SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-117 (Flounce collar blouse)

14 more reviews
Viewed 932 times 
Reviewed by:chicaem29
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chicaem29star
NY USA
Member since: 3/4/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/09 10:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JuneHawk said...
It looks great! This one is on my to-sew list.
9/18/09 10:45 PM
racehorse said...
That is awesome! I also plan to make this one. Great job!
9/18/09 10:48 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love your top. That flowy material with that color is fantastic!
9/18/09 10:48 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great review. You blouse is lovley! I have made this top too but lined with a seperate fabric - good idea to use same fabric for lining.
9/18/09 11:05 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
Thank you, thank you, thank you for the review. I've been wanting a ruffle-front blouse since a spy-shopping trip to Anthropologie a month ago, and I've kept looking and looking at this pattern and thinking, "But no, I'd never wear it." Your version gives a much better idea of what a "real life" version would look like. (I'm also planning on dark purple.) I'm going for it!
9/19/09 0:03 AM
Sewlovelier said...
Great review. Thanks for the tips. Love your top. I definitely plan on making this one.
9/19/09 0:25 AM
alviana said...
cute top! i like ur choice of color compare to in the mag :)
9/19/09 1:48 AM
peaudane said...
Lovely top! It looks great on you and purple is my favorite colour.
9/19/09 2:42 AM
Sharonspils said...
Great blouse and detailed review, thank you. I also love the colour.
9/19/09 3:08 AM
lara900 said...
thank you for this review. It looks really nice! I just ordered a silk chiffon and plan to make the flounce blouse from BWOF 7/09 -- the sleeveless shirt plus drawstring plus flounce. Your review is really helpful re: working with the chiffon (spraystarch! -- I would have forgot that), and also for the alternative edge finish for the flounce. I guess I will be testing both looks on scrap fabric before committing to one.
9/19/09 4:15 AM
nellc said...
Really lovely top!
9/19/09 5:36 AM
BillieJean said...
A really pretty blouse and extremely thorough review! Thanks so much for both.
9/19/09 5:54 AM
trinicity said...
beautiful, I love the color, great top
9/19/09 6:20 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful! Love the color.
9/19/09 7:26 AM
thirteenstitches said...
P.S. May I ask if you used a regular glue stick as in artsy/school projects? A new tip for me. Also no problems with the heavy duty coats of spray starch and glue washing out of such delicate fabrics? Thanks 13-----'s
9/19/09 7:32 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great top and very helpful review, thank you so much!
9/19/09 8:35 AM
becca a said...
Great review and great top!
9/19/09 8:58 AM
Lisa p said...
This top looks better than RTW you would never guess this was homemade . I love everything about it . Your review is very helpful I love all the tips .
9/19/09 9:27 AM
Rebecca D said...
Beautiful top and very helpful review.
9/19/09 9:48 AM
chicaem29 said...
Thirteen - I used a glue stick meant for fabrics, which washes out. I'm not sure how different it actually is from a regular craft glue stick, but the one I have doesn't gum up my needle or give me any problems when pressing. It's also temporary so you can pull apart the layers later. I used two applications of the starch and it came out with a good handwashing. The starch is most helpful when you're cutting.
9/19/09 10:51 AM
jkaori said...
Beautiful top and helpful review. Thank you!
9/19/09 11:03 AM
MsMaryO said...
Wow! Great top. It would work really nice under a jacket. The fabric does not look at all sheer in your pics. On fabric.com it looks more sheer. I didn't buy it for that reason. Did you also use 2 layers for the flounce?
9/19/09 1:21 PM
N_Vogue said...
Great review. Your top is so gorgeous and I love the color. Thanks for sharing.
9/19/09 1:33 PM
Leora said...
Beautiful job!
9/19/09 4:02 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful
9/19/09 4:35 PM
Kellie R. said...
This is lovely - the fabric is perfect to show off the elegance of this pretty style. Great job.
9/19/09 6:54 PM
Lizz said...
Super job! Thanks for the great tips and thorough review. I also will have to grade up a size but will check carefully to see how much. Also, thanks for reminding me about the straight stitch plate - something it is easy to forget!
9/19/09 8:49 PM
Elke said...
Lovely blouse and pretty fabric choice
9/19/09 10:09 PM
chicaem29 said...
MsMaryO - I only used one layer of fabric for the flounce. The fabric is really sheer so I was pleasantly surprised when I realized two layers of it weren't see-through at all, and that I could use self fabric instead of a lining.
9/19/09 11:02 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really nice looking blouse!
9/19/09 11:34 PM
Anniinbc said...
The blouse looks great. Thanks for the tips.
9/20/09 10:51 AM
MissCelie said...
Pretty phenomenal! The flounce is perfect and the color is gorgeous!
9/21/09 4:11 PM
kidmd said...
Gorgeous! I can't wait to make this one!
9/26/09 9:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5057

photo
by: RadarRadia...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now