SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5202 (Tunic Blouse)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2644 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/02 0:15 AM
Last Updated:11/23/03 1:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarenSue said...
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I had some gorgeous fabric I wanted to use for a shirt that would be really comfortable and roomy and that I would wear all the time. I had my eye on this pattern but you SAVED me from wasting great fabric and time. I am a ridiculous, almost cartoon-like pear shape and I see that this would have never worked. The envelope had me thinking "tent" but your review told me otherwise. Having the advice of experienced and articulate sewers like yourself is the reason I love patternreview.
12/18/05 2:46 PM
taylormade said...
I agree with most of this review; the shoulders were very wide, and I created a new shoulder line by bringing the whole shoulder in by 1/2". To do this I made a copy of the armscythe curve, and then superimposed it over the original pattern 1/2 " in on the shoulder line. That way I didn't have to alter the sleeve. One other observation I have with this pattern is that the cuff is very narrow compared with the rest of the sleeve. Although I know people complain about Loes' sleeves, I've never had a problem with that, so although I did flat pattern measure the sleeve around the bicep, I should have also measured the forearm; I can hardly get the sleeve/cuff over my forearm. (sp?) Having said all that I love this pattern and plan to make it again. Oh, I did use a very drapey rayon, but in a very transparent fabric (off-white) so I used a very lightweight interfacing for the body of the garment, front & back, and it worked wonderfully. Mary T. Taylormade1@comcast.net
9/17/05 0:51 AM
meca said...
Mini: Thank you for the wonderful review! I appreciate the sewing lesson and will now look for all of your reviews. I own other Loes Hinse (and am thinking about this one for summer), so I will look for you on the review site for further education.
4/2/05 1:42 PM
Mai S said...
I just finished making this blouse and am wearing it now. Did not have to make any adjustments except I shortened the sleeves by about 3/4 inch. I am 5'7" and about 123 pounds. I make a small and it fit perfectly. Loved the way the "collar" drapes but again great instructions. Used white rayon. Will definitely sew some more!
6/2/03 5:40 PM
said...
Mini, this is an excellent review. I like this blouse, but I wear it tucked in and I wear it with jeans. Untucked it definitely looks dowdy. The next time I make it, I'll raise the armhole. Thnx for the tip!
4/27/02 10:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for the review. This is on my list to do soon as I need some new tops. Snazzy buttons on your Bristol!
4/27/02 3:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks! The Bristol is one of my favorites for hot humid weather. It is loose and comfortable, but doesn't look sloppy. Also it is VERY quick to make.
4/27/02 11:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for your helpful review. BTW, I love the Bristol blouse on you!
4/27/02 10:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have made two of these as well. I agree with you that the style is just no me, but it's fun to make and goes together quickly. I loved the picture of your Bristol Blouse in red - lovely!
4/27/02 10:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mini: I have made two of these and wore them as a top layer with a shell underneath in the cool weather. They go together very nicely. Your reviews are always great! I couldn't get in to see your pix though. I'll try again later.
4/27/02 0:44 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now