7:45 AM
grey ann said...
Can you tell us how the center fronts and neckline are finished? Thanks
9/18/09 4:43 PM
Mufffet said...
Looks like a great start. :) WOW..that fabric!
9/18/09 5:51 PM
Renren said...
Aww, you are off to a great start. Love the fabric, too, and once for me I did the same thing: tried to save as a draft but it came out as a review. Plus there were no pictures and NO ONE commented!!! Not one comment because there was nothing to say. I just buried my head in the sand until it scrolled off the first page of the List. But this is already beautiful and it is going to be even more beautiful--I totally trust where you are going with this. Also, bum-freezer is a new term for me but I immediately get what it means! I know you will go into even more detail once you are finished . . . and I'll probably just have to comment again!
9/19/09 5:32 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for all those encouraging comments. Sorry it's taken me so long to finish. Getting the front facings right was more difficult than expected so I've reworked the review extensively to discuss them, as requested. (A bum-freezer is a very short jacket, too short to keep your posterior warm. I've learned new words from PR, too.)
9/19/09 6:08 AM
lizpalmer said...
Fabulous - a great job, and wonderful fabric.
9/19/09 8:19 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love it!!!
9/19/09 8:42 PM
Renren said...
(lol) Well, I thought bum-freezer originated in Australia, and I thought it odd because I dont' think of Australians as dealing with extremely cold temps. So glad to be set straight on that! Lovely cardigan, but based on your review, I'm sure I won't make it. I don't like shoulder pads and I don't like fussy facings and too much fiddling around to get things right. Yet I'm glad you reviewed it and hope you enjoy wearing it this fall and winter, and many more to come!
9/19/09 10:23 PM
Athene said...
This a a very pretty cardigan. I love the leopard print. Thank you for the great close up photos of the facing. Very helpful.
9/19/09 10:43 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Your fabric is totally wild! What an original cardie - I love it!
9/20/09 0:45 AM
Kayseri said...
This looks great.
9/20/09 5:54 AM
carolynw said...
I have never been too keen on this pattern until now when I see your beautiful top - I am in love with it so may just have to get the pattern !!
9/20/09 5:15 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Excellent review - thank for taking the time to add the details. Someday I will make this pattern up - I'm just aging it at the moment.
9/21/09 11:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us