Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5202 (Tunic Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2634 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/02 0:15 AM
Last Updated:11/23/03 1:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Hi Mini: I have made two of these and wore them as a top layer with a shell underneath in the cool weather. They go together very nicely. Your reviews are always great! I couldn't get in to see your pix though. I'll try again later.
4/27/02 0:44 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made two of these as well. I agree with you that the style is just no me, but it's fun to make and goes together quickly. I loved the picture of your Bristol Blouse in red - lovely!
4/27/02 10:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for your helpful review. BTW, I love the Bristol blouse on you!
4/27/02 10:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks! The Bristol is one of my favorites for hot humid weather. It is loose and comfortable, but doesn't look sloppy. Also it is VERY quick to make.
4/27/02 11:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review. This is on my list to do soon as I need some new tops. Snazzy buttons on your Bristol!
4/27/02 3:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mini, this is an excellent review. I like this blouse, but I wear it tucked in and I wear it with jeans. Untucked it definitely looks dowdy. The next time I make it, I'll raise the armhole. Thnx for the tip!
4/27/02 10:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mai S said...
I just finished making this blouse and am wearing it now. Did not have to make any adjustments except I shortened the sleeves by about 3/4 inch. I am 5'7" and about 123 pounds. I make a small and it fit perfectly. Loved the way the "collar" drapes but again great instructions. Used white rayon. Will definitely sew some more!
6/2/03 5:40 PM
meca said...
Mini: Thank you for the wonderful review! I appreciate the sewing lesson and will now look for all of your reviews. I own other Loes Hinse (and am thinking about this one for summer), so I will look for you on the review site for further education.
4/2/05 1:42 PM
taylormade said...
I agree with most of this review; the shoulders were very wide, and I created a new shoulder line by bringing the whole shoulder in by 1/2". To do this I made a copy of the armscythe curve, and then superimposed it over the original pattern 1/2 " in on the shoulder line. That way I didn't have to alter the sleeve. One other observation I have with this pattern is that the cuff is very narrow compared with the rest of the sleeve. Although I know people complain about Loes' sleeves, I've never had a problem with that, so although I did flat pattern measure the sleeve around the bicep, I should have also measured the forearm; I can hardly get the sleeve/cuff over my forearm. (sp?) Having said all that I love this pattern and plan to make it again. Oh, I did use a very drapey rayon, but in a very transparent fabric (off-white) so I used a very lightweight interfacing for the body of the garment, front & back, and it worked wonderfully. Mary T. Taylormade1@comcast.net
9/17/05 0:51 AM
KarenSue said...
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I had some gorgeous fabric I wanted to use for a shirt that would be really comfortable and roomy and that I would wear all the time. I had my eye on this pattern but you SAVED me from wasting great fabric and time. I am a ridiculous, almost cartoon-like pear shape and I see that this would have never worked. The envelope had me thinking "tent" but your review told me otherwise. Having the advice of experienced and articulate sewers like yourself is the reason I love patternreview.
12/18/05 2:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 2012-3 large totes
photo
Review by katlew03 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us