SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 427 (Double collar princess jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1355 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 131 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/09 5:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 54 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
64 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riordan said...
Beautiful jacket!!! The fit is absolutely wonderful! Congratulations--Wow!!
9/30/09 5:55 PM
petro said...
Great looking jacket, with a very flattering shape. Thanks for this detailed review and the many many hints and tips.
9/30/09 6:06 PM
vacarisella said...
Nancy, What a beautiful job! You should be very proud to wear this at the best store in town! Anywhere for that matter! Thank you for putting up the links. I love making tailored jackets, now I have something to aspire to. Your workmanship is superb!
9/30/09 6:09 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow, Nancy, that jacket looks terrific and your review is a great resource for anyone taking on such a challenging project. Wonderful photography too. I am in awe of your welt pockets, btw. Congratulations!
9/30/09 6:21 PM
Terri A said...
Wow gorgeous jacket. Really amazing fit and every detail perfect!
9/30/09 6:44 PM
bitofagypsy said...
Out standing job both on modifying and combining patterns and on the craftwomanship. You work and attention to detail really show-the fit is perfect.
9/30/09 7:03 PM
Kellie R. said...
Who can argue with Boo Boo? Nancy, you are turning into the Jacket Making Queen. Your jacket is beautiful, the craftsmanship exquisite. I've enjoyed following all of your jacket reviews, hoping that I one day achieve what you have. Gorgeous jacket!
9/30/09 7:08 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for such a thoughtful, thorough and helpful review! I'm printing out a copy for my files. Your jacket fits beautifully.
9/30/09 7:19 PM
Nancy K said...
The jacket fits beautifully! A terrific job with some difficult details.
9/30/09 7:56 PM
Cerisa said...
Your jacket is a work of art and looks wonderful on you and your persistence and attention to detail are staggering. I was also impressed with your review. Have you considered writing a book about adapting patterns, developing frankenpatterns, the process of coming up with TNTs and encouraging people to start sewing later in life? I think that you could be onto a winner.
9/30/09 7:59 PM
quixoticpixels said...
If you ever grow tired of this exquisite jacket, please send it to me, LOL :) Fantastic workmanship and style!
9/30/09 8:08 PM
marec said...
ahh, Nancy, it is beautiful. The style, and the fabric choice fit both your coloring and shape so well. Amazing work-I know you have put in an immense amount of time. Cute dog!!
9/30/09 8:42 PM
Sewliz said...
You look fabulous! Wonderful review for a gorgeous jacket.
9/30/09 8:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your jacket is master class! Thank you so much for your review containing a plethora of useful and wonderful tips, tools, and techniques. I just bookmarked this as "Nancy's amazing jacket with very helpful tips." You are truly an artist, creating a beautiful jacket that has your unique trademark of outstanding quality.
9/30/09 8:51 PM
Mermie said...
Your jacket is gorgeous. Great job and great review.
9/30/09 9:17 PM
trishapatk said...
I thought you already were the jacket making queen! I've looked at your photo bucket site and been impressed with many of them. This one truly is outstanding though. Excellent tips in your review, thank you for all the work you put into that too.
9/30/09 10:12 PM
Enid E said...
Beautiful work, and great review.
9/30/09 10:28 PM
Deepika said...
I admit that I haven't seen your previous jackets which everyone here is talking about. But as I was looking at the entries in the Lined jacket contest, your entry jumped out and I decided to read your review and all I can say is that my mouth is wide open still! What a project! Heather said it right - this review is a master class. Hopefully some day when we meet, I would love to try that jacket. It's so sharp! I love the details you've added. Now I must go and see your other jackets. Maybe I'll get the courage to sew myself one :) Thanks for sharing.
9/30/09 10:46 PM
appleton78 said...
Impressive job on both the lovely jacket and this great review!!! Thanks...so much super info here!!
9/30/09 10:52 PM
loti said...
I love the jacket, so flattering, I really like the details, the slight curve to the back hem, and decorative stitch, it looks very professional.
9/30/09 10:55 PM
JanaL said...
An absolutely beautiful garment!!!!!
9/30/09 11:11 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a beautiful jacket, Nancy! Boo Boo is always spot on and I am in total agreement! Impeccably done, as usual!
9/30/09 11:17 PM
AnitaJ said...
What a beautifully sewn and well-fitted jacket! Your muslins really paid off and thank you for this resourceful review! :)
9/30/09 11:17 PM
Nata said...
Your jacket is TDF
9/30/09 11:37 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Very impressive. You certainly have taught yourself (and others) a lot in the last few years, perfecting your tailoring skills as you go. Congratulations on all your hard work and the excellent results. Amazingly detailed and thorough review, by the way!
9/30/09 11:40 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great jacket and review. Thanks for the details.
9/30/09 11:58 PM
sew2little said...
This has been quite a journey--but the destination is its own reward: What a beautiful, classic jacket worthy of being worn anywhere!
10/1/09 0:09 AM
CynthiaSue said...
this is the most impeccable tailoring I've ever seen! love the charcoal color. Notched collar is amazing.
10/1/09 1:52 AM
sewnsewtoo said...
I agree with all the prior reviews. Thankyou for your thorough and informative review. I see you rate yourself as 'intermediate' . I think you just graduated. Thanks again.
10/1/09 2:48 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow, that jacket looks a million dollars. The fit, the finish, the detailing. It is absolutely exquisite. You could wear that anywhere, and be the best dressed person there. Thank you for a super helpful review. So many useful tips. As someone else said, you really are the jacket making queen. I need a "super amazingly, unbelievably helpful button to push for this review.
10/1/09 4:13 AM
ajax said...
Beautifully fitted and flattering jacket and your review contains heaps of helpful information. I'm so glad that after all your hard work you've got a jacket you are happy with. Look forward to your next project.
10/1/09 4:20 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
This must be one of the best reviews ever. Your persistence and attention to detail really paid off and you could certainly wear this jacket anywhere for years and years. Well done!
10/1/09 4:31 AM
susiestitcher said...
Your jacket is beautiful, so perfectly sewn and fitted. I think you should move yourself from Intermediate to Advanced right away! I loved your detailed review. I have already visited all the tips you mentioned and have plans to pick up some of the supplies, as well. Really, it is just an exquisite rendering. The best part is how you took a pattern and morphed it into the exact design and fit that was floating up there in your thoughts. There is nothing more exciting than that!
10/1/09 7:38 AM
Julia C said...
Beautiful jacket. All of your photos & tips are very helpful.
10/1/09 9:56 AM
BrianSews said...
Very nice, I can't wait to see it in person next week! I am proud to say I've watched your process and been inspired!
10/1/09 10:26 AM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous Frankenpattern. You made this looks so flawless. Absolutely Beautiful!
10/1/09 10:48 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabulous jacket and review. All of your detailed construction techniques make exquisite!
10/1/09 12:29 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments. I've learned so much about sewing from everyone on PR during the past three and a half years. PR is a wonderful resource for anyone who's interested in sewing.
10/1/09 1:45 PM
kira said...
Beautiful jacket - Great review - thanks!
10/1/09 2:05 PM
Barbara3 said...
I'm not sure what else can be said about your jacket and your review that hasn't already been said. So I will repeat that the jacket is absolutely beautiful; your ability to persevere in the face of multiple fitting, tailoring, and detail challenges is inspiring; and your review of the process is simply the best. Thanks for sharing your work.
10/1/09 2:23 PM
waltzqueen said...
Looks like Armani to me, but better!!! That jacket is terrific and worth all your effort. Good for you!!!
10/1/09 3:13 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your jacket is just beautiful! I always look forward to your reviews and this one didn't disappoint.. Thank you.
10/1/09 4:08 PM
Jolet said...
What a wonderful jacket!! I love everything of it!!
10/2/09 2:16 PM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning.
10/2/09 2:36 PM
Annie- oh said...
Simply awwwwwwesome, Nancy, and then some. (Wish you could hear my Texas accent sayin' that!)
10/2/09 7:02 PM
washer_woman said...
The details on this jacket are amazing! Beautiful work!
10/2/09 8:20 PM
Olivia Sews said...
Nancy - this is one beautiful, perfect fitting and inspiring jacket! I love how you give us all the links and helpful tips! I love how you have jumped in with both feet into sewing - with all the research and endless patience you have - it is truly inspiring to me. The idea that Cerisa has about you writing a book is something you should really give some thought to do. Even if you spent 50. to make this jacket - it's a whole lot better than spending 1800.+ on one!!!
10/3/09 9:41 AM
cindyann said...
Wow, I lurve that jacket! Beautiful work, Nancy and an excellent review. (Booboo is just precious!)
10/3/09 10:22 AM
AnneM said...
Spectacular job. Thanks for the information (and the encouragement).
10/3/09 10:41 AM
Jane S said...
I'm joining the applauding crowd of commentators to praise your jacket, your persistence and your helpfu, detailed review. You deserve to be proud of such thoughtful work and beautiful result.
10/3/09 5:05 PM
TanyaMT said...
What an incredible jacket and review. Thank you!
10/3/09 6:17 PM
Athene said...
This is one special jacket and of course the fit is beautiful. My favorite photo is actually the one of you wearing it that shows the back - the fit is just so gorgeous. Thank you for such an informative review and all the photos and tips.
10/3/09 8:20 PM
Annette T. E. said...
Thank you very much for your informative review. So many helpful tips! Your jacket is perfect. I know that you created a few muslins, I am wondering what dress form you would recommend? Thanks again!
10/7/09 1:58 PM
Amy-may said...
Fabulous jacket and an informative review! Well done!
10/7/09 9:43 PM
nancy2001 said...
Annette, my dress form is a cheap, fiberglass store mannequin that I bought on ebay. I "carved" it with a handsaw and then padded it out with batting and a padded bra. But I'm thinking of getting a Uniquely You dress form because I think it would allow me to get a better match for my exact shape. The Atlanta Thread Company website is selling the Uniquely You for $139 plus free shipping and free Gingher scissors though the month of October.
10/8/09 7:56 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
You know, Nancy, I always have to remind myself how few years you've been sewing when I see your gorgeous creations. Let me be your mother for a moment and say, "I'm so darned proud of you, girl." Your unique combination of tenacity and fearlessness have resulted in a jacket that anyone - and I mean anyone at all - would wear with a good bit of attitude. Lovely, Lily
10/9/09 1:06 AM
trishapatk said...
Congratulations Nancy! You did such a magnificent job on this jacket and wrote such a helpful review. You really went the extra mile in making this and seeing results like that is an inspiration to us all!
10/12/09 1:28 PM
Aixoise said...
Congratulations on winning the Lined Jacket Contest. Your review inspires me to get back to work on my own tailored jacket. Beautiful jacket!
10/15/09 2:22 PM
moushka said...
Nancy, fantastic jacket, you really deserve your First Prize. Your review is also fabulous. Thanks for taking the time to add all the tips and links. Both jacket and review deserve ten stars!
10/15/09 4:47 PM
AnnS said...
Wow! great review. I made it right out of the envelope, rave about the fit as well, and you'd probably like the shirt-collar style too!
10/16/09 10:34 AM
Trudy J said...
Absolutely gorgeous. It gave me the vicarious thrill of seeing a perfect custom fit and a beautiful piece of clothing. Your tips and and review are wonderful too.
10/16/09 11:33 PM
Marie-Claude said...
Congratulations! You fully deserve this prize. Your jacket is simply amazing!
10/20/09 1:58 AM
chacha45 said...
Most helpful review I have ever read! Thanks!
10/22/09 10:37 AM
JENN10 said...
Your jacket is absolutely gorgeous!!!! You have truly inspired me to give it a go on the welt pockets.
10/26/09 7:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6164

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now