SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2009-17 (Salma Boiled Wool Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 772 times 
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo

 
 
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/09 3:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/10 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
LOVELY! Love the color...looks very elegant.
9/25/09 3:35 PM
Johsews said...
Beautiful! Please add some pictures of it on you, and tell us where you got the boiled wool. Everyone on the Yahoo Ottobre list is looking for some!
9/25/09 4:07 PM
artkat said...
Great coat and I love the colour. However the patter number is wrong - shouldn't it be 2009, not 2008
9/25/09 4:12 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:29 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:32 PM
Andreahg said...
Your coat is stunning! The simple lines allow you to focus on the beautiful color.
9/25/09 4:45 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Thank you for this review! I'm planning to make this out of some thick wool flannel. I absolutely love your color choice!
9/25/09 4:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
I was looking at that pattern - I love Ottobre. You got a great result with it, and I'll take your word on the color, don't you hate it when the camera doesn't cooperate? Magenta or deep red, it's beautiful either way.
9/25/09 4:54 PM
sewtime said...
You now have a beautiful coat!!! (and you made it!)
9/25/09 5:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice coat and thanks so much for the helpful review!
9/25/09 9:26 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Your coat is gorgeous! Well done!
9/25/09 11:06 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful coat, beautiful fabric, beautiful color.
9/26/09 2:19 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this coat -- love the simple lines subtly emphasized by the lapped seams. The color is outstanding!
9/26/09 9:13 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very nice looking coat - love the color!
9/26/09 10:33 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a statement piece! Just beautiful..........I'm familiar with Stonemountain and Daughters-been there a time or two and spent $$$$$. What a fabulous store. The buttons, OMG.......
9/27/09 11:20 PM
Mbarkle said...
This looks so pretty. Great color. My next project is to make it out of a lime green wool. Thanks for sharing your impressions, they are making me feel more confident about cutting into my piece of wool!
10/26/09 10:55 AM
Athene said...
That is a beautiful coat.
1/4/10 7:41 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for your review. The coat looks wonderful! Apparently you have the same qualms I have about the skirt of the coat eventually hanging unevenly. Your conclusion that is won't be a problem is great. You're right! It can just be trimmed. I may have to go ahead and make it after all. Thanks.
1/4/10 9:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-105

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now