Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4712 (Robert L. Green (who's he?) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 395 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/23/09 9:12 PM
Last Updated:9/23/09 9:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mleclair said...
Great shirt! Very well done and flattering. Felix rules!
9/23/09 9:20 PM
RachelEsq said...
Wow, what an awesome shirt. You did such a great job matching the plaids. I'm so impressed by your sewing skills. As a beginner, I'm really intimidated at the thought of sewing men's clothing, but you are giving me hope. Keep posting your creations (and/or start a blog so that we can stalk your projects...?)!
9/23/09 9:37 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great looking shirt and I'm impressed with how well you matched the plaid. Not easy!
9/23/09 10:04 PM
beth5646 said...
Peter--beautiful shirt. It looks great on you. And I do love the fabric. I always enjoy reading your reviews. Don't worry about the button hole--we have all been there in one way or the other.
9/23/09 10:04 PM
stretch queen said...
Amazing shirt...in general, they scare me. Cool that you changes the collar to something more up-to-date. Congrats!
9/23/09 10:04 PM
sew obsessed said...
Another success story! Wow, the plaid aligns perfectly. The shirt looks great on you Peter.
9/23/09 10:23 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow, htat is a great shirt..I'd say you aren't a beginner anymore. You might try a dissolve away stabilizer for your buttonholes. I love the way you matched the plaids.
9/23/09 10:51 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Nice shirt, great job and cute review : ) Peter next you will be making buttonholes by hand!!!
9/23/09 10:56 PM
lyndle said...
Great shirt. Well found pattern and it has come out looking good. WHEN are you going to upgrade your skill level to Intermediate or at least Advanced Beginner? I saw several people comment on your jeans review that you should and I agree!
9/23/09 11:29 PM
Sew Shy said...
Very nice!
9/24/09 0:32 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Very smart shirt and perfectly matched plaid... well done you... as others have said, possibly time to move up to advanced beginner if you feel comfortable with that.
9/24/09 3:15 AM
Michele19 said...
Bravo!
9/24/09 5:20 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. Well done. I love the fabric.
9/24/09 5:56 AM
craftygamma said...
All I can say is, "WOW". You are a natural in the sewing department. You have acquired your skills quickly. I envy your accessibility to fabric stores, etc. In most areas, the fabric stores are getting further & fewer between. I hope the bad economy and the back to basics movement brings back some of them.
9/24/09 7:58 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Wonderful review. You did a nice job on the shirt. Sorry to see your buttonhole situation- we've all been there.
9/24/09 8:51 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey guys, you're the best. It's funny about the plaid: I actually found it easier to work with in some ways. I didn't have to worry about finding the grainline, for example, and it kept me very focused and slowed me down, something I always need to be reminded of. Re that buttonhole, I might try that stabilizer, Heidi. When I'm nearly through with a project I become a little hasty to be finished. If I had done more thorough testing of the buttonholer on the fabric (I did some but not enough) this wouldn't have happened. It's much more visible in the photo close-up than in real life; the plaid works to distract the eye from small details like those. I still consider myself a beginner; I began sewing in June. I've inserted just one zipper for example. I'd like to have a little bit more under my belt before promoting myself. These designations are rather arbitrary and very relative, imo.
9/24/09 8:59 AM
Diane333 said...
I love reading and seeing your sewing reviews.
9/24/09 9:54 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your shirt is very smart, Peter, and you've sewn, and matched, it beautifully. As buttonholers (and internal button functions on machines) can often provide nasty surprises on any given garment, here's a tip: make your buttonholes from 'bottom to top.' This way, you and your buttonholer can adapt to the minute peculiarities of each garment by the time you're making the most visible buttonholes. Oh, and a Beginner, you are not (anymore). Lovely work, Lily
9/24/09 10:07 AM
fourkid said...
Wonderful!!! And you write a great review with lots of easy to access pictures. You matched those plaids like a pro - but I hear you on stumbling through some things. I always practice a few buttonholes before doing my actual ones - and I have only recently been doing those. I have a vintage Singer (201-2) - those do amazing buttonholes - you need to find one and set it up just for buttons!
9/24/09 10:14 AM
RLL said...
You continue to amaze me with your gusto for new adventures. Plaids now??? Bravo for you. Another job well done!
9/24/09 11:59 AM
cindyann said...
Great job, Peter! I have made buttonholes quite similar to yours and I've been sewing most of my life. Stuff happens. Great work on the plaid!
9/24/09 12:42 PM
Elke said...
Great looking shirt!
9/24/09 1:19 PM
pterion said...
Nicely done, Peter! I'm glad you 'splurged' on some nice fabric - the result is fantastic!
9/24/09 2:29 PM
lizagm said...
once again, you have created for yourself an awesome shirt! beginner or not you are doing an amazing job with these vintage patterns!
9/24/09 3:00 PM
lucylal said...
What a great shirt! I have wanted to make a shirt for my little man (3yo), for a while now, but have kept putting it off. Lots of techniques that i haven't tried yet!! But you have inspired me. I can do it!!!!! And will! Watch this space!
9/24/09 6:58 PM
nancy2001 said...
Another smart looking shirt. You are definitely the star pupil. Congratulations on winning last month's beginner contest.
9/24/09 7:05 PM
CynthiaSue said...
that does NOT look like $2 fabric!! looks like a $300 shirt!
9/25/09 1:21 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Now I just have to find someone who's willing to pay $300 for it! (ha ha)
9/25/09 7:26 AM
Karendee said...
Peter, Beautiful shirt, and I'm certainly glad you upgraded fabric from polycotton. Next time, you might even buy a little thicker cotton fabric. However, your shirt looks great, is beautifully made, and the plaid is classy. Enjoy your shirt.
9/26/09 4:53 PM
Race said...
Very Nice. I have to say I don't get the vintage sheet thing..... especially since you have the fashion district available. Great shirt. And good review.
9/26/09 11:45 PM
moushka said...
Peter, your shirts are terrific. This one is very professional looking despite the buttonhole mishap. Fabulous shirt collars! All in all, very inspiring. Can't wait to see what you'll do next :)
10/1/09 6:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 09-2004-404
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/1/08
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8046 Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 7/27/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us