SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2101 (Bra and Garter Belt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2178 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/04 5:35 PM
Last Updated:2/1/04 7:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Delbert said...
ai didn't realize you could sew anything at all.
9/12/06 2:44 PM
Sew'n'go said...
Great detailing on this review. Thanks for all the construction tips and comments. You've made this pattern seem very do-able.
5/17/05 11:21 AM
KathleenS said...
I've just seen this review by chance. Great work on the bra! and thanks for the tip about fitting the cups as I'll have to do this with my next one. Maggie looks very cold though brrrr.
1/18/05 4:28 AM
Nancy Peters said...
Debe, it is amazing that bras look so intimidating to make. Like you I found it very easy. But as for fit...well that is a different story. I finally found a style of bra that actually fit! I, too, have a problem with the center front standing away from my body. One day I decided to wander in to Victoria's Secret. Then the sales lady talked me into trying on an underwire bra (which I hate) It is called something like the Body Bra. It was the best fit I have ever had in a bra. My breasts sit wide on my chest. The underwires are almost wide enough and the center panel is wide enough. Which allowed it to sit against my chest. Now to copy it. Thanks for your review and tips on fiberfill. My VS bra has a thin nylon tricot cup that I would like to make firmer. This will help considerably.
11/6/04 11:20 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I would really like to encourage those of you who said you are intimidated to go ahead and try. Now that I have made my first one, every time I put it on, I can see just where I can make changes to improve the fit. It looks much better on "Maggie". Trust me.
2/3/04 10:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
The photo is a hoot! Maggie is a bit intimidating, for sure. The other night on What Not To Wear, the guest/victim bought a $90 bra! If I had to pay $90, I'd make one, too! Until then, I'm too intimidated!
2/2/04 7:01 PM
Deepika said...
Debe you did such a great job on your bra. I think I have this pattern and the findings but I am too intimidated by it. Thanks for the tip on adding fusible fleece.
2/2/04 7:18 AM
mClones said...
I have an Elan pattern and everything I need for 1/2 year now already. But I too am intimidated. Your review is encouraging.
2/1/04 7:25 PM
Dale C said...
Wow. That's impressive for a first attempt Debe. Once you get the fit perfected, you'll have some really great bras!
2/1/04 7:10 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks MaryBeth, for confirming my thoughts of where I should start when altering my pattern. I used underwires from an old bra instead of the wires that I got in my kit because they were way too big. Yep, back to the drawing table!
2/1/04 6:15 PM
MaryBeth said...
Brrrrr, poor Maggie! Beautiful bra, though Debe. I've not perfected my bra but I understand that if the front band is away from the body the cups are too small and you need a wider wire. You have my admiration on doing this job.
2/1/04 6:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

PR Member's Pattern 15926-1018

photo
by: craftsanct...

Review
McCall's 8379 OOP

photo
by: SheBear032...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

More Info