Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2449 (trench coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 595 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/09 1:24 AM
Last Updated:9/18/09 1:46 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Darlene2001 said...
Beautiful job.
9/18/09 1:48 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wonderful, wonderful coat. I too have made this pattern and as a small boned person can confirm its excellent proportions. I would agree its time consuming, with lots of pieces, but so worth it and I am sure you will get many years of wear from it. Thanks for all the very useful tips too. A very, very helpful review.
9/18/09 3:09 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart; well done. I've always loved Burberrys but have never considered making my own; maybe I should.
9/18/09 3:26 AM
Kayseri said...
What a fabulous coat. It's beautifully made and the shape looks great on you.
9/18/09 5:15 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Fabulous.
9/18/09 6:58 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Great trench coat.
9/18/09 7:13 AM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful trench coat that will last and give you many years of enjoyment. It looks great on you too.
9/18/09 7:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
You created a superbly made and stylish coat, Val. All your hard work paid off! Enjoy the lovely results.
9/18/09 8:45 AM
RLL said...
Great coat! Your sewing talent is shinning through on this one.
9/18/09 12:33 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice!
9/18/09 3:20 PM
moushka said...
A wonderful, classic coat that will give you many years of wearing pleasure! You did an outstanding job, it looks totally professional. Thanks for a great review.
9/18/09 6:37 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat!
9/18/09 6:41 PM
angiec125 said...
This is a lovely coat!
9/18/09 7:25 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a fabulous coat, Val!
9/18/09 8:24 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you everyone. I greatly appreciate all your comments. I think this coat is as much a product of all I've absorbed from all of you on PR in the last 5 years, as it is from the decades of sewing that went before it.
9/19/09 4:58 AM
grey ann said...
The proportions of this style work well for you. Good choice, as I could see that a coat with different styling could overwhelm, and lots of them do! Looks terrific.
9/19/09 9:27 AM
Kellie R. said...
I love trench coats - yours is fabulous and you look so stylish in it!
9/19/09 6:59 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat! Your hard work paid off.
9/20/09 11:54 AM
Livertrans said...
Thank you for the tip on the lining flap. I started a trench coat last year. I am no seamstress but consider myself an experienced sewer. When I got to the part about cutting the lining flap, etc. I put the pattern away for a while. The weather got nice(summer) and I left it there. I have be nervous about going back to it because of this part. It took me a while to figure out how the collar went in. The directions did not make sense to me. It was not the Vogue pattern but a Butterick. I send an emial to the company for help with that. Now that the weather is cool again, when my husband hits the road again( salesman to the western Canada Oil refineries) I will start working on it again. I find when he is home and he comes home for lunch I don't have enough time to just concentrate on my sewing. No interruptions when he is away. I want to get is finished for use this fall and then I can start my Christmas crafts.
9/29/09 10:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 7182
photo
Review by javamommyo... on 5/1/10
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Tiramisu Knit Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1329 Misses Dress
photo
Review by SewLuva on 6/25/13
Read Review

Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 5785 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us