Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2009-17 (Salma Boiled Wool Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 771 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/25/09 3:29 PM
Last Updated:1/4/10 7:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
LOVELY! Love the color...looks very elegant.
9/25/09 3:35 PM
Johsews said...
Beautiful! Please add some pictures of it on you, and tell us where you got the boiled wool. Everyone on the Yahoo Ottobre list is looking for some!
9/25/09 4:07 PM
artkat said...
Great coat and I love the colour. However the patter number is wrong - shouldn't it be 2009, not 2008
9/25/09 4:12 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:29 PM
sarahinlafayette said...
Thanks, all for your comments. I have corrected the pattern number. This coat is part of the wardrobe contest, and I'll do one big photo shoot with me wearing all the pieces as soon as they're done. The boiled wool came from Stonemountain and Daughters in Berkeley, CA. They have more than a dozen colors at prices ranging from $20 to $30 a yard.
9/25/09 4:32 PM
Andreahg said...
Your coat is stunning! The simple lines allow you to focus on the beautiful color.
9/25/09 4:45 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Thank you for this review! I'm planning to make this out of some thick wool flannel. I absolutely love your color choice!
9/25/09 4:51 PM
Karen6790 said...
I was looking at that pattern - I love Ottobre. You got a great result with it, and I'll take your word on the color, don't you hate it when the camera doesn't cooperate? Magenta or deep red, it's beautiful either way.
9/25/09 4:54 PM
sewtime said...
You now have a beautiful coat!!! (and you made it!)
9/25/09 5:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice coat and thanks so much for the helpful review!
9/25/09 9:26 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Your coat is gorgeous! Well done!
9/25/09 11:06 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautiful coat, beautiful fabric, beautiful color.
9/26/09 2:19 AM
Catbird said...
I really like this coat -- love the simple lines subtly emphasized by the lapped seams. The color is outstanding!
9/26/09 9:13 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Very nice looking coat - love the color!
9/26/09 10:33 PM
sew obsessed said...
What a statement piece! Just beautiful..........I'm familiar with Stonemountain and Daughters-been there a time or two and spent $$$$$. What a fabulous store. The buttons, OMG.......
9/27/09 11:20 PM
Mbarkle said...
This looks so pretty. Great color. My next project is to make it out of a lime green wool. Thanks for sharing your impressions, they are making me feel more confident about cutting into my piece of wool!
10/26/09 10:55 AM
Athene said...
That is a beautiful coat.
1/4/10 7:41 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for your review. The coat looks wonderful! Apparently you have the same qualms I have about the skirt of the coat eventually hanging unevenly. Your conclusion that is won't be a problem is great. You're right! It can just be trimmed. I may have to go ahead and make it after all. Thanks.
1/4/10 9:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3686
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 2/8/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Nancy Zieman Santa Fe Dress and Top
photo
Review by donnagirl on 8/18/13
Read Review

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Essential Tote
The Essential Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us