SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5678 (mccalls accessories)

13 more reviews
Viewed 247 times 
Reviewed by:Darlamommy
photo

 
 
About Darlamommy
TX USA
Member since: 5/17/09
Reviews written: 11
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/09 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MagnoliaHoney said... (8/10/11 6:59 PM) Reply
oops double posted.
MagnoliaHoney said... (8/10/11 6:59 PM) Reply
I was wondering is any of the fleece exposed, or is it all sandwiched in the fashion fabric? Where exactly is the fleece used in this design? Thanks! BTW, love yours! My husband lost mine putting it in storage, and now I have a new baby coming, and I can't afford another baby hawk! So going to give this pattern a go.
fryman said... (9/25/09 12:43 PM) Reply
some things never go out of style like babies and being a mom. I also made a carrier similar to this one - - 35 years ago! Of course, your baby is beautiful.
ClaireEmily said... (9/23/09 7:15 PM) Reply
I love your baby carrier - the print is gorgeous. Thanks for the very helpful review!
Darlamommy said... (9/23/09 5:28 PM) Reply
I would go crazy if I didn't sew, even with a 4-month old. Plus I have 3 older kids so it's been way easier to get a routine down by now. Anyhoo, I agree that you need to use a sturdy fabric, but the whole thing is interfaced with fleece, sometimes multiple layers of it. It's really this that gives the carrier its strength and padding. So a lighter cotton (but not too light) would be pretty safe, I think. Where the top and middle pieces meet, I was sewing through two layers of fleece and four of upholstery-weight fabric. I almost couldn't get the layers under the presser foot, it was so much. In that case, it's not just difficult, it's almost impossible! I imagine it might be better with a better machine, but who knows.
Terri A said... (9/23/09 10:54 AM) Reply
I love that. Nice job.
lamstu said... (9/23/09 8:22 AM) Reply
It's great that you have time to sew with a 4-month old baby! I used baby slings and carriers for two kids and absolutely loved them, as did the babies. I think one would be advised to use a quite sturdy fabric for safety reasons, even if the sewing is difficult. Enjoy it all and thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention. Also, I absolutely love your fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Pattern Details
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details