Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3673 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 628 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:hmw38
photo
About hmw38
Member since: 4/5/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/09 8:32 AM
Last Updated:10/9/09 2:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jewelia14 said...
The fabric you chose and the full skirt make this dress look so light and airy! It looks to me like you managed to achieve a really nice fit around the waist.
10/9/09 3:26 PM
smoody said...
I think it looks great!
10/9/09 4:52 PM
digs57 said...
Those are very useful tips - pin all those darts & measure the fit before size selection! That said, you look adorable in your new dress, and it looks like THE perfect summer frock.
10/9/09 5:20 PM
hmw38 said...
A tip I just got from the nice ladies over at Sew Retro was to add a crinoline. Look what a difference it makes in this dress http://sewretro.blogspot.com/2007/10/update-my-petticoat-arrived.html
10/9/09 5:38 PM
Aixoise said...
Looks to me as if you got the fit just right. In any case, you look adorable in your dress. Enjoy it!
10/9/09 8:39 PM
Christas said...
This looks wonderful on you! You did a very nice job. I have made this as a jumper a while back and really loved the vintage style.
10/9/09 10:27 PM
eugenia123 said...
This is a really pretty dress and I love that vintage style. By the way - I have found that my starting point with any pattern from the Big 4 is always at least one size down from the one that the envelope tells me I should use!
10/10/09 12:44 PM
Mufffet said...
Didn't notice the "extra fabric" until you mentioned it! Really cute and nice fabric!
10/10/09 2:35 PM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress! Like eugenia123, I generally start one size down from the measurements for the big 4 companies. Vogue and Butterick mark the bust point, waist line, and hip with the finished measurements right on the pattern piece and I choose my size from that information. Good luck with future fitting.
10/10/09 7:54 PM
kathleencramer said...
Nice job! Love the details on this pattern. Your finished product looks great in your photos.
10/12/09 8:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118 Blouses
photo
Review by dingyadi on 12/28/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used A Twinset Tweaks
photo
Review by Georgene on 8/20/05
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us