SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5048 (Men's Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/18/09 10:47 PM
Last Updated:9/19/09 7:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
VERY nice! I am impressed!!! Time you upgrade your skill level : )
9/18/09 11:14 PM
LynnRowe said...
Those fit great!!! A well-fitted pants pattern is a very valuable thing, congrats on yours!
9/18/09 11:17 PM
sew obsessed said...
Peter, these look great! I love all the pictures. Really tho, you need to up the skill level a bit to at least advanced beginner as you have successfully tackled three applications that send most beginners screaming out of the sewing room- fit, fly front zipper and contrast topstitching! Thanks for another inspiring review...........
9/19/09 0:14 AM
ldanielle81 said...
your jeans are awesome! now- make me a pair please! lol
9/19/09 3:20 AM
eugenia123 said...
These jeans looks great. Jeans aren't an easy project but you've done a fantastic job! You definitely deserve a promotion.
9/19/09 4:44 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart! Well done.
9/19/09 6:34 AM
dbsewer said...
Great pants. You did an excellent job. You're brave to attempt this not having done a zipper before. I agree with the folks who say you need to up your skill level designation. Fly front, topstitching, yikes. These pants are a great fit. Thanks for a good and amusing review.
9/19/09 7:31 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Excellent results, and your pictorial essay is very impressive, too. Extremely wearable, good-looking jeans. I hope Brian is contrite. ;-)
9/19/09 7:42 AM
DreinPA said...
The tension balance is much improved on your stitching over the last shirt. It must be nice to have a personal sewing consultant like Brian! You live in NYC- you must be able to hunt down some 100% denim. I think if the fit is great the lycra is a detriment; working on it myself right now. I'm sure by now you have figured out to serge the raw edges first and then stitch the outseam? Nonetheless, time to upgrade to advanced beginner.
9/19/09 7:46 AM
voet said...
Thanks for a very informative and interesting review. I also enjoyed the captions to your project photos. I agree that jeans are easier to sew than shirts. It sounds like you figured out how to do a fly front zipper. I just did a workshop on fly front zippers for our local ASG (American Sewing Guild) chapter. In case you have any lingering questions about it, there are some excellent videos and instructions available on the internet.
9/19/09 7:48 AM
Anne S said...
WOW, you did a great job. Also loved your review. Looking forward to your future projects and reviews
9/19/09 8:14 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice jeans and a great fit!
9/19/09 9:18 AM
Diane333 said...
Outstanding job and I loved your tutorial.
9/19/09 10:11 AM
katlew03 said...
The dress definitely does not go with this project. I have had this happen when your pattern is OOP. You can copy and paste your pattern picture into the space or get the URL by using Google and pasting in the URL from the website that comes up with a picture into the box. Great job on the jeans. You did a tremendous job of problem solving and coming out with a wearable garment.
9/19/09 11:08 AM
Elona said...
Those are some FINE jeans! Terrific work. Yeah, you are definitely past the 'beginner' designation now. I love the photo record of your process, too.
9/19/09 11:27 AM
cabinbaby said...
Heeee heeee, your review cracks me up.
9/19/09 11:40 AM
2mulie said...
Peter, do yourself a favor and check out the Brother 1034D serger on PR and now available for under 200 at walmart.com. I think you can run drywall through it, it has a nice cd on how to use it, and it isn't fussy with thread...vintage is great, but sometimes dinosaurs are better left dead.
9/19/09 11:57 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks so much for the kind comments, everybody. BTW, I am wearing the pants a lot. Another serger....so tempting. How would I explain it to my Huskylock?
9/19/09 12:54 PM
frame said...
Wow! Great job. What a terrific fit. I'm impressed that you got a needle through all those layers, nevermind the serger. Any tips on getting through the layers when sewing on the belt loops? That's a lot of fabric. Anyway great job.
9/19/09 3:35 PM
RLL said...
You are so industrious to tackle jeans and all that encompasses so soon in your sewing career. And such an impressive job. Between the shirts and the jeans, you have nothing to fear, so.......what is next? Looking forward to your next wonderful creation and detailed review.
9/19/09 4:30 PM
Peter in NYC said...
LinCee, on the thickest seams I manually rotated the handwheel to make sure I had control over the stitching. Some things, like satin-stitching belt loop edges RTW-style, my machine couldn't really pull off; I have to experiment more with that. RLL, my next project is a macintosh style coat from a Burda mens pattern I just got. I have the fabric, now I just have to work up the nerve!
9/19/09 4:40 PM
Mufffet said...
What are you thinking with BEGINNER there...well, I guess you haven't sewn long? ;) But you sure can sew! Thanks for your good complete review!
9/19/09 5:18 PM
ladylola said...
Wow! First pants? First zipper? ... You are very talented!!! I actually like the back yoke, especially with the pockets on top of it, I think it's different. Great job on those jeans, they really look amazing!
9/19/09 5:52 PM
Annette1 said...
I've thoroughly enjoyed your review, and your jeans look just GREAT. As for showing off those serged seams, I don't think it's a guy thing, as I was FORCING everybody to peer at my serged seams for QUITE SOME TIME after I got the serger on eBay. NOW I'm trying to play it OH SO COOL, with barely a MENTION of the serger, but INSIDE I'm just as excited. I don't think you need to worry about crossing the street, as these look just as good from BOTH sides of the street! Great job!
9/19/09 7:43 PM
Princess Aurora said...
What a great job! And you've only been sewing since June?! Kudos to a job well done! Good luck on the next project - can't wait to see the review for that one! (Quite jealous actually, haven't attempted menswear yet! LOL!)
9/19/09 11:06 PM
Sandi S said...
Way to kick it up a few notches - you definitely need to level up to at least advanced beginner. These jeans turned out fantastic.
9/20/09 0:13 AM
BrianSews said...
A very entertaining read! Nice review my friend. I am also glad you were able to actually wear your jeans. It's exciting to see your skills develop!
9/20/09 7:50 AM
Elke said...
Great looking jeans...terrific fit!
9/20/09 8:13 AM
crisford said...
Fantastic job! Very entertaining review! Thanks for all the pictures--glad you finished the project in spite of some unexpected problems. Your jeans look fabulous!
9/20/09 12:22 PM
SandraB said...
Your jeans look really good. You did a great job on them. For a beginner, you really are very brave, tackling jeans and collared shirts. I really enjoy reading your reviews.
9/20/09 2:31 PM
jonnie664 said...
AWESOME!! I'm thoroughly impressed with your work!!!
9/20/09 4:20 PM
jilly cooper said...
gee, you are an inspiration. I struggle to even understand zips, I haven't tackled fitting and fly front - well - not even on my radar. Your skills are awesome, great jeans.
9/22/09 0:30 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, guys. My motto is basically the Nike tag line: Just Do It. It's only going to get easier, right?
9/22/09 11:20 AM
bigmess said...
awesome!
1/12/10 6:11 AM
katie lynne said...
I cannot say enough how much I enjoy your reviews--and this one is simply astounding! Thank you so much for so generously sharing your sewing experiences. I'm learning a lot from you!
1/16/10 8:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 6883

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Simplicity 1799

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now