SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2891 

8 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About goosegreenstarstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/21/09 5:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rebecca D said...
You got a really good fit on this and the color is gorgeous on you.
9/21/09 6:40 AM
Sew4Fun said...
What a pretty top! I absolutely love how you embellished the yoke; very creative! I love the colour too. One of my favourite colours.
9/21/09 7:13 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is so pretty- looks much cuter on than the pattern front. I love that it only has a touch of the gathers on front and the embellishment you added. Did you use multiple spools of the embroidery thread on the overlocker or combine with serger thread to make the trim-very nice idea for adding texture.
9/21/09 7:55 AM
goosegreen said...
Yep, 2 spools of variegated Madeira on the loopers & one plain isocord in the needle. Then I swapped out one of the variegated for a metallic. I was originally going to have the overlocking in straight lines but after I sewed it, it curled up so I went with that instead. :)
9/21/09 8:21 AM
sewtime said...
Very pretty!! Love the detailing that you did!
9/21/09 12:13 PM
sew obsessed said...
Love it!!!! I would have never thought to make serger trim with embroidery thread. Thanks for the tip!
9/21/09 1:00 PM
sewbehind said...
Pretty colour on you and love the embellisments.
9/21/09 5:55 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Thanks for the overlocker info - I would have never thought of using only embroidery thread on the serger to make trim. I really like this idea and your shirt.
9/21/09 6:55 PM
velosewer said...
You look great. The top is and excellent choice and fit too.
11/11/09 4:16 AM
frame said...
This is a great color on you. The embellishments are really beautiful.
2/23/14 0:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Simplicity 2257

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
McCall's 6353

photo
by: beanchor

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now