SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2009-17 (Salma Boiled Wool Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 777 times 
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo

 
 
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/09 3:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/10 7:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
You did a great job. I'm encouraged to use this pattern for my boiled wool. Thanks for a good review.
10/20/14 5:37 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for your review. The coat looks wonderful! Apparently you have the same qualms I have about the skirt of the coat eventually hanging unevenly. Your conclusion that is won't be a problem is great. You're right! It can just be trimmed. I may have to go ahead and make it after all. Thanks.
1/4/10 9:35 PM
Athene said...
That is a beautiful coat.
1/4/10 7:41 PM
Mbarkle said...
This looks so pretty. Great color. My next project is to make it out of a lime green wool. Thanks for sharing your impressions, they are making me feel more confident about cutting into my piece of wool!
10/26/09 10:55 AM
sew obsessed said...
What a statement piece! Just beautiful..........I'm familiar with Stonemountain and Daughters-been there a time or two and spent $$$$$. What a fabulous store. The buttons, OMG.......
9/27/09 11:20 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very nice looking coat - love the color!
9/26/09 10:33 PM
Catbird said...
I really like this coat -- love the simple lines subtly emphasized by the lapped seams. The color is outstanding!
9/26/09 9:13 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful coat, beautiful fabric, beautiful color.
9/26/09 2:19 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Your coat is gorgeous! Well done!
9/25/09 11:06 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice coat and thanks so much for the helpful review!
9/25/09 9:26 PM
sewtime said...
You now have a beautiful coat!!! (and you made it!)
9/25/09 5:21 PM
Karen6790 said...
I was looking at that pattern - I love Ottobre. You got a great result with it, and I'll take your word on the color, don't you hate it when the camera doesn't cooperate? Magenta or deep red, it's beautiful either way.
9/25/09 4:54 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Thank you for this review! I'm planning to make this out of some thick wool flannel. I absolutely love your color choice!
9/25/09 4:51 PM
Andreahg said...
Your coat is stunning! The simple lines allow you to focus on the beautiful color.
9/25/09 4:45 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:32 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:29 PM
artkat said...
Great coat and I love the colour. However the patter number is wrong - shouldn't it be 2009, not 2008
9/25/09 4:12 PM
Johsews said...
Beautiful! Please add some pictures of it on you, and tell us where you got the boiled wool. Everyone on the Yahoo Ottobre list is looking for some!
9/25/09 4:07 PM
Mufffet said...
LOVELY! Love the color...looks very elegant.
9/25/09 3:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Butterick 5705

photo
by: rooskie

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now