Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5974 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 875 times 84 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 213
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 212
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:9/20/09 4:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
This looks great on you! I love both your versions of 5974.
9/20/09 5:01 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic dress, great job.
9/20/09 8:02 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute! I love knit dresses.
9/20/09 8:45 PM
busymomof3 said...
Looks perfect on you!! Thanks for the review!
9/20/09 8:52 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very lovely dresses. I love them both. Great fabric! I'm new to sewing with knits and after reading your review, I think I may want to try this. Thanks for the review.
9/20/09 11:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress. I need to move this pattern up in my pattern sewing list.
9/21/09 6:58 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty dress! You achieved a superb fit !
9/22/09 4:23 AM
Athene said...
Fabulous dress, fabulous fit and fabulous look for you. You sew beautifully and are obviously very particular as noted by the alterations you made. I have one question - when you do the 1/4 inch rounded back adjustment on knit dresses - do you really see an appreciable difference in the fit - I'm just curious as although I have sewn with knits I have not made many knit items and tend to think that the knit should be able to stretch that little bit to fit nicely without distortion.
9/26/09 0:47 AM
KarenMG said...
I chose this pattern over McCall's 5752 and I'm glad I did. Thanks for the info and great photos on your blog! They will be very helpful.
10/3/09 11:27 AM
Renren said...
I'm glad TanyaMT mentioned your review in her review as I missed this review of the pattern. Lovely, and thanks for all those great pictures at your blog.
10/3/09 1:47 PM
MNBarb said...
I looked at all of the reviews before embarking on the journey with this pattern and was most inspried by yours. This dress looks fabulous on you. I used your idea for the clear elastic around the neckline and it worked really well. Thanks for the very helpful review.
4/24/11 8:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2444
photo
Review by Sandi S on 3/9/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5849 Hilary Duff
photo
Review by Maggie725 on 2/17/10
Read Review

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3658 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3658 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us