SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2009-105 (Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 583 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/09 1:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Nanna said...
I've just received this issue of BWOF (we're several months behind down under!) and I love what you did with this shirt - I have to agree with Clin - it looks to me like you need to do a full bicep alteration - the number one reason for that "straight jacket" feeling is not that the back is too small (although that's how it feels - like the shoulder blades are restricted) but that the bicep on the arm is too tight giving you no forward reach. The rule is that you can "pinch an inch" - when you are standing straight - someone should be able to pinch 2 inches total of ease over the bicep. Until I understood this alteration, I had many painful experiences!
11/6/09 1:20 PM
jenniesue said...
Adorable--using just one of the ruffles is perfect. Did you make your skirt? It's a great outfit.
10/12/09 2:40 PM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty! I love the ONE ruffle.
10/2/09 11:15 AM
Anniinbc said...
Love your blouse - I think you nailed it with the ruffles and fabric choice.
9/22/09 11:21 AM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful and classic. seems like a difficult pattern from the magazine but you have tackled it perfectly. Great fabric!
9/22/09 11:00 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Hate to say this, but I agree that you're probably just going to have to bite the bullet on this one and do a FBA. I'm wondering if there are darts in the lower back? If no, I'd suggest adding back darts to take in some of the bulk you mentioned gthere. Totally normal for shirts of this style ot have back darts, and they're easy to do. I think with these two things the fit will be perfect. It's a beautiful shirt, regardless. LOVE the ruffles!
9/22/09 9:51 AM
pterion said...
Love your blouse! Sounds like you've gotten some good advice on the fit, although from where I sit, the fit tweaks look pretty minor. The ruffle is adorable. I might have to try this one.
9/22/09 9:40 AM
trinicity said...
love the ruffle detail, great fabric!
9/22/09 5:15 AM
pammieh said...
beautiful!!
9/22/09 2:32 AM
Vivienne said...
Stretch fabric and some back darts? You look so good in this outfit, I'd hate to see anything change. (side note - is that your HOUSE? makes me want to move to the east coast)
9/22/09 1:11 AM
blessedtosew said...
That blouse is lovely!!!
9/21/09 6:14 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely shirt - my only suggestion is that the sleeve may be too tight in the upper arm? Cidell's suggestion for a broad back adjustment may also do the trick but from the side photo it does seem that the sleeves are a bit tight and so will restrict your arm moving forward. Just my thought!!
9/21/09 5:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely shirt! The tightness across the back and under the arms can definitely be a sign that you need an FBA. In the photos your bust does appear to be "stealing" fabric from these areas which would make them feel tight. That fold of fabric above the bust, plus the underarm wrinkles is a sign that you don't have enough bust ease. HTH
9/21/09 5:33 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful shirt, love the tiny check fabric with the ruffle. Going by high bust measurement is a good starting point, seeing the fold in the picture gives me the impression that you could improve fit and moving ease by a small fba.
9/21/09 5:03 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Cidell, can you tell me where I might find a broad back adjustment? Or is it simply putting in some extra width across the top back? Thanks, btw!
9/21/09 4:22 PM
MissCelie said...
This is beyond ADORABLE. As for the back, I have that same issue. I finally made a broad back adjustment and that seemed to do the trick.
9/21/09 4:06 PM
janella said...
Your review is very funny and I totally understand your quest for the perfect fit/for others to give you feedback. Not having sewn this shirt before, my brain is not automatically coming up with comments - I love the fabric and the shirt looks good from where I'm standing... but will try to have another look later and give you more feedback.
9/21/09 2:12 PM
lara900 said...
Thank you for your review! -- I am planning on maybe making that shirt, and I'm also bent on getting a basic shirt to fit me properly, so I can go and take it from there for lots of variations. In the side view it looks to me like you have too much room in the bust area (so maybe a small bust adjustment?). It also looks like the breast dart should be moved up to hit you in the right place -- in your front photo there is a fabric fold above the breast, and that way the dart hits the apex well. And maybe extra width in the upper back to accomodate for your large back? --- as I said: I'm on the quest for perfect shirt fit myself, and I'm a beginner to trying to fit garments (my last succesful stint of sewing was in the late 80s, when everything was veeery large).
9/21/09 1:43 PM
Amanda S. said...
I measure at 35.5" around the bust and never do an FBA. I'm much more likely to do a SBA. It sounds like it is too small in the shoulders. Perhaps you should go up a size to the 38 but cut a 36 in the bust area to get a snug fit there. And darts would certainly take care of extra fabric in the back. Anyway, I love how you pieced together the ruffle from another pattern. I like to do those things as well to really make it my own.
9/21/09 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-106

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 5094

photo
by: kealoha

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now